Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sequoyah Middle School 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Disorganized administration. Overt problems with dissapline. Teachers are doing their best, but there is no support for them to help the kids achieve success.

Sequoyah Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Respect begins at the top. Even the district isn't respecting its parents by continuing to let failing scores remain business as usual .


Sequoyah Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Not a lot of students demonstrating the virtues of compassion, caring or empathy at this school.

Sequoyah Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
As it is right now, I am not sure if this school is doing a good job developing the positive characteristics we all associate with successful, hardworking, people.

Sequoyah Middle School 4

Posted November 10, 2014
- a community member
This is my first year at Sequoyah, although my older brother attended this school all 3 years. We are put into pods and we will be with the same 4 teachers for all 3 years, so get to know them. The teachers are very nice and welcoming and have a sense of humor. The students are nice as well. (maybe some might seem rude but most are kind and respectful) I think the first month I had to get used to everything and everybody. If you are interested in coming to our school, don't be afraid, I was at first but it'll be alright.


Sequoyah Middle School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a teacher
Great school, great kids it's been a miracle working with them! I had a wonderful time working with them! Sequoyah has wonderful activities to join (art, cross country, leadership, etc)!

Sequoyah Middle School 2

Posted August 14, 2014
- a community member
the only good thing about this school is their snack shack and their lunches. much better than rainier view's, but the teachers are pretty ignorant. there is so much drama that i know some kids who left that school because of the drama that was brought upon them. i was one of them. i was the victim of a fight and the principal put me into the solution room when all i did was try to get the person away from me. what kind of principal is that? i even had a teacher rant about me to her whole class when she found out i was in the solution room. neither of the teachers or students make this school a healthy environment for your child. i do not suggest this school

Sequoyah Middle School 2

Posted August 14, 2014
- a community member
the only good thing about this school is their snack shack and their lunches. much better than rainier view's, but the teachers are pretty ignorant. there is so much drama that i know some kids who left that school because of the drama that was brought upon them. i was one of them. i was the victim of a fight and the principal put me into the solution room when all i did was try to get the person away from me. what kind of principal is that? i even had a teacher rant about me to her whole class when she found out i was in the solution room. neither of the teachers or students make this school a healthy environment for your child. i do not suggest this


Sequoyah Middle School 2

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
This is my first year at Sequoyah. I tried going into it with a positive attitude, but from the beginning it was crazy. Just a week into classes, the school decides to add a 7th period, taking time from core classes for clases such as "Pinterest" and "Reading Club". When I asked the principal about why this was started, she said because some kids can't do after school activities. So how is "Pinterest" going to help them while taking time from core classes? Teachers didn't know much about these classes, including when they were switching sessions. At the end of 1st semester, they had a week where there was NO 7th period and kids just went back to one of their core classes each day. Great planning!! The principal can't seem to communicate to staff nor to parents. Principal lied at the start of school saying that SMS was an IB school; no they are GETTING their IB and will not have it until well after my daughter is out of there. There is no follow through. I am planning on choicing to another school next year. 4 principals <9 years. Good teachers are trying to abandon this ship.

Sequoyah Middle School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a community member
I absolutely love this school. The parents down below are very ignorant of their child. Come on parents! Go teach your child to stand up for themselves. Of course all the teachers are different in this school, some care, some dont, some want you to just have fun, the teachers who dont really care is because your student isnt asking for help. Your daughter/son has to go up to that teacher and ask for help, ask questions! I recommend this school to anyone who lives in the area. Trust me all the so called "bullies" have a heart, everyone is very welcoming. To anyone wondering I currently go to this school, I have straight A's, and I am willing to help others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sequoyah Middle School
3425 South 360th St, Auburn, WA  98001
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (253) 945-3675
Last modified Sequoyah Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top