Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ardmore Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 346 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2014

The new Principal is highly motivated and is on top of his communications with parents: social media, automated/online voice-mail system, and monthly printed newsletters. Our two children are entering 2nd and 3rd grade. The third graders are a much larger cohort than the 4th, and thus, there have been new teacher hires for the last three years. The school has increasing overall enrollment. Fortunately, it was rebuilt only a few years ago, and they have room to expand into underutilized classrooms. My eldest daughter has had a newly hired teacher for every year there. We have seen how fast their colleagues get them up to speed and work together to build a cohesive team of teachers across the same grade level. They work together in curriculum preparation, activities, and pool the kids together across the three classes for properly leveled reading and math activity groups (with the help of volunteer parents). It is an inclusive and diverse environment for the kids: with a close proximity to Microsoft and a catchment area that includes lower income families. There is significant socioeconomic diversity which fosters a wonderful environment to learn from one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

my daughter enjoys going to this school , its been just a month so far no negatives and the teacher is new and got plans. nicely communicating the progress and providing updates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

My son just finished kindergarten at Ardmore and seemed to love it. It was a good school for the most part. The new principal was very interactive and easy to get in contact with. The curriculum was also good, I would have to say my only issue with the school was a select few teachers. My sons teacher in particular seemed to be a little all over the place to say the least. From forgetting to send home things to mixing up kids names on progress reports. I have talk to a few parents and it seems on children's progress reports were the exact same except different names on them. If your child goes to kindergarten her I would just suggest keeping in communication with other parents and with the teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I loved Ardmore. I had 2 kids that studied at Ardmore and I could never understand why people avoided this school. My daughter were always very lucky and had always great teachers that were able to challenge them and keep them working hard and improving. One of my kids left the school in her middel school years to joing the Gifted program and I am thankful to the Ardmore teachers by helping her get there. With classrooms that have kids in a variety of academic levels, the teacher were always very capable and knowledgeable to keep the class moving forward and in control allowing all the kids to progress and evolve. The new Principal is very approachable and very good at what she does!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

The school is beautiful and the staff is awesome! They are very helpful and address to your questions carefully and with full determination. My son is in 1st grade and this is his first year in the school. Initially we were a little tensed about how he'd adjust with new surroundings, but his teacher is extremely caring and on her toes to help kids. The whole staff is a bunch of enthusiasts who are willing to teach your kids with new challenges ready for them which makes studies so exciting for them. They are very welcoming and approachable. New office manager (Mrs. Nordstrom) is very polite and dependable! I've loved this school and am sure, though I don't know half of the staff because I don't interact with them much, they all are excellent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

My son is in Kindergarten at Ardmore and we love it there. I just read the last post about recess and before school arrival "chaos." I would have had to agree. However, the things have been changed after parental concern. Now, the waiting areas are spread out in the am with the littlest kids in one area and the bigger kids elsewhere. Lunch recess has also been revamped. I feel like kids will be kids everywhere and it is our duty to be involved if we see anything that we don't like. The actual curriculum, staff, and code of conduct is awesome. My son has 3rd and 5th graders that help his reading group. He loves it. They have a beautiful, fully rebuilt school. The Principal is awesome and the new office manager, for that matter, is on the ball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

The teachers/curriculum are great. However recess is poorly supervised which leads to kids who can get away with "playing rough." Pushing, pinching, bad-mouthing are common occurences. Some of the younger kids get lost in the shuffle. More supervision would minimize all this and lead to kids feeling safer on the playground. In addition, before school students are not supervised AT ALL. The waiting area is in the gym which is partitioned off in such a way that it is much to small to safely fit all the kids. The children are crowded in there while they wait for their teachers--it is possible that this is even against fire codes. The few parents that walk their children in feel obligated to stay until the teachers come, because it's pure chaos in there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

We love our school (starting with our son, who really loves it). The teachers, staff, facility and curriculum are great. The principal (Yuko Porter) is seriously amazing - very intelligent, active, and committed to the scuccess of students. We feel like everyone there is "on top of things" at the school and our son is making great progress. It's strange that the school's test scores are low, but I suspect the large number of immigrant kids who don't speak English natively are the immediate cause of that. The school includes many "Microsoft kids" and others who've just moved to the US and thus have trouble with tests for a short time. But at Ardmore they seem to catch up quickly and move into the mainstream. Meanwhile, all the other kids get what they need, whether they are gifted, need extra help, or are somewhere in between. In other words, don't let the test scores paint a negative picture of Ardmore! There is more to the story, and it's a story about a great school. The only deficiency might be relative lack of parental involvement, but again, I think that's a cultural divide in which immigrant parents aren't conditioned to think they should volunteer in some capacity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

This is a great school. While there are some families that do send their kids elsewhere (as noted in a previous review), there are many kids from the immediate neighborhood who do attend Ardmore, including ours. The teachers are excellent, finding ways to challenge or help the students as needed. The new facilities are great, very open and warm. I've met many wonderful, down to earth families and I have no qualms about sending our younger kids there in a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

My daughter joined kindergarten at the end of the school year. She was amazingly welcomed to the school by both staff and students. The adjustment period was short. Since the first week she came home with books to read that fit exactly her reading level. It was clear that the teacher had sat with her and checked exactly her reading level. After the first couple of days she announced she already has a best friend (and then second and third best). Overall we had a very good experience, the school atmosphere is very warm, personal and well organized. The new building is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

My children have been at Ardmore for 6 years now and I am so happy I did more than just look at average test scores! The teachers are very smart, approachable, and keep standards high for the kids. Extra challenges/extra help are available and my child who is now in middle school is excelling! Most important for me, both of my kids were known and appreciated for who they are--Ardmore's slightly smaller size makes it easy for kids to feel accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Im a student at ardmore,and I know that if there are three things for me to say about this great school they are: 1. Ardmore will give you a very warm welcome, 2.The teachers are great and encourge you to push yourself, 3. Its a fantastic school!


Posted December 13, 2010

This could be a great school, but it does not reflect the community it serves. Those who live in the neighborhood tend to send their kids elsewhere. Most kids at Ardmore are bused in from poorer areas. I have nothing but positive things to say about most teachers at this school. They are highly qualified and do the best with what they have. However, there is a very loud, grumpy 5th grade teacher who gives the school a bad name by yelling loudly at children for minor infractions (PMS?).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

The teacher and other staff was great, very helpful and the only reason why Im giving this school 3 stars, in the other hand the front desk lady feels really rude and the principal felt selfrightious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

This is my daughters first year here and I have to say that I really love the staff and her teacher Ms MacPhee! I feel she pays great attention to my child and always feel welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2005

My son goes to kindergarten this year. For the first month they kept changing teachers so they didn't need volunteer until they found a new teacher who just graduated. Unless I go to school volunteer, otherwise, from the folder he brings back each day(no homework/no cirricumlum/not much school work) I totally have no idea what he is doing at school. I heard other teachers in one good school sends notes to parents once a week, reporting what and how students do and ask for parents' opinions. But this school only report you once at the end of semester. My son did well only on things that I taught him before. He felt my homeschooling is fun while school teaching is boring. The parent involvement rate is low as well as the school involvement. That only office lady is extremely rude and the principal is always too busy to reach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

- Academic programs are not as challenging as they really should be. - Extracurricular activities are available but limited to a few. - Parent involvement is there but could be improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

My son is in 2nd grade at Ardmore elementary. I think they are too relaxed about homework and assignments. He does not bring home any graded papers and homework is not graded. My son says he is bored in class. The school does not have a program for accelerated learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Ardmore is a friendly, multicultural school that is challenged by not only the diverse cultures, but by the economic differences of the students. My daughter has attended for two years and absolutely loves it. The Principal is very responsive to all issues and conserns. The added resources like the aftershool reading program has impacted my childs academic reports tremondously. Ms. Persinger in particular is an excellent example of the quality teachers Parents look for, she not only gives everything she has to her class, but participates in the lives of all students by running many other programs on her own time. Overall a very positive school and great Teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

I believe that Ardmore is a good quality school. it has it's up and down like all schools do. I think that they create a strong emphasis on groups and team work. This creates strong work ethics and developes important people skills need in later education. It has what I would consider above average teachers who work well with the students. They are not the best but they are good. I went there for 3 years and am now getting good strong grades in High School (3.68)GPA with all Honors and Advanced Classes. I am a year ahead in math and taking colege computer classes, not to mention sports. Overall I would say that Ardmore is definatly a quality school to send your students to.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female65%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income45%
Not low income82%
Special education25%
Not special education69%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income67%
Not low income82%
Special education50%
Not special education79%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female48%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income32%
Not low income58%
Special education0%
Not special education58%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female59%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income44%
Not low income60%
Special education55%
Not special education50%
Limited English41%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students49%
Female57%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income38%
Not low income63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female59%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income31%
Not low income68%
Special education10%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female89%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income69%
Not low income84%
Special education40%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female48%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income38%
Not low income68%
Special education20%
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 32% 20%
White 30% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 7%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 130%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 252%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • YUKO PORTER

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16616 NE 32nd St
Bellevue, WA 98008
Phone: (425) 456-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eton School
Bellevue, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT