Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Auburn, WA
Students enrolled: 705
Before care: No
After care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
My child is new to this school and we came from out of state. Is it me or is it this neighborhood where a lot of the mothers, mainly, are pretty snooty?! Some are just complete snobs! Parents in a classroom gathered in the back of the room and nobody smiles or says "good morning" to one another?? I find it awkward to me as it seems completely rude to not acknowledge others in the room...maybe in the lobby of a doctor's clinic it is but not where our kids go to school and play with each other. I smiled at a few but didn't get a smile in return, they just looked away. Wouldn't you find that rude? Come here and you'll see how mothers get all dressed up just to pick up their kids from school...all accessories in-check. Not something you wear to work, but obviously to make a certain impression of themselves. They certainly made an impression on me. It's just funny how hard some people try. :-)

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
My family and I are in love with this school. Staff is amazing and work really hard to help kids with their struggles. Kids get along very well.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Lakeland Hills Elementary School is a wonderful school. My two children have thrived at this school. They love going to school. The school has an excellent reading program, leverage technology in both math and reading. They do a great job of keeping students and parents connected. The staff truly cares about the success of each ands every student. The PTA is strong and is very active in many aspects of the school, from helping teachers with copies, to dad's volunteering to be a positive male influence. It truly is a GREAT SCHOOL!!

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 1

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
This schools staff and principal has been an absolute failure the principal has no interest in the students and the consoler is has a very low interest in the students some of the staff are decent but overall i recommend to take your child to ilako

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Lakeland is a wonderful school with an amazing Principle that is totally involved with his staff and all of the kids. He will stand out and direct traffic after class and greet the kids in the morning which makes them feel special. You can approach him with any issue and he will help. The librarian is an absolute treasure, you will not find another like her. She not only helps the students check out books but holds a garden club with greenhouse, cooking sessions, Dr. Seuss night, has a month of live chicks, ducks and geese teaching the children about life cycle and caring, art lessons, singing & movement. social studies, live tadpoles and frogs, arts and crafts, story time and of course plenty of wonderful book choices. My son loved this school and so did we. Mrs. Karrow is the best Kindergarten teacher hands down. Harkness is amazing for 2nd. 3rd gets a little ? with some cliquey teachers that favor kids whose parents they are friends with. There are no boundaries of professionalism with some of the teachers, they get to cliquey and gossip, BUT the majority are amazing. The PTA really keeps the school funded for great programs and parents are totally involved.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
Our child has been attending LHE for 3 years. The Principal is great with the kids, he always gives them a smile, knows them by name, greets them in the morning and is there to help when needed. He also has monthly lunches with Wildcat Wow winners which is a reward program for responsible students and the kids love it. He is very active in making sure our students meet the states standards in reading and math and has implemented helpful programs,he gets an A+. TEACHERS; most are great with a few that should retire as they can't seem to grasp the concept of positive reinforcement or redirecting . There is the problem of some teachers favoring students whose parents teach at the school and that needs to stop. They have to many substitute teachers coming in and they are generally awful so beware. The PTA needs a revamp and a strong leader that focuses on what s best for the kids not brown nosing teachers. Teachers get paid for what they do and plenty of time off so let s stop with the lunches and sunshine gifts and use those funds to help a needy child. Stay involved, speak up for your child and if your child has special needs see the counselor, she will help.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
Lakeland Hills first does no harm. Let me start with that testimonial. We've enjoyed our three years at the school. I'm not blown away by the school's performance. I felt like my child could've been challenged more. Our second grade teacher Mrs. Swanson was an example of their best and brightest. Our current teacher is solid much like the overall experience at the school. It is a school that will protect and nurture your child. Our child enjoyed her time there. The school has done a good job building her fundamentals. I'd like to see more diversity amongst the teaching staff.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 3

Posted December 20, 2011
- a parent
LHE, is mediocre at best. The Principals main concern is district rankings. He seems too busy to talk and never helps come up with solid solutions for children in need. Some of the teachers are wonderful and really care about the children yet there are others that should never work with young children as they are rude, indifferent and yell. If your child has special needs like ASPERGERS, then good luck to you, you will be told that they will help you however they are simply blowing smoke up your skirt as none of the teachers seem to have any experience in working with children that have disabilities and actually punish them in class instead of redirecting their behavior and giving positive reinforcement. There are too many substitute teachers, and the subs are of course clueless and terribly rude to the kids, one even grabbed my child's arm for not standing still in line. Lakeland Is NOT upper middle class it is middle class at best with low brow mentality thrown in. The PTA is pushy and guilt's the kids into buying junk for Christmas by sending flyer upon flyer. The parents are very cliquey so don't bother trying to fit in. We look forward to moving and changing districts.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
Do keep in mind when reading the negative reviews, this school mostly draws from an upper middle class area i.e. demanding. We moved here and are delighted with the Principal, all three of our kids' teachers, the homework load and activities and so much more. Our children were behind when we moved here and are now at grade level in all subjects or above, due to fantastic, caring teachers and volunteers. The Principal is out at the drop-off loop most mornings, greeting children and parents as the day starts. He's at EVERY school event, including the evening ones, responds to every email and knows every kid by name. Our three children are very different from each other in every way and yet each loves school, has learned to enjoy the process of learning (for the most part!), and has been enriched by the field trips, projects and experiences their teachers have made possible. Our last school district told us to send our kids to Sylvan to 'catch-them-up'. Lakeland 'caught-them-up' for us and showed us how to be a part of that process as well. This school is the largest elem. school in Auburn, btw. Your child's class will be large.

Lakeland Hills Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
We were so disappointed with the principal and some of the teachers that we moved to be in a better school district. We had three kids in Lakeland. Some of the teachers and staff were absolutely wonderful. However, others were dreadful and the principal was not interested in working on solutions at all. Our overall impression was that this was a school without coherent leadership. The student experience was happenstance depending upon what teacher they received.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeland Hills Elementary School
1020 Evergreen Way SE, Auburn, WA  98092
(253) 876-7711
Last modified Lakeland Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeland Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top