Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennett Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 416 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

My daughter is in 4th grade in Bennett Elementary. Its a very good school. Strong PTSA. They put lot of efforts in it. Really satisfied with the grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We just had a wonderful year at Bennett. My daughter has learned so much and the most important part is that she is very eager to learn more. The school has done a great job creating a fun, safe and nurturing learning environment for kids. The PTA is also first rate with tons of parents/grandparents volunteering and provides lots of extra activities. For example last year for first graders we had toy makers workshop, kite making, trips to botanical garden and zoo. The science week is awesome too. Overall wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Bennett Elementary is more than just a school it is a community. The PTSA is strong and very involved. We've been Bennett bulldogs for 6 years now, and have four more to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Our family just moved to Bellevue WA area and thought we enrolled my son to Bennett Elementary School because we saw greatschools.org gave a 10 for this school. We called the main office and the person who answered our call was very impatient, uninformative and was quite rude. We were very disappointed and enrolled our son to another elementary school. With this kind of attitude (management), how can we trust the rest of their staff? Good scores is not everything!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

We joined Bennett this past August, and are very impressed. The teachers are enthusiastic, committed and dedicated, the facilities are fantastic, and the academic standard is extremely high. It is also wonderfully diverse. Bennett is a super school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

Excellent public elementary with a good staff and a very involved and capable PTSA (makes ALL the difference) I see students from many of the Bellevue schools and these kids usually come in for help sooner and get more support than most other schools. More discussion of Bellevue Schools and www.bellevueschooldistrictparent.com hope you'll stop by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My child previously attended Medina Elementary, and Bennett is significantly better in terms of the respect offered to families and the ability to see the opportunities offered by the diversity available. The before school foreign language program is a huge factor in why we chose to move, although we have been somewhat disappointed in the actual instruction happening there. As in all BSD schools, it is a 'one size fits all' curriculum - all children do the same things regardless of ability level. The teachers are much better and have a sincere interest in the children in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

Highly recommended. My child has flourished in the environment afforded at Bennett. The Enrichment Program is top shelf and almost all teachers we have experienced have been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I'm very impressed with the teachers in this school. I would like a better Math program for the Bellevue District School, but because of the great involvement of the parents/teacher we can see a difference when we compare with other schools!!The parent involvement makes the difference and the principal adds up with his support to all the activities!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Bennett Elementary is an excellent public school. The level of parent involvement at this school is very high. The academic standards are high. There is an Enrichment Center at Bennett, to challenge the gifted members of the student body. They have a before school Foreign language program, as well as afterschool activities, including Chess Club. The PTA is very involved and supportive of the school and it's Teachers. I think that all of the teachers that my children have had, have all been excellent quality teaching staff. They definately do all within their power to keep the student to staff ratio as small as possible. There is definately a sense of self and community at this school. They are a highly diverse and accepting group and I would reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

We are very happy with Bennett. It has nice facilities, a great library and playground. The PTSA is very active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Bennett offers a Gifted And Talented Education program, with a one day pull-out for the kids that qualify. My daughter enjoyed this program very much, with her teacher, Mrs. Buchanon (she has since left the program). The PTA is outstanding, and the new principal Mr. Thomas has things well under control. For those parents with kids that need more of a challenge in class, but not yet ready for a full-time Gifted program, I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

We're very happy with Bennett. Good teachers, good principal, nice facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

My experience with Bennett has been a positive one. I have two children attending now in the 3rd and 1st grade. I found the teachers to be dedicated and truly concerned about their students. Work well with parents and were receptive to ideas and sharing ideas to help a student succeed. The support were also caring and know all the children by name and get to know them well. My children loved this school and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2003

Our experiance is great at Bennett. The principals, staff, teachers, specialist all care deeply for the children and their learning. The classes are developed in a way that the teachers can target individual needs. The PTSA is very active, there are over 30 committees. They support field trips, assemblies, science week, reflections program and much more. There is quite a wonderful community feel to our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

I feel that the principals and staff are very rigid. (Mandatory school notebooks; students aren't allowed to use the interior hallways; mandatory recess even in downpours with little covered areas.) I don't feel that the students' needs come first at this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low incomen/a
Not low income90%
Special education70%
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low incomen/a
Not low income93%
Special education100%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low incomen/a
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low incomen/a
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low incomen/a
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low incomen/a
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female92%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low incomen/a
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 7%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 19%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 59%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Nicole Hepworth

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17900 NE 16th St
Bellevue, WA 98008
Phone: (425) 456-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Spectrum Academy
Redmond, WA



Eton School
Bellevue, WA


Jewish Day School
Bellevue, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT