Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Auburn Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1402 students

Home of the Trojans

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2013

We have one student graduated from Auburn High and one currently a Junior. We have been pleased with the variety of programs, quality of education, and diversity. Auburn High is like the real world all social economic situations and race backgrounds. The facility itself is in need of updating, but this does not impact education. The school will be replaced over the next three years as the voters have approved the funding. The principal at the school cares and is active. So is the Superintendent for the district. The have a solid sports program that emphasizes academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2014

Go Trojans!!!!! first off let me say this is an amazing school and all the teachers and staff are great educators. i think in auburn you cant find a better senior high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

The Special Education Program at AHS and in the Auburn School District is abysmal with efforts to improve it met with at the least indifference - sometimes hostility and retribution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

This school is ok. But things could be better. Staff is fine students are not. Bad influences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2008

My three kids loved their teachers and the diverse student body gets along well. No public school can be perfect, thanks to today's enabling society, but I'm happy my kids graduated at AHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

ok i go to auburn high to this day and it is one of the best schools ever! its so layed back and really expects you to do good and you will if you give a little try
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

Both of my kids graduated recently from AHS. Admittedly, they were both in the AP college track, but I have to say that both of them had an excellent education at this school. Several people mentioned the drug problem at the school, but it turns out that there are drugs at every school around, including the private church sponsored schools. My kids had dedicated teachers, one of which, Mrs. Rosivere (Sorry about the spelling) gave my daughter one of the best bases for English writing that I have ever encountered. Because of the education they received at AHS, both of them were admitted to private universities with considerable scholarships for academics and music. My daughter didn't want to graduate because there were still so many opportunities to explore. (My son didn't feel the same way, he wanted out into the big wide world ASAP!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

Auburn high needs to work on helping students out. Especially new freshman; you cant just give a kid a schedule and expect them to know where everything is, that isnt fair to them. It stresses them out!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2006

I feel that the students are the ones in control of this school. Teachers spend 80% of their class time monitoring behavior rather than actually teaching. Students have no respect for the staff and each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

This school is absolutly great. I love it. Everyone is really dedicated to everything and anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

the teachers here are well trained and are amazing when it comes to helping students. as for sports and extra after school activities there are many to choose from! the music department just won there fourth grammy. The parent involvment is really good when it comes to fundraisers and sports! the school is functioned well, they do not put up with fighting or bullying! they run a tight school, but it's also really fun. the safety is awsome, we practice fire drills twicw to three times a month. i love going to auburn high!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2005

Academic programs are in wide variety.The Advance placement and honors classes are available in large numbers.The band at this school has placed high year after year in state competititons.The art teacher is afavorite among students.The football team has gone to playoffs since the new coach has been there.There are dance,step,drama,color guard,and cheer teams for those wishing to partcipate.Not to mention the extended number of clubs that are in this school.Parent involvement could improvement in any type of situation.But there is constantly a number of parent volunteers around the building doint the best they can to keep students safe.I must admit there have been a few cracks in this system.But work is being done to try to improve these downfalls
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2005

Very old building needing many updates. Teaching faculty mostly caring.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

This school has a wide variety of programs available for all levels of students. There are a vast amount of vocational options at AHS--including an in-school restaurant! There are many opportunities for parents to be involved--sports boosters, homework help, extra-curricular supervision, etc. This is a good school with many ways to get involved.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2005

This is a good school. The teachers and administators are very good at keeping the overcrowdedness peaceful. With the new high school opening this coming fall the number of students will fall. It also has a wonderful amount of sports teams and academic clubs as well as nonacademic ones. I myself am on 2 sports teams in debate and part of the schools GSA and Diversity Club. AHS is big on supporting diversity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2005

I went to Auburn High School for 3 years and I have never been so reduculed and hated in my life! I know thats it's a natural part of life to be picked on but, there is a limit to the hazing. Auburn High School tops the limit and I feel that this school is not safe. There are several chanced to be accepted. But you have to have lots of money and nice clothes. The teachers don't care, so why did they become teachers if they don't care about the students they 'love' so dear? But, on the brighter side of things I love the extracurricular activities. I only hope that this schol can get better in time.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2004

I have only been going to this school for a few months now and there has been so many fights so far. I am scared that I am not in a safe enviroment. The school is over crowded but the wrestling team is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

This school has a pretty good band - if you're only counting the way it looks to a spectator. The kids overall are very rude and the parents and adults in leadership positions don't help this problem at all. The kids are expected to excel - and not just encouraged, but forced, as another person pointed out in their review. There is an average amount of parent involvement in the school, but those parents who are involved generally bring the students down and don't make a very positive environment, pushing students to do well. I would not suggest going here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2004

My son is a freshmen at Auburn High, he is an honor role student and very athletic. I am a very fortunate parent. Yes, the highschool is over crowded and there is also a new highschool in progress located in Auburn. maybe if parents were more involved with there childs school work and after school activities some of these kids would not be so involved in drugs and crime. I believe that most of the teachers are doing the best they can with what they have, so parents take the time, be more involved in your childs life, talk with the teachers. Auburn High has a high success rate on gratuates and continue on to college. I also have an adult child who has not been as successful and I do not blame it on the school both my kids were in a private school, also a good experience. Are parents looking for perfection? Think about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I attended school at Auburn High for 2 years, and I have to say, the school is anything but what I would wish other students to be a part of. From the continuing problem with drugs and violence, going unnoticed, to teachers not caring enough about the students, I was very displeased to attend this school. I was unlucky enough to experience a few bad teachers, who had problems responding to e-mails and phone calls in attempts to curb problems we were having. This school prides itself on being able to work with parents yet it has only been contradicting itself. There are way too many students; so much so that I was told that if I didn't 'step it up' I would be asked to attend a different school, because Auburn High doesn't have room for mess-ups. In result, I will not be attending this school again. -Mary Cristman
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
26%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
49%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students33%
Female32%
Male34%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial45%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income29%
Not low income39%
Special educationn/a
Not special education34%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income77%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Low income92%
Not low income93%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students9%
Female12%
Male6%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanic13%
Multiracial10%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White9%
Low income8%
Not low income10%
Special education8%
Not special education9%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students52%
Female56%
Male49%
Black45%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income39%
Not low income74%
Special education47%
Not special education53%
Limited English11%
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students56%
Female55%
Male56%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income52%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students16%
Female14%
Male20%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Low income16%
Not low income17%
Special educationn/a
Not special education14%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Students33%
Female17%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Low income26%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education33%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

355 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

353 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Black79%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander58%
White86%
Low income73%
Not low income88%
Special education38%
Not special education85%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female89%
Male78%
Black75%
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander70%
White91%
Low income78%
Not low income90%
Special education51%
Not special education88%
Limited English37%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 60%
Hispanic 20% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Black 7% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 255%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Olympic Middle School
Cascade Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Washington State Achievement Award (2013)
  • Linda Cowan Schools of Distinction Award (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Richard Zimmerman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (253) 931-4701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 E. Main St.
Auburn, WA 98002
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 931-4880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT