Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Terminal Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 434 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Terminal Park is a Title 1 school in an older section of Auburn. The population is transient with a great variety of diversity. The teachers are experienced and have been in place on average, 10 years. We are new, but I am quite satisfied thus far with teacher quality and staff caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

My kids started here brand new going into 3rd and 5th grade. Since the start of the year til now school seems to be one of excitement. My kids love it here due to staff and their peers. The environment is very accepting and expectations are for nothing but the best. My kids attended another elementary within the same district the previous school year as we had just moved to Auburn. Last year wreaked havoc, it was frustrating, staff and principal very unhelpful, bottom line I was very disappointed. When I finally heard of the "STEPS" program it was too late to have my child qualify. Thanks to Terminal Park and their staff allowing me to voice my concerns for higher expectations for my kids, them not being in the program didn't bother me any. One thing they all agreed upon was the fact they will not stop their learning even if they were more advanced they would firmly continue to challenge them. When I made the initial decision to transfer them it was contingent to the great rapport I had with the previous principal. During summer break a decision of change sent him elsewhere. On a great note the new principal is doing a great job! My kids love it here....I'm happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My son has went to this school for the past 4 years. I have alsways had good communication with the school. The Principal changed this year so I cant speak to that-yet. But, last year the principal was a wonderful man whom I spoke with on many occasions. My child has some special needs and the principal was always understanding of him and me. Also the culture at the school is that of acceptance and community values. They put on local events and would participate in the events with the kids. I am hoping this year is the same. I am worried with the old principal gone. I grew to like him and his style with the kids. I am hoping to like this year as well. I will say on the flip side that when my son first started the school was just getting to know us and him. The school mistook some things and caused me alot of trouble, but, they meant well- and thats what I will judge them on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

The leadership of the principal was so bad and nasty toward PTA parents I pulled my child and soon there after two families did the same. The school does offer the STEP program which is great because of the teacher But the principal has a bad attitude when it comes to parent advocates.


Posted January 15, 2011

We are grandparents of a "step" student and are very happy with terminal park in every aspect of the program. Keep up the good work!


Posted July 29, 2008

this school takes time to get to know not only the student but the family as well. they know all the students by their first name and always say hello at the start of the day and goodbye at the end of the day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

My child is part of the STEP program and we love it. Mrs. McIntyre has been a blessing for family as she helped our child reach his potential. We had to think long and hard about pulling our son from our neighborhood school but the program, the teachers, the counselors and the principal have helped us confirm that we made the right decision in having our child at Terminal Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students36%
Female41%
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income31%
Not low income53%
Special education8%
Not special education42%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female66%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income63%
Not low income80%
Special education33%
Not special education75%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income56%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female85%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income60%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students59%
Female71%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income44%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female83%
Male65%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income62%
Not low income89%
Special education15%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income74%
Not low income95%
Special education46%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female80%
Male65%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income60%
Not low income89%
Special education31%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 63%
Hispanic 17% 18%
Black 16% 5%
Asian 6% 7%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 147%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 219%N/A8%
Special education 211%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 64%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • TIMOTHY CARSTENS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 D St SE
Auburn, WA 98002
Phone: (253) 931-4978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT