Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Baker Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 877 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

I enrolled my child in the middle of the year when we moved to WA from out of state. The school was very receptive, staff is amazing and kids bonded immediately. I simply love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

If i could I rate the staff zero stars. They are very rude been hung up on several times and also do not appreciate someone accusing my daughter that she was lying when asked why she was tardy. Some of the staff should take a course on how to talk to kids they're human too or maybe find another occupation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

Mount Baker is a great school. My son enjoyed going to school and the staff was always helpful and supportive of my child. They have an excellent music program. I would recommend moving to a community nearby so your child could attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Honestly, if i could give this school zero stars, I would. I know firsthand that what two of the other reviewer have said, is absolutely true. This school does NOT want to educate any student that is not classified as typical. Moreover, they do not want them in attendance, even if this is the neighborhood school for that child. I remember even setting up a meeting with Mr. Adams who was the principal at the time, he called me, then never showed. I sat in his office until the vice-principal finally came in. My son was coming home with all kinds of cuts and bruises that no one could explain. He was non-verbal, so he could not tell me what was happening. i finally had to pull him out and send him to a different middle school. If you have a model child, this school may be okay, but if the school has to work to educate your child....well, you will be out of luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

I have had two children attend this school. My oldest started in 7th and is now in high school. One of his counselors suggested he play football as a means to help keep his grades up. I met one on one with all of his teachers to get a plan of action together so that he would not get left behind in his learning. The teachers truly cared about his success. Now my middle son is attending this school. He has always gotten great grades and done well in school. This year I feel the school is challenging him in a different way. In his leadership skills. They have a variety of clubs he can join all in the effort of making him a responsible, caring and contributing adult. I am very pleased and impressed with what I have seen occur in my children's growth and education at Mount Baker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

My seventh grade son was assaulted by a teacher at Mt Baker Middle School. Before assaulting him she belittled him infront of the class. he tried to go to the office and she pushed him into a desk. The school handled it poorly and so far the teacher has aparently not been disciplined and the school has not been forthcoming with their investigation. There were witnesses. My son has been singled out and continually harrassed by school staff since the incident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I was a new student at Mount Baker Middle School for the beggining of the school year and must I say the is still an amazing school.This year the the schools packed year yet.This year there are over 900 kids at the school. So that was our best one yet. I used to struggle with math but the teachers will help you, no matter which subject. Mr. Adams our principal is one great principal but he has one teacher and the vice principal in training.our school mascot is the bulldog and I always thouht that Mount Baker was for bunch of smartie pants but that changed when I went to Mount Baker Middle School.Parents if you look online and go on the button that says 'Rules' well there is more,don't worry.Well that's all for today now.GO TO MT.BAKER MIDDLE SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

If your child struggles with any issues this is not the school for your child. The focus at Mt. Baker is on discipline rather then academics and the teachers take zero accountability for their actions and lack of communcating with the parents. I have two children who attened Mt. Baker, one who was an average, well behaved student....no problems. My other child suffers from attention and behavioral issues, life at the school was a nightmare. Discipline was the main focus for my child rather then the education. We are thankful to be done with Mt Baker and see great strides in our youngest at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Thank you to a great schiool year so far. My daughter has failed every year before now, and almost every subjuct. She is now getting almost all A's... You are doing a great job!Keep it up..... Many thanks to you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

Love this school! Mr. Adams is a great principal and is a great addition! Love the structure and love the Way to Go Lunch Program. I have had four children attend this school and believe that it is the finest middle school in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

Sending my children here after we just move here from out of state. I find the curriculum very easy for my children, and they tell me that there are a lot of children whom get really bad grades. I hope HS will be a little more challenging!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

So far I don't have any complaints about leadership or staff--my daughter is in the honors program and is learning and doing well. She does seem bored though at times which is concerning. I wish there were more extracurricular options, clubs, activities after school though. Sports options are limited as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

I am now 18 and going to PLU. I always felt safe at this school and Mr. Boyton was a GREAT principle. He's the best I've experienced in my K-12 journey! I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black65%
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income47%
Not low income71%
Special education13%
Not special education64%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
Black88%
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income70%
Not low income85%
Special education49%
Not special education80%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female60%
Male55%
Black50%
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander46%
White64%
Low income45%
Not low income69%
Special education13%
Not special education60%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black75%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander69%
White81%
Low income71%
Not low income84%
Special education44%
Not special education80%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female82%
Male63%
Black71%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander54%
White78%
Low income64%
Not low income80%
Special education46%
Not special education74%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female40%
Male38%
Black30%
Asian66%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic19%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Low income25%
Not low income51%
Special education17%
Not special education41%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female81%
Male66%
Black70%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income66%
Not low income80%
Special education22%
Not special education78%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female68%
Male65%
Black55%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income54%
Not low income77%
Special education39%
Not special education69%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Low income80%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 63%
Hispanic 22% 18%
Asian 14% 7%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 131%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 29%N/A8%
Special education 29%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 37th St SE
Auburn, WA 98002
Phone: (253) 931-4555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT