Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Island View Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 430 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

We love Island View elementary school! I have a second grader in the challenge class and a 5th Grader. The staff is amazing and caring. The academics are challenging as well. It has the most diversity in Anacortes. We will be moving and we will be very sad to leave this second family of ours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

This school is amazing. Every staff person that I have met is extremely caring and helpful. Parent involvement is welcomed and appreciated. My family is very happy to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Island View Elementary is a wonderful school. Curriculum is current, level appropriate and engaging for students. They provide so many opportunities for families within the community to come together which has allowed me as a working parent to be familiar with the learning environment my child engages in everyday. I feel connected to and thus have a firm level of trust for the staff, teachers and leadership of the school. I am so grateful for the education both social and academic my child receives from Island View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

Island View Elementary is an A+ school. We moved from this school because of military orders, but we wish we were back there. The principal is very energetic and very responsive to parent concerns. He works well with all, including the PTA. He knows most of the students by name! The teachers there really care about the students, and it shows. We miss the programs, especially the 1-2 Challenge program and the science lab. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

My daughter who is a first grader, goes to Island View. When she started she was behind in reading and math. Since the beginning of the school year shes made great progress in both areas. I give a great deal of the credit to her reading and math teacher. Her teacher is very nice, every time Ive had a question, request or problem it was resolved quickly. I think I have had an encounter with only 1 staff member I didn't like. My daughter is happy with her school and teachers and thats also always a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

We love Island View because the staff are terrific. Whenever we need to talk to the principal he always makes time and we come to a resolve with whatever issues we have. They are really there to educate my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I like Island View Elementary School because it has a special program for hard of hearing kids. This school also comes to the Senior Center for programs and intergenerational activities.


Posted March 9, 2010

We moved to the district 2 years ago and are so happy with this school! The principal is amazing (just won a golden apple) the teachers are not only qualified but caring and the support staff goes out of their way to be helpful and professional. The best part is that each child is treated like an individual, not a number in the crowd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

oh my gosh I love this school! I went here K-3 then moved. I wish I could go back! The principal is very good and sweet. And they have a lot of fun events like the costume parade, assemblies, and more. The teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2007

I love this school because it has great teachers and great poeple in it so why do you go to island view today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

We have been to 6 different schools in the past year and this is the best. Cathy Pitts the secretary in the office has been such a great help. Wide varity of extracurricular activites to choose from. Beautiful veiw from school yard while they are playing. They have 3 short recesses which is great. Homework not to bad some days more than others. The kids say they like this school the best also. Which means alot. I have seen the principal but have not met him. All good at this school and that is all we have heard about this school district. And that is why we moved to this school district. I hope we can stay so they can graduate from this school district. Wonderful and beautiful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

This school is one of the best that I have ever seen. as a former student I know that all the teachers are really good at what they do. The principal is also really good with checking up on things. My favorite class was always P.E. the P.E. teacher there is really good at showing us how to do the sports that we need to learn because later when the kids are older they will need to learn them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2004

Island View is by far the number 1 Elementary School in Anacortes and by my experience in the nation. I believe it is easy to provide disparaging remarks anonymously it takes courage to stand behind ones remarks. The Principle is involved and discipline is consistent and appropriate for the K-6 level. The teachers are remarkably talented and dedicated to their students. The Physical Education teacher cares for his students and his profession often at the expense of his own personal life. It is simple to sit on the sidelines and complain. I recommend all parents to get involved and volunteer their time and or what ever they can give Educating our children should be a partnership with our schools it is not a day care . LT Leow, United States Navy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

This is a fantastic school. Island View Elementary is a great kid oriented school that tests high in all areas nationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

This on the overall is a very good school, but it lacks discipline. There are several harassment issues that the current principal needs to work through. However, even with these problems, Island View Elementary School is a very nice place, with updated lessons, and a united community front. I still highly reccomend it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female70%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income63%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income91%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female61%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income49%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income78%
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female82%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income56%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female62%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income59%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income82%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income77%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female73%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income53%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income61%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 60%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 244%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bernard Selting

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 J Ave
Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone: (360) 293-3149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Secret Harbor
Anacortes, WA


Secret Harbor
Anacortes, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT