Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
Anderson Island, WA
Students enrolled: 5
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anderson Island Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
We are very happy with the small school. Our daughter has lots of friends and feels everyone likes her. This is such a better experience than she had at her old school.

Anderson Island Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of a Kindergartner at this school I give it high marks. My child has learned to read by mid year, alphabetize and add. The current K-2 teacher is the best the school has had in the past 15 years. Staff is helpful & dedicated & administrator is doing a good job.


Anderson Island Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
We are pleased with the positive programs being implemented this year. The principal and staff care about my child's attitude and feelings, not just grades. I can really see a positive change in the school and children this year.

Anderson Island Elementary School 4

Posted March 20, 2007
- a parent
We saw dramatic improvements enough to re-enroll after an ugly K-1. With only two teachers for 6 years (K-2 & 3-5) - parent/staff differences are exacerbated. District oversight and teacher accountability has been spotty. At the district level, former Asst. Sup. Paul Ganalon was the only person we trusted and found effective. Community and parent involvement are great. Overall, there is a genuine desire to put kids first and work together. Classrooms are multiage, so students work independently and classroom aides and volunteers are invaluable. For 3-5, the math program is probably weakest. With an atmosphere where kids shared openly what they appreciate about each other; disrespect and bullying are never tolerated. I could comment on the past K-2 class, but choose not to Expect to get involved and prepare to keep the district accountable for oversight and funding.

Anderson Island Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2007
- a parent
My child attends AIE and has been suffering terribly due to the abusive and controlling nature of the teachers/staff. There is a serious lack of communication overall and parents are definitely not welcome. Be warned - over half of the comments on this forum have been made by the staff of AIE. Small class size means nothing if your child is spending their time with their head down on the desk crying. I'm pulling my child asap.


Anderson Island Elementary School 1

Posted January 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Anderson Island Elementary School 2

Posted January 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Anderson Island Elementary School 4

Posted December 31, 2006
- a parent
Our boys were in Mrs. Wilson's class for three years. I had the opportunity to be a Para-educator at Anderson Island Elementary during those five years. I can tell you it was the best experience of my life working with Mrs. Wilson. With Mrs.Wilson and the other staff members we created the most incredible creative learning environment. Our boys are now in 6th and 8th grade and know what accountability means. This is one of the great gifts she has given to me and to my children. Terri Bruggeman


Anderson Island Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2006
- a parent
Both of my boys attended Anderson Island Elementary. Since their earlier-grades teacher is now retired, I limit my comments to their 3rd-5th grade teacher. Mrs. Wilson is dedicated to her students, incredibly creative in her teaching methods, and creates a loving, safe, and fun atmosphere. Both of my boys loved school, missed it during breaks, and still think of Mrs. Wilson as a hero. They both now attend a large public school and began there very well prepared in all academic areas and have been very successful because of it, in great part due to Mrs. Wilson's caring guidance and insistence on accountability. I only wish that I had had her for a teacher.

Anderson Island Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anderson Island Elementary School
13005 Camus Rd, Anderson Island, WA  98303
(253) 884-4901
Last modified Anderson Island Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anderson Island Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top