Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barnard Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Staff is okay. This is my child's neighborhood school, and not our primary choice. We really dislike the lack of communication with the teacher, especially during pickup at 4pm. We cannot chat with the teacher or TA to see what things our son did in school. There is also a very weak sick policy put in place, allowing parents to bring their children to school very ill, infecting other children with thier illness. Administration say they will address this issue, but have yet to make any changes. Okay school for the most part, we're pulling our son back in the school lottery again, if he's not picked were going to have to pay for a private school education. Barnard is an okay school with very poor policies.

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Great school ,the staff is excellent and always care about the children's progress my daughter attended the school from kindergarten to 5th grade will recommend it to anybody


Barnard Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
My children attended Barnard from pre-k - 2 grade, & I could not be happier that they are gone. Though they do have some quality educators, the school's progress is stifled by the rude and overbearing Principal, Dr. Reid. The children that attend this school have limited opportunities to learn outside of the classroom (0-1 field trip per year), NO opportunity to learn instruments and limited opportunity to learn a language (only available for prek & k). Meanwhile, they dissuade parental involvement (my husband, who is an IT professional, offered to build a website for FREE 4 years ago- we were told no, but note that the school still has no website) and can't seem to streamline communication. MOST IMPORTANTLY, I do not believe that they truly put children first. My daughter, who has a learning disability, struggled while at Barnard. I was told repeatedly by their special education team that she was fine, or at worst only slightly behind. Within two weeks at a different school, her academic deficiencies were noted by her teacher & the special Ed team. I see marked improvement already, and thank my lucky stars everyday that we were able to leave this school.

Barnard Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Wow I must say after reading the reviews I must be missing something. My daughter came from a Ross Elementary and Basis Charter School and we transferred to Barnard because of my job status change. I was excited about the year ahead but have mixed feelings. I do not feel my daughter has been taught to the standards I am use to seeing for her. Expections would be her English teacher and Social Studies teacher.- As a single Parent I cannot not be all the parent night meetings but do email regularly and have had her English teacher be the only one to respond to my concerns where my daughter is concerned. There is a disconnect with the other teachers- I find certian style of teachings lacking the passion the enthusiam my daughter is use to from her previous schools and therefore a lost of interest. Now regardless of who the teacher is this momma bear is much harder on her then anyone else can be and homework gets done regardless- I went from Upper Middle Class to Low income family because of my job status. And have noticed the difference in how a family is treated in not just the school aspect and that attitude has got to change. Quality Education should be for everyone

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
My school has a very nurturing, loving academic environment which strives to meet each child at his/her academic level to achieve mastery.


Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Barnard ES is a very nurturing school where children love to come. I like the fact that my child's needs are always considered and the teachers are never too busy to discuss my concerns about my child. I would like to see more language supports for ESL parents. There is a class, but more parents need to take advantage of it. I have been here for six years now and I am so glad I found this school. Some of my friends transferred to this school when they visited with me.Parents are really like partners not bystanders. Our input is received and children are given what they need to grow academically. Hey, they even had Saturday school, extended day and other programs to support high flyers and struggling students.

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
Barnard Elementary School is a phenomenal school with many things to offer. Principal Reid and her staff work very hard to ensure that every child learns at their level and their pace in spite of all of the testing that students and teachers face! Be on the lookout! This school's data will blow your socks off in the next years to come!

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a community member
As a revious student I, Myself can say that Barnard Elementary school has prepared me for my current success as a 10th grade student. They Offer wonderful electives and have ground breaking teachers, Mrs.Sharon F. McCrea to name just one. As a student of many schools and teachers I can say that this school has a staff that actually cares about its students not only education but overall well being and happiness.


Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
We appreciate the concern for each student's TOTAL well-being. The staff is very concerned about the student's social development as well as academic achievement.

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
Barnard is great school. I am very impressed by the teachers and the Principal, as they are pushing the kids to learn in the most fun way possible. My son loves going to school and comes home singing a new song at least twice a week. Barnard is doing a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnard Elementary School
430 Decatur Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20011
(202) 576-1100
Last modified Barnard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barnard Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top