Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Anderson Island Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2010

We are very happy with the small school. Our daughter has lots of friends and feels everyone likes her. This is such a better experience than she had at her old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

As a parent of a Kindergartner at this school I give it high marks. My child has learned to read by mid year, alphabetize and add. The current K-2 teacher is the best the school has had in the past 15 years. Staff is helpful & dedicated & administrator is doing a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

We are pleased with the positive programs being implemented this year. The principal and staff care about my child's attitude and feelings, not just grades. I can really see a positive change in the school and children this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

We saw dramatic improvements enough to re-enroll after an ugly K-1. With only two teachers for 6 years (K-2 & 3-5) - parent/staff differences are exacerbated. District oversight and teacher accountability has been spotty. At the district level, former Asst. Sup. Paul Ganalon was the only person we trusted and found effective. Community and parent involvement are great. Overall, there is a genuine desire to put kids first and work together. Classrooms are multiage, so students work independently and classroom aides and volunteers are invaluable. For 3-5, the math program is probably weakest. With an atmosphere where kids shared openly what they appreciate about each other; disrespect and bullying are never tolerated. I could comment on the past K-2 class, but choose not to Expect to get involved and prepare to keep the district accountable for oversight and funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

My child attends AIE and has been suffering terribly due to the abusive and controlling nature of the teachers/staff. There is a serious lack of communication overall and parents are definitely not welcome. Be warned - over half of the comments on this forum have been made by the staff of AIE. Small class size means nothing if your child is spending their time with their head down on the desk crying. I'm pulling my child asap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2006

Our boys were in Mrs. Wilson's class for three years. I had the opportunity to be a Para-educator at Anderson Island Elementary during those five years. I can tell you it was the best experience of my life working with Mrs. Wilson. With Mrs.Wilson and the other staff members we created the most incredible creative learning environment. Our boys are now in 6th and 8th grade and know what accountability means. This is one of the great gifts she has given to me and to my children. Terri Bruggeman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

Both of my boys attended Anderson Island Elementary. Since their earlier-grades teacher is now retired, I limit my comments to their 3rd-5th grade teacher. Mrs. Wilson is dedicated to her students, incredibly creative in her teaching methods, and creates a loving, safe, and fun atmosphere. Both of my boys loved school, missed it during breaks, and still think of Mrs. Wilson as a hero. They both now attend a large public school and began there very well prepared in all academic areas and have been very successful because of it, in great part due to Mrs. Wilson's caring guidance and insistence on accountability. I only wish that I had had her for a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

When we were deciding on whether or not to move out to Anderson Island the elementary school played a big role. Small class size, consistent classmates transportation were all qualities were loved. My child is only in Kindergarten, and so I don't have much to review against except this: my daughter is happy. She comes home every day with a new appreciation for learning and is always excited to go back for more. I attribute much of this to the energy and innovative of her teacher and the team of para-educators at the school. Their patience and perseverance with the children really seems to show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

My child had previously attended another district before moving here. We were told prior to our move the the school was a great environment because of it's small class size and close nit community. Since the move my child's performance however has only declined. There has been little to no effort on the schools behalf to work with me to improve the situation. The new lower grades teacher is very nice and kind to the children but is ill equipped to teach a multi-grade classroom with no full time para educator to help. The higher grades teacher approaches children and parents alike with a condescending demeanor. I have encountered an immense lack of communication between the staff and the families on topics regarding performance expectations, and curriculum, as well as school and district policies. I would strongly advise potential parents of Anderson Island Elementary students to consider home schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

AIE had many good qualities, but rewards (including candy and parties) and very public reprimands were used often. AIE didn t provide enough challenges for my gifted child. Volunteering, I perceived several students struggling with math without receiving adequate support. Principal doesn t offer much leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Anderson Island is a school unlike any I've seen. Small, multi-age classrooms combined with learner-oriented teaching is the norm here. Both the staff and the highly-involved community show strong support for the needs of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2006

As a teacher with 33 years experience working with preschoolers up to 8th grade including working in inner city school as well as gifted education, it is a joy to work here. I would hold our program up to any other school in the nation. Our children consistently pass all of the state standards testing, averaging 2 years above grade level in math and reading. We work hard and play hard with a wonderful atmosphere of trust, creativity and respect for each other.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2006

Individualized student learning is the key to academic growth. All students have the opportunity to be successful at their own level everyday! AIE provides individualized learning in Math and Reading for all grades. 3-5 graders use Accelerated Math and Reading Counts with quarterly assessments using Star Math and Star Reading. I recommend all parents & community members to come and volunteer at our school. Witness our school in action! SEE how it all works. If parents have concerns our highly qualified staff will gladly help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

My child attended this school for 2 years. I must say she did not enjoy it. I feel that the children that attend this school are not able to excel in a way that they should. The 3-5 teacher is very harsh and does not listen to schildren. I would not recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 63%
Hispanic 15% 18%
Asian 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 161%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 20%N/A8%
Special education 216%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 10N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 1N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy McClure

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13005 Camus Rd
Anderson Island, WA 98303
Phone: (253) 884-4901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT