Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 2

Posted April 25, 2016
- a teacher
Hardest teaching job I've ever had. Too many major discipline problems, even violence did not lead to suspensions. Classroom did not feel safe. Teachers getting bitten and hit here. Kids stabbing one another with pencils, overturning furniture, punching and kicking others and throwing supplies. No suspensions. Just keeping chaos from breaking out was a full time job. I sure hope things get better here. It's a shame, they have awesome goals and great ideals. They hire great staff here. But teachers' hands are tied by those ideals and administration does not make the tough decision to give adequate consequences.

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 25, 2016
- a teacher
Great teachers work at this school, this is a hardworking, caring and compassionate staff. The school is selective when hiring. I think teacher effectiveness is impacted by the discipline issues.


Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a teacher
This is a key part of the Expeditionary Learning model. There is a lot of talk about high quality and working hard.

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 25, 2016
- a teacher
They are trying with responsive classroom. However, a lot of students aren't feeling safe in the classroom.

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 25, 2016
- a teacher
There is socio emotional curriculum in place, and there is an attempt to make things better.


Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son started at MV this Fall and I could not be happier. Amazing teachers and a great staff. Love it!

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a teacher
It's a pleasure to work in this wonderful school. Not only because the new building but because the people who are the components of such a great family. Every body is Working hard to create the difference in this world, we are teaching the children to be responsible and respectful with our community and our environment.

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at MV and we love it. We couldn't be happier with our school choice. The teachers and the leadership care deeply about each student and we love how their core instructional model, expeditionary learning, integrates with bilingualism and their sustainability concepts. They really want to build a strong community and it shows through the number of events they organize and constant communication with parents. Our son is happy and thriving!


Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters second year at MV and we could not be more happy with the school, teachers, administration, mission and community. My daughter loves the school, has become fluent in Spanish already. The teachers are supportive and the classrooms are friendly and accepting of all students. The mission and vision of the school is seamlessly integrated into the curriculum.

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
New, with new school challenges but doing a great job! My daughter is in her second year with MV. My only complaints are that with many new charter schools their location will change a few times, also rapid growth of the program changed the dynamic of the school. But these are issues that other charter programs experience so I don't really attribute them particularly to MV. Overall the teachers are extremely loving, knowledgeable, set limits for the children, and encourage kids to solve their own problems and create a very collaborative environment. My daughter who is currently in PK-4 has greatly improved on her social skills, she's friends with everyone in her class, she's speaking spanish very well, she's even reading some in spanish. There is also a good amount of parental involvement and activities to keep the school feeling like a community. I highly recommend the program if you're interested in a bilingual program and look forward to seeing my daughter grow and learn at MV.

Nearby schools

Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS
30 P Street Northeast, Washington, DC  20002
(202) 630-8373
Last modified Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-1
Top