Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parent Partner Program

Public | K-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2010

I love this school because I see students becoming successful adults, and young people caring about others, learning to give back to their community and families.


Posted May 21, 2010

This school has the friendliest, happiest, most encouraging environment of any high school I've ever visited. The teacbers at AHEP work with each student and inspire them to learn. All the kids are enthusiastic about the work they do and feel safe and supported while at school. Plus, the school has an amazing beach view and is on one of the prettiest property pieces in the world. What more could you ask for?


Posted October 22, 2009

This is an amazing environment for learning. There are far more opportunities that have been available for our children that they just can't find in a public school system. The school is orderly, it really feels like a partnership between parents, children, and the school. Thank you Kim Stamper for all your efforts and I hope continued success with the center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

staff and teachers are excellent. They are didicated to the students and parents, and are easy to work with. The headmaster, Kim Stamper, is one of the finest educators I have ever met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Still working through a couple areas, but over all the best school ever!


Posted May 4, 2006

This school is wonderfull! It has helped my grandson in many areas. The biggest area I see is Now he wants to come to school! :) IN public school he was tesed and it took litterally draggin him out of the car in the mornings. He likes this school & couldn't ask for better staff! They have helped me learn how to teach him. Thanks...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

There is much parent input for education at this school. Students get individual attention, and have access to many experiences that enhance their learning. The certificated teachers that oversee the learning goals have a high interest in the success of each student, and they take the time as needed for each student. Also, with parent involvement, families gain an extended network to help in their individual needs. The school regards music, art, and other extracurricular activities as very important, and offers classes and/or other alternative means to attain these experiences. The students need to be self motivated, but the style of the school helps to excite students to acheive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 63%
Hispanic 18% 18%
Black 4% 5%
Asian 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 20%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 32N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 33%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 M Ave
Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone: (360) 293-2166

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Secret Harbor
Anacortes, WA


Secret Harbor
Anacortes, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT