Advertisement
Advertisement

Highland Christian Schools

Private | K-12 | 128 students

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $212,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2013

Truly, other then the students that go here, there is very little endearing about this school. VERY self serving leadership that is running the school into the ground........


Posted June 2, 2012

I do think this is a great school. Students that are very friendly and teachers are very nice and will work with you if you need extra help. The leadership and the administration however is not a well organized or working part of the school. They don't follow the rules in the rule book and are sometimes biased against some students. They also have an unqualified lead teacher with only a high school education doing teacher evaluations and teachers with P.H.D.'s and teacher certificates who isn't even qualified to teach herself. The board knows next to nothing about what goes on inside the school on a daily basis and the leadership is making decisions without even telling the board. If this school wants to have students that are happy to go to this school then the administration needs to start acting like one.


Posted December 23, 2011

Highland is AWESOME! Its my first year here at HCS and I couldn't ask for anything better! The teachers are amazing and completely dedicated to making sure we have the right tools to suceed. We all get individual attention and help when needed. They'll never push us to learn something else if we don't understand. The teachers really care! For the first time I'm excited to wake up for school each morning and learn!


Posted December 8, 2011

This School and others of this kind are greatly needed! We need to protect our heritage.


Posted September 1, 2011

HCS is a great school, it has changed my son life. It has turned him into a leader, instead of a follower. As a parent, I have seen this school change a lot through the years. The focus has dramtically changed towards education through Christian behavior and principles. The fruits of my child has been the proof of a good solid education through Christian priniciples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2011

I am a parent of a Student at Highland and i could not be more pleased with the quality of Teachers and Staff taht they have there. It is very nice knowing that if my student is strugggling that the teachers will take the time to work with her during school, after school or before school. What an amazing group there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

WOW! Before I decided to post this review, there were three postings, all within two days of each other this year...very strange as well as suspicious. I had my child at Highland Christian for five years, the first 2 and a half were fine, the older teachers were marvelous! Then suddenly, that all changed, those teachers were forced to leave yet I still kept my child at Highland! Dumb mistake on my part! I should have pulled my child out sooner than I did. The academics went downhill especially in the elementary level. When I pulled my child out of Highland and was in public school the following school year, my child was BEHIND all the other students in their grade. Spending thousands of dollars for private education at Highland Christian was a waste of $. They also kept asking us parents for more and more money on top of what we paid, it just wasn't enough for them, they kept wanting more!! You can only drain one's bank account for so long. I had enough of it!! My child is excelling in public school, they provide extra help/tutoring after school, if needed. I am very pleased with the caring attitude of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

While visiting the school to set up for a flag show I met two of the nicest young students. They were both eager and respectful while helping us to bring in the flags and stands. They were both so polite and expressed their happiness at being a student at the school. I also had the privelage of meeting with a staff member who was so kind and helpful. It was really a pleasure to visit Highland Christian school and I would recommend it to anyone considering a new school. Madelaine Fleet


Posted May 26, 2011

THIS IS THE BEST SCHOOL TO HAVE MORE 1 ON 1 LEARNING, A CHRISTIAN ENVIRONMENT, A PLACE FOR THE STUDENTS TO GET TO KNOW EACHOTHER AND BE THEMSELVES BECAUSE COMING OUT OF PUBLIC SCHOOL( LIKE ME) INTO THIS REALM HAS BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND I LEARNED THAT IF I PRAY AND ASK GOD TO HELP AND IF I PUT MY MIND TO IT I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS ME. THE TEACHERS ARE VERY SPIRITUAL HERE, I LOVE THEM!! ((= WE HAV E AN AWESOME PRINCIPAL(ADMINISTRATOR) @TANA LITWIN, AND GREAT PASTOR AT OUR SCHOOL @PASTOR STEVE ALONG WITH ALL THE GREAT TEACHERS HERE. (TOO LONG TO NAME OFF) WE ALSO HAVE A GREAT DRAMA(ACTING) PROGRAM, 3 MUSIC PROGRAMS 1. CHAPEL 2. CHOIR CLASS WITH MR. HUNT 3. GUITAR CLASS WITH MR. CHAMBERLAIN, LIFESKILLS CLASS WITH MRS. LITWIN, GREEK CLASS WITH PASTOR STEVE, SPANISH CLASS WITH MRS. ORTIZ, MATH WITH MRS. SCHWEIZER, SCIENCE(OF ALL KINDS) WITH MR. CHAMBERLAIN AND ALSO MRS. SCHULTZ, ETC..... CASE IN POINT THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL AND ANYBODY WHO GETS A CHANCE SHOULD COME.!!! GOD BLESS YOU AND HAVE A NICE DAY/EVENING.


Posted September 23, 2010

I have had a student at HCS for 7 years and am pleased with the education received. More importantly I have been impressed with the spirit of love and compassion demonstrated by teachers, students and other parents. The environment at the school is one of acceptance and respect for one another. Nothing like a public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

We have been involved with HCS for over 5 years. This school was the best educational and spiritual decision we could have made for our son. The worship during chapel and spiritual influence were very much part of campus life. The teachers were excellent and they cared about the kids. Athletics and the other activities help create a well rounded experience. HCS help to provide a solid spiritual and educational foundation for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I think this is an amazing school. I have been going to it for 2 years and it has been the best school I have ever gone to. And I completely disagree with the people who say it is a secular school. We have Bible class every day, and if you get in trouble with the principal, we pray about it. This is the best school to send you child to if you are a Christian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

This school is amazing, the teachers come along side the students and they really want to help you learn at your level. The teachers are great Christain examples and we all respect them very much. They are fun too! I love Highland Christain Schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

I agree with 1st post challenging the students is not what you are going to get at HCS.It's definately not a Christain environment & is very secular which is very sad. Which is proven by the majority of the fruit of the lives of 90% of the students . If you are looking for a 'Christain School' I would highly reccomend not to put your kids at HCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

This school claims to be college prep, but I have seen no effort from the school to challenge its students. The staff also makes what is supposed to be a 'Christian environment' into a somewhat of a secular feel. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2008

Students are Highland care about each other. There is an after-school math/tutoring club daily which is offered free for students are any grade level. Experienced credentialed teachers are passionate about their relationship with Christ. The Advantage Program offers small group instruction for grades 6-8.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 50% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 25% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 15% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 10% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Western Washington University
University of Washington
Washington State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (360) 403-4821

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Highland is celebrating 21st year anniversary with a 50% tuition scholarship for new students for the school year 2012-2013.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Western Washington University
University of Washington
Washington State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 50%
4 year college - 25%
Vocational - 15%
Workforce - 10%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 S. French Ave. NE
Arlington, WA 98223
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 403-8351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stillwater School
Arlington, WA



Stillaguamish School
Arlington, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT