Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Jefferson High School 2

Posted September 13, 2012
- a student
I had high hopes for this school but I've attended it for two years and I am somewhat dissapointed in my experience here. The problem isn't really a school problem, but more of a district problem and I believe it is starting to become a state problem. The FW district installed a new grading system that is very confusing and is difficult to understand exactly where you are standing. At least you used to be able to have a good idea of how well you were doing when they had percentages (70% = average, 80% = good and so on) but for some reason the district thought it would be a good idea to use standards instead of percentages that you either pass or fail. It wasn't because a great number of students failed last year and I imagine a good chunk will possibly fail this year as well. Now, this is the last year they are required to do this grading system so perhaps it will get better next year but I wouldn't bet on it. Try avoiding going to this district, and if you can help it try avoiding going to the neighboring districts (kent, auburn, sumner) as well. As for this school, education is good, some teachers are good. If you're competitive about sports, try another school.

Thomas Jefferson High School 3

Posted July 13, 2012
- a student
I know that TJ has been a great academic school in the past but it has gone down hill. There are average, terrible, and great teachers. All the teachers are treated the same: horribly and disrespected. This past year none of the teachers knew what was going on because of the new grading system. I just want to say, Don't do something you don't know how to do. All the students were taught differently and confused. Different curriculum throughout the three different teachers for the same exact class. Apart from the few amazing teachers I've had, most tell you hat you're doing that day, give it to you, then, expect you to do it on your own while they're on the computer or talking to other staff. Curriculum: I give it a 3.4, teachers, on average: 3, involvement in students: 2.9, and all around: 3.5.


Thomas Jefferson High School 2

Posted November 09, 2011
- a student
I had high hopes for this school, but now that I attend here as a freshmen I'm pretty dissapointed. The school is overcrowded and the people here are not always friendly, but that's only part of the problem. The big problem is that they put everybody into the MYP program for 9th and 10th graders, and that's not a good thing. Not every student wants to be challenged, and not every student deserves to be in a class where they distract other people who do want to learn. And worst of all, they put everybody into the IB program if they pass the HSPE. This is stupid because not every student who gets pushed into the IB program wants to be there, and not every student in IB deserves to have an IB diploma simply because they were pushed into it. From what I hear, this is also becoming a problem at Decatur for the AP program and at Federal Way High for the Cambridge program. If you can help it, avoid going to any school in this district whatsoever. This district has no idea what they are doing and are creating problems that shouldn't have to be dealt with in the first place.

Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted June 25, 2011
- a community member
My granddaughter attends this school, I was educated in an Eastern prep school so maybe the comparison is unfair but I would rate this school no higher than a "D." The problem is as simple as this, the teachers are third rate probably due to their union and the tax payers being too cheap. You get what you pay, the fault is ours.

Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted July 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thomas Jefferson High School 2

Posted June 03, 2009
- a student
Education is good. Not really the best school for doing a sport. There hasn't been a lot of fights. Really crowded now. Has options that will help you get through high school easier like raiderlinks. I would recommend it for education but not for doing extracurricular activites like sports.

Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted April 19, 2009
- a student
I am currently enrolled at TJ as a Sophomore class of 2011. To me TJ has been a good school for academic and the social scene. They offers many electives that will help the student succed to a four year college or university, like AVID for example a program to help the student prepares for college. So yep I difinitely recommend this school

Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted March 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted May 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted February 01, 2008
- a student
Tj has excellent programs that give not only students who are seeking to challenging courses, but even those who are not. They give numerous types of programs (IB, Raiderlinks, Running Start, regular) in order to suit the student body's needs. The IB program have excellent teachers (Mr. Webber!!) Thomas Jefferson excels at non-contact sports (i.e. Math Team, Speech and Debate-which by the way, won state twice a row :D- Deca). However, there's been a steady increase of numbers of students (mainly because of the IB program) that it assembly seatings and lunch times have been a slight problem. But it should be noted that as of now, the current administration is piloting a new lunch schedule that, although confusing, will hopefully benefit the entire school. Drug use, alcohol, and violence are at a minimum at this school. Practical pranks of the fire alarms are decreasing. Good neigborhood.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson High School
4248 South 288th St, Auburn, WA  98001
(253) 945-5600
Last modified Thomas Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top