Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 530 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

This is a great school from the teachers, to the staff and kids. We moved from northern San Diego to Bellevue in June 2014 and I read the reviews posted here and was hesitate at best to have my son enter 6th grade at Highland. I even went as far as going to the school and another middle school in the area to speak to them and submit a transfer over the summer. Our transfer was not approved at the other middle school as they were at capacity. What a blessing in disguise, we are SO happy with Highland and our 11 year son adores all of his teachers, the staff and the kids are so kind and welcoming. My son received his laptop and we are so impressed with the technology in the Bellevue School District. Everything is going so well and we are so happy to be at Highland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

We have had a really bad year at Highland. Her block teacher was disorganized and unreliable. She would get zeroes for "overdue work" when our kid had turned it in on time, but the teacher had either lost it or not taken the time to go through her inbox for weeks. There are unruly kids who are not held accountable for their behavior and adversely affect the learning environment in the classroom. We are not going to continue at this school. Not all the teachers are this bad, there are some really good ones. Unfortunately we were stuck with a terrible one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I have a 6th Grader in the school. I feel very lucky, my daughter has had an amazing year at Highland, her teachers are very caring and always make an effort to callenge the kids to excell. Science Teacher Language arts, Social Studies and Applie Tech really impressed me! :D The principal knows everykid by name (!!!) and is always involved in every thing that happens at the school, the staff is so friendly and always try to help in any way they can (Amazing Mrs. Molly). My daughter loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

My son has gone to Highland for 2 years now and I am more than impressed with the quality of teachers and staff. I feel like they geniunley care about the kids and really make every effort to make sure the kids feel respected and acknowledged. I also, am very impressed by the counselors, especially Mrs. McDermott. She goes above and beyond for each child that needs her. Mrs. Bereano(Principal) and Mr. Ferguson(Vice-principal) are class acts and are very personable. I couldn't ask for a better school. Thank you all for making Highalnd Middle School the success it is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Highland is an awesome school and has some really great teachers, for example, Mr.Perlman, Mr.Johnson, Mr.Johnston, and Mr.Sieberson- but it also has some really bad teachers like Ms.Leffler and Ms.Maki


Posted June 7, 2010

Highland is a decent school. However bullying is prevelant. This has increased over the years as the immigrant population increases and it's only getting worse. The teachers and administrators are great. They do a tutorial everyday after school and they are great at working with kids with learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

Highland has gotten a little better, according to my experience. I moved here before 6th grade so I had no previous knowledge of Highland, and from what I've observed and experienced Highland is really diverse and people normally get along okay. But I must admit, I REALLY cannot deal with the immaturity of 7th grade boys (excluding a few) any longer, so I'll take away a star on behalf of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2009

Highland school is a disappointment. My child has attended this school for 2 years and has experienced bullying from other students and is fearful of the recurring violence such that we are transferring our child to another school. Tillicum and Odle have a better reputation/curriculum/standings in the same district. We've been active parents in our child's life but the unsafe school environment and poor quality of education has led us to seeking a better school environment for our child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Bullying is a problem at this school, as well as very unmotivated and disrespectfull children. I'm quite dissapointed with this school, as I had high expectations. I also expected more flexibility from teachers/councellors in regards to individual needs of students for particular classes and different levels of classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

Highland is a very good school but it is smaller than odle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

My child will be graduating this year from this school and he is more than satisfied with the teachers and their instruction style. As a parent, I commend school's effort to bring in technolgy in my child's life to such an extent.Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

Please stay involved in your child's life. The teachers are here to teach; not parent your child. I've had positive interactions with the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

I love Highland middle school. The kids there are always great, they have a lot of fun classes there and the system in which they work is wonderful!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2004

I was a student at Highland 2 years ago. Highland Middle School has great teachers. They are so encouraging and very inspirational. I will never forget my teachers there. The field trips were ok. Highland is very good about rewarding outstanding students and communicating with parents. They do need to work on the extra curricular organization.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I went to Highland Middle School it was so much fun. The trips were great, camp in 6th grade was a blast,going to Belerd Locks in 8th grade instead of Wild Waves was fun even though we complained at first, and the other field trips we took through out the 6, 7, and 8 grade. Highland Middle School rules!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income47%
Not low income87%
Special education19%
Not special education73%
Limited English48%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female76%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income72%
Not low income86%
Special education48%
Not special education83%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income55%
Not low income81%
Special education8%
Not special education80%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female87%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income73%
Not low income89%
Special education63%
Not special education85%
Limited English58%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income59%
Not low income81%
Special education42%
Not special education76%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female61%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income42%
Not low income72%
Special education15%
Not special education67%
Limited English43%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female79%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income59%
Not low income80%
Special education46%
Not special education75%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female75%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian72%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income64%
Not low income83%
Special education54%
Not special education78%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

31 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students74%
Female84%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Low income57%
Not low income87%
Special education75%
Not special education74%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 60%
Hispanic 24% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 7%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 117%N/A8%
Special education 117%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 246%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anissa Bereano

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15027 NE Belred Rd
Bellevue, WA 98007
Phone: (425) 456-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eton School
Bellevue, WA


Dartmoor School
Bellevue, WA


Jewish Day School
Bellevue, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT