Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Arlington, WA
Students enrolled: 598

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakewood Middle School 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school. Teachers, parents and staff are dysfunctional. No idea what is going on in their school. Classrooms are out of control with little or no direction. Parents who coach sports are elitists. Kids not played fairly. School sports better but again teachers who coach are unfriendly. Our child's new school is much better - academically and with sports. We are so happy we have a choice. We are not the first family to leave. One parent told us she went to Lakewood and would not send her children there for the reasons we've stated.

Lakewood Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a community member
One of the best schools in Washington it's not a big school and the teachers are challenging. A perfect learning environment, and don't be fooled by the negative comments by some parents they are just a little overprotective of their kids. The staff is amazing and there are many great student leaders.


Lakewood Middle School 1

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
Lakewood Middle School is terrible! The majority of the teachers don't care about their students. As an example, my son came home upset because his math teacher humiliated him and others in his class because of their grades in that class. She was sent an email in which she never replied to. She is not the only teacher who is worthless, though.

Lakewood Middle School 5

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter loves LMS, she is actually being challenged now by her teachers, which is great!! Her History teacher, Mrs. Thompson may be very tough but my daughter loves the fact that she is challenging ALL the students. This will pay off in the future!! Her Math has greatly improved! The caring staff are there to provide help after school too! They do not want any child to fail, they simply want them all to succeed!! It's awesome! My daughter looks forward to going to school rather than moan and complain like she did at her last school, which was a private school.

Lakewood Middle School 1

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
This critical time in the students education is wasted here. After years at LES and ECE, both full of plays, learning in pods, adjusting material for a students learning - BAM over to LMS where the baton is not passed it is simply dropped. Some of the teachers are AMAZING, but if you are not fortunate enough to end up with them your child will have several wasted YEARS during their school career. Hopefully the students can recover when they advance to LHS.


Lakewood Middle School 2

Posted February 16, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lakewood Middle School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lakewood Middle School 5

Posted November 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lakewood Middle School 4

Posted January 04, 2007
- a parent
Many parents I've spoken to would like to see a better organized music department. At the 2006 Winter Concert, the students attire was messy, unprofessional, and too casual for concert performances. At the beginning of the year the instructor informed me of the dress code for concerts. My daughter was dressed in black dress shoes, black trouser socks, black slacks, black belt, and white long sleeve dress shirt tucked in. But I could only count about 20 other students who were dressed the same. Most were in untucked Tees and one even in black denim shorts. We were very disappointed in the appearance of the students. Now is the time to enforce proper dress code for these occasions.

Lakewood Middle School 5

Posted March 25, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakewood Middle School
16800 16th Dr N.E., Arlington, WA  98223
(360) 652-4510
Last modified Lakewood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakewood Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top