Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clyde Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 654 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Positives: - Great staff - We had great teachers in our 3 years at the school. Negatives: - Very crowded classes - Every year, in addition to the crowd, we had at least one problem kid distracting the whole class. If your kid is at least an average, be ready that he/she won't learn much due to class sizes and distractions at the class. All academically good kids in our class that I know was supplemented by outside tutors. - Snotty parents - Be prepared to be bullied as a parent, if you are not white & American & PTSA mom. - PTSA moms' kids get treated better in every way. One example, if your mom is volunteering at the library, you can get one more book than other kids (whose parents are working, hence couldn't volunteer).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

The review posted on November 26, 2013 is spot on! We've had all the negative experiences that the aforementioned poster encountered. While we are happy with the fabulous teacher our DC has this school year, we are HORRIFIED at the class sizes. The expectation that we can shell out lots of money for fundraisers can be taxing as we have to deal with atrocious class size (28-30 kids per class on the average) and snooty, condescending front office staff such as Shannon Leahy and her former office partner (Leala?). Hope the new Principal and her new Assistant Principal will bring positive changes to CHES soon as we don't want to have to move our child to another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

Those parents "who wish they could put their litte darlings at CHES" (as another reviewer suggested), DO NOT know anything about what is happening there. Student to per teacher ratio was almost 30 in a 1st grade class last year. Their WASL test scores are incredible low. I gave it a try with my older child for a couple of years and my experience was HORRIBLE!!! Evenetually, I gave up and decided to send my child to a private school instead. Anyone who still thinks that CHES is a good enough school can check out the 2012 WASL results and see that CHES didn't even make it to WA's top 50 Elementary schools. Simply put, almost all the schools in the Eastside had better WASL results than CHES. And also, besides the lack of quality education, the school has a horrible front desk secretary named as Shannon Leahey (I guess). IF your child goes there try to limit your conversation with her at all cost. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

Many parents only wish they could put their litte darlings at CHES! Our oldest son (17) attended the school (K-5) and our second child is there and currently in 2nd grade. This is a very good school with strong leadership and many caring teachers. These past 2 years our son has benefited from a husband & wife team of teachers who are rigorous, yet kind, patient, understanding, and possess a good sense of humor. Honestly, being quite demanding myself, I feel that CHES is just fine. The student population is increasingly ethnically diverse each year, and it's obvious that CHES is attracting a high percentage of Asian families through its strong teaching credentials. We weren't so impressed with Chinook Middle School (next door) and hopefully that school will be better once the reconstruction is completed in the next two years. CHES is the right size, the support is there, the kids are well behaved (no bullying at all), and it's nice to see your tax dollars aren't being wasted for a change. Thanks CHES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

After school childcare program is unprofessional. My child was injured on the playground and left to take care of herself. Too many kids crammed into a small space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

I'm in awe reading the recent negative comments about Clyde Hill. I just don't understand it! We were lucky to be at CHES for two years, before moving to CA. Now, we miss Clyde Hill every day. The caring staff, amazing "specials" including PE, music, art...an on-site nurse, librarian...these assets are a thing of the past in most public schools, including our current school. Class sizes at 27 are a negative? Ours are 31--33. Clyde Hill is a wonderful school, great curriculum and supportive learning environment. We would be back tomorrow if we could. Please keep perspective, folks, CHES is a wonderful school. Come visit a public school in CA if you need a dose of reality :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Every school has negatives & positives. But this schools negatives are far more than the positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

This is a great school with hardworking teachers and staff, as well as a strong parent community. Every school will have its struggles in these tough economic times, but its people not money that will pull Clyde Hill through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

We moved from california last year and i feel made a mistake sending my 3rd grader then, to this school.The schools ratings have also dropped considerably.The neighbouring Enatai is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

My 1st grader is doing grate though we have some issues with everyday homework. he likes to be a leader and face academic challenges. my kindergardener is struggling to go to school, perform well and actually enjoy it. he hates it. i don't think rigorous academics are appropriate for every kid. it is even harder for yanger ones. i guess it depends on what kind of child you have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Clyde Hill has amazing students, parents, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The partnership between teachers/staff and parents is excellent. The partnership works hard to address the needs of all children, academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have had two daughters at Clyde Hill 2008-2009 and both love their school and their teachers. The PTSA is very active and there is several after school activities to choose from (Art, Science, Jum rope, Chess...) I would love to have even more activities, especially on the short Wednesdays, but as it is, Clyde Hill already has a lot to provide. Academically, the teachers our girls have had have been doing a great job, and they are very interested in the children as individuals. I would warmly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Hopefully the new principal have a positive impact. The second grade teachers are wonderful and work as a wonderful team. The first grade teachers do not. If your child is bright or not 'in the box,' be ready to advocate for your child. Do not be patient with the 'system' as we were. We wasted an entire year. I would not recommend first grade at this school. Teachers who are not nuturing should not be teaching first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

I have had two children attend Clyde Hill and found the sense of community and help to be fantastic. There is a Tech Team and Service Team along with Choir, Chess, School Play & Jump Rope Club for kids to get involved in. The older kids are matched with the younger ones to do one on one reading. All classrooms are equipped w/smart boards and the teachers are vested in creating a fun and challenging learning environment. Although it is in a more affluent area of town it is a very diverse group of students and needs which the school does a great job managing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Horrible horrible system the families associated with this school must contend with if you are not in the 'Rich' click group. Its too bad for such a beautiful area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

When comparing Clyde Hill with Medina the teacher/student ratio is too high. I agree with the other posters, improving the math and foreign language program should be priorities. Additionally, the school needs to provide more after school activities - like music, art, dance, soccer. Today only jump rope is offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

Relatively small classroom size. Good parent participation. Math program is weak. Would love to see Spanish taught. Music and art teachers are great. Band or orchestra is mandatory for 5th graders. Teacher quality varies quite a bit, some fantastic and high expectations, a minor few should not be in teaching- especially those that don't like kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

Very pleased with Clyde Hill. Parent participation is expected; which makes for a high student/adult ratio in the classroom. Adding foreign language training to the curriculum would just make this school even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2003

I would love to see foreign language as part of the curriculum. Also, I'd like to see a more extensive art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female79%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English91%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low incomen/a
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English100%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English64%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English83%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low incomen/a
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 63%
Asian 29% 7%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Hispanic 3% 18%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 26%N/A8%
Special education 25%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9601 NE 24th St
Bellevue, WA 98004
Phone: (425) 456-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart School
Clyde Hill, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT