Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Capt. Charles Wilkes Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 399 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

My son is in the multi-age program at Wilkes and I couldn't be more impressed. His teachers are fantastic, the work is challenging, and his needs both academic and social-emotional are addressed. I am in the classroom volunteering multiple times a week and see teacher sin action all the time. They are fantastic, the administration is wonderful and how the curriculum is implemented is impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Wilkes, BI School District and the Bainbridge Island Community is incredible in so many ways. I always tell people I love living here because everyone here is focused on the right things in life. Raising well rounded children that are educated, loving, and want to give back to their community. I am sad to say because of work we are moving out of state. I was encouraged to use this site to look at schools but to not pay attention to the parent reviews. This advice came from a parent/school psychologist that works in the state we are moving to. After seeing these negative reviews toward a school that both of my children have gone through and loved! I now understand why the school psychologist suggested I skip this part of the site. Wilkes couldn't be a more nurturing environment where children thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

I came in expecting a lot given all the talk about the district schools and its state ranking. The education and standards are average and the equivalent of checking the state boxes. Nothing impresses me as outstanding. This year has really been a disappointment with teachers who are marginal, disorganized, or just in it because they get a long summer vacation.


Posted March 20, 2012

I'm not surprised by the negative reviews, but do NOT agree with them. The principal is now new since reviewed in the past and is eager to work with parents to address issues caused by the economy and other factors beyond the control of one elementary school. The local school foundation is VERY involved (getting funds from parents and local businesses) in helping fund teachers' salaries in an effort to keep the teachers hired and class sizes as low as possible - the fault for the higher class size is not the school or district but the fact that the state is not funding as it should or keeping its commitments. Teachers are caring and nurturing and do the best they can given all the requirements parents and the community demands of them these days. Anyone who can't find one good thing to say about either a public or a private school on Bainbridge Island - where the scores and achievement are among highest in WA state - should definately move elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

Very surprised by the last review. I have had 3 kids pass through Wilkes and feel that they were all well prepared for higher grades. There are plenty of opportunities for parent involvement (in fact I have actively worked in the every one of the classrooms of each of my kids). Teachers are dedicated and energetic. Yes, classes are larger than in past years. Welcome to public education during an economic downfall. Private fundraising efforts have been working hard to keep those class sizes down. The principal is exceptional and my childrens individual needs have been recognized and addressed in a meaningful way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Very disappointing school. The teachers do not provide supplemental curriculum (or feel it is their job to do so) for high-performing students. We are pulling out daughter out of the BI school system next year. The classes are ridiculously overcrowded. Another shock was the PTA in the district, and particularly at this school. The PTA actively opposes the implementation of new methodologies that are enjoying huge successes in other schools that are also under economic strain (this doesn't seem to be under the PTA purview and certainly is not in the interests of the children). For those considering moving to BI, you should know that the schools are NOT what they once were (I wish I had known this before moving to BI 2 years ago). Parents who are able to do so are pulling their kids out of this school district in droves and there are very good reasons why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I agree with the previous post. I am sorry we ever let our child attend this school. I feel the quality of education at Wilkes is below average and the district is average at best. I fear the quality that once existed in this district will be disappear with budget cuts. If we had to do it over we never would have moved to Bainbridge Island. Unfortunately we found the private schools in this area even worse. If your children are in this district you must supplement their education and pay attention to what is going on in the classroom. Bainbridge as a district has dropped out of the top 10 in the state and I am concerned that it will fall further if things are not shored up. In this economic climate, I am not optimistic this will happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

If this is as good as WA state public education gets, we are in big trouble. The class sizes are huge, curriculum is basic, teachers are not open to parents volunteering in any meaningful way, and the principal does not seem to know how to communicate other than sending a typo-filled newsletter on where not to park on the school property. My children have learned very little this year, and it is almost December. We are looking for private schools for the spring term.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Love this school. Teachers are great and level of learning is wonderful. We moved over from Seattle school and saw the improvement right away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Wilkes is a wonderful school. The teacher's are caring and go above and beyond the curriculum making learning fun for their students. We are lucky to have specialists in PE, Art, Music and Library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Although this Bainbridge School is higly rated, I was more than disappointed upon entering my child in first grade. Her class is maxed out at 25 students, and the curriculum seems simplistic and inferrior to that of her kindergarten in CA. Her teacher informed us that she is 1 of 4 in her class that can read and their math curriculum requires that they must know how to count only to 15 by the end of the year. History is learning the family tree. The district seems desperate for funding so I don't forsee much relief on the student:teacher ratio and the resulting benefits from a smaller class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

Teachers are top notch. Our kids would rather go to school than have a day off. Parent involvement is very strong. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

excellent, caring, long-staying teachers and staff; i can't say enough great stuff about the teachers at all levels--WOW!. however, am not impressed with the principal, who seems apathetic in comparison to her staff. the facilities are older, but with a new bond and tech levy just passed, these will be improved. again, teachers have been incredibly creative and good-tempered about working in these conditions; they deserve the improvements & changes to come. great pto in terms of amount of funds raised, but also in terms of number of sheer hours spent in classrooms. what a team! sad to be leaving this year...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

The very best in academic programs, the arts and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

This school has been great for my Son. He attended Kindergarten there and is now in the first grade. They strongly encourage parent involvement and offer language courses in Spanish and Japanese.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Special education86%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special education93%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low incomen/a
Not low income81%
Special education64%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special education57%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female91%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low incomen/a
Not low income83%
Special education57%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 60%
Hispanic 9% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 119%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 12N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 76%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12781 Madison Ave NE
Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
Phone: (206) 780-3020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Island School
Bainbridge Island, WA


Ordway Elementary School
Bainbridge Island, WA



St Cecilia Catholic School
Bainbridge Island, WA


Odyssey Multiage Program
Bainbridge Island, WA


Homeschool Support Program
Bainbridge Island, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT