Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brent Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Our kids are thriving at Brent. The reggio preK is out of this world, and our Kindergartener is reading well above grade level.

Brent Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
Our 3rd Grader loves coming to school each day at Brent, and he is clearly learning a ton, which to me are the two biggest measures of whether a school is succeeding. He adores his terrific teachers -- Michelle Farkas in 2nd Grade and Joann Hill in 3rd Grade. Everyone's experience is different, but our son has found Brent to be challenging in the classroom and fulfilling outside it. He's taken field trips to the Supreme Court and Congress to learn about government, and gone canoeing on the Anacostia to study environmental science. He's currently participating in the school play, and his music teacher, Mr. Krohn, has gotten him so motivated to learn the recorder that he practices almost every day. And he finds plenty of opportunity to blow off steam with kickball games at recess. He came to Brent from a Montessori program and had no trouble adjusting, in part because Brent classrooms are structured to encourage participation, cooperation and interaction. It's a shame there isn't a Hill middle school the equal of Brent.


Brent Elementary School 1

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Brent is great at the preschool level but collapses at the higher levels, and is especially bad for boys. All the teachers are (mostly young) women (without kids), and there is virtually no male presence in the school. There is no full time support for teachers, and no behavior policy. If your son (or daughter) has any learning differences (ADD, ADHD), or if you have a jumpy or active child, Brent will be a terrible because there is no support. The principal frequently cancels recess, and teachers withhold recess as punishment. The principal is also not transparent with the community (sneaky, really), and makes decisions behind parents back on issues the parents have been involved in, and not not create school-wide policies that benefit all students, but rather is swayed by individual influential parents who lobby him to get there kid in (or out of) a specific class or to set up a certain program. There has always been a sharp outflow of parents starting in 3rd grade, in part because there is no feeder middle school, and also because of problems in the classroom.

Brent Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
Brent is a great elementary school -- among the best in DC. The teachers care. The community is close-knit and supportive.

Brent Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic. It seems like every adult in the building knew my son already during his first year there (as a 3 year old), and almost as many knew my daughter, who tagged along at pick up and drop off time. After several years and now both kids in school there, we love this school. Teachers and parents are enormously engaged in the life of the school. Families participate in special theme nights organized by the school faculty: Museum Night, Publishing Night, Planet Viewing Night, Science Night, Math Night, etc etc. It is just amazing.


Brent Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Brent is a top-notch elementary school with a fantastic principal, great teachers, and strong parent support system. We feel lucky to be there. My oldest is beginning her fourth year at Brent this fall, and my youngest is beginning her second year there. Love it.

Brent Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
My son is in the PS 3 program at Brent. We have been incredibly impressed with the teachers, staff, and leadership of the school. They are genuinely interested in ensuring that each student gets the support they need and has the best possible educational experience. We feel lucky to be at such a great school.

Brent Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
I've had 2 children who have attended Brent, and we've had a very positive experience overall. Great staff, very involved parents, and a wonderful, nurturing environment.


Brent Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school with teachers who are incredibly caring and committed to teaching using the latestest information about how students learn. My oldest has been attending Brent for 4 years after starting at PreK 3. We feel incredibly lucky to attend this school!!!!!

Brent Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2011
- a parent
We feel lucky to be in-bounds for the best school on the Hill. We have not been disappointed with our daughter's experience at Brent. The school is beautiful, the teachers are amazing, and the parental involvement is incredible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brent Elementary School
301 North Carolina Avenue Southeast, Washington, DC  20003
(202) 698-3363
Last modified Brent Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brent Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top