Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

584 students|Basis Dc Pcs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


BASIS DC 5

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
Basis Dc is an above and beyond great school because there is no limits on what you can learn. I know kids that took Algebra 1 in 5th grade. My son took precalculus in 8th grade. Compare to where we came from it is night and day. If you want to be competitive and more than ready for college, then Basis DC is the place for you. This is no place for slackers!!!!

BASIS DC
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
Your dedication is unparalleled. Thank you, Mr Klein, Mr Dalton, Ms Pickett, Dr Seiler, Mr Rose, Ms Reynold.


BASIS DC 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
This school makes 5th graders grow up entirely too fast. My child had no time to play outside after school because he was doing homework for hours. I had to sit and keep him on task the whole time because he was so tired since he was at school all day long pushing hard as well. I think this school is ridiculous personally. This is not every parents experience but it sure was ours...

BASIS DC
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I don't like that underclass students are given worksheets to work out of instead of real books

BASIS DC
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
This school does not treat it's students fairly. The expect the students to be accountable for themselves but the staff rarely does the same. All they do is transfer and recycle teacher and staff but never fix the problem


BASIS DC 1

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
This school has a good blueprint but it's only been in Dc for 3 years. It's just getting used to the city and its rules. This school has had a different head of school every year and are always admitting fault but rarely actually fix any of their problems

BASIS DC 4

Posted September 12, 2015
- a student
I am an 8th grade student that has been at BASIS since it opened and it is a great school if you are prepared for it. The topics are hard, and it's very stressful (the environment & work), but it prepares you for college very well. The teachers I personally really like and the students are really nice school. The two things I would say are bad about BASIS are: 1) There is a lot of homework (1.5- 4 hours) (depending on the night and person) and: 2) there is pretty much no natural light in the building, if you're lucky, there's more than one window in the classroom you're going to. So all in all, I recommend BASIS.

BASIS DC
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 12, 2015
- a student
My tae kwon do teacher, Mr. Crawford, teaches us respect and self-defense and adds just the right twist of fun into the class. I've learned so much from him, so I just want to give him a big thanks!


BASIS DC 4

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
Our son has attended this school since it opened 3 years ago. He loves it and plans to stay through high school. The academics are very challenging and includes lots of assessments and tests to see where students are/arent grasping the concepts. The vast majority of teachers are caring and strong especially in science and math. Administration could be stronger - been lots of turnover - but seems to be improving.

BASIS DC 2

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
Overall, the academic PLAN is outstanding. However, execution of this academic plan is failing and has failed many DC students. Please check with the DC Office of Student Engagement. An entrance exam would have helped to place the students, as the DCPS curriculum differs significantly from that of BASIS DC. Although my student carries an overall 90% average, everything to support student success is lacking, and the stress level on the students is obvious. The high turnover rate of teachers and administrative staff is both ineffective and embarrassing. I have no doubt that many of the glowing reviews are from the droves of Virginia/Maryland parents that we encounter on a daily basis, who are happy to have there kids in a school near jobs in downtown DC. E-mails and phone calls are not returned. School meetings rarely end amicably, which leads to many calls and meetings with the DC Charter School Board. In all honesty, the most important thing at this school is the TEACHER FUND!!! It saddens me that BASIS DC is yet another example of DC failing our inner city children. SIGH...we are anxiously awaiting the results of the DCPS lottery on 3/31/2015. You have been warned.

Nearby schools

BASIS DC
410 8th Street, Washington, DC  20004
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (202) 393-5437
Last modified BASIS DC is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top