Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Newport Heights Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
we just moved in this area in the middle of school year and signed up for our child to go here, they had a week to let us know if there was room or not but they didn't, on the day we started they said oh yeah sorry all classes were full with ratio 24:1 in all so your child would have to go to half day with morning class and afternoon class with one of the full ones, they said they had permission from the district to hire another teacher so within a week they would have another class with smaller group of children, and guess what 3 weeks later, nothing, no phone calls no emails, my child rated his morning teacher 8 out of 10, and afternoon teacher 4 out of 10, and I agreed with him, she was not patient with children, when we addressed concerns, she was very defensive without even hearing the story. I would tell everyone who cares to not send their kids here. we are thinking about alternatives.

Newport Heights Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
I heard so many negative things about this new principal at new port height elem. Why won't bsd won't do anything about it?


Newport Heights Elementary School 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
With a new principal this year, there is a marked decline in the leadership quality. This has affected the morale of the teachers and parents who have strived for years to build a strong community at the school.

Newport Heights Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Concerns about leadership quality of the principal and the negative effect he may have on students, teachers and community despite great overall teacher and family involvement.

Newport Heights Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
Newport Heights puts on a terrific musical play every other year that includes almost every student in the whole school, from youngest to oldest, and also boasts an incredible level of parent involvement in decorating sets, working on dancing and singing and lines, and selling refreshments at the show. This production is a big hit and everyone has a wonderful time.


Newport Heights Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2006
- a teacher
What a great school! The staff is very good, and there are lots of activities for kids. I am very impressed with the principal, and the pta is involved and positive. A great place for your kids!

Newport Heights Elementary School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
My son is a third grade student at Newport Heights Elementary school. I have found the principal, staff, and teachers at this school to be very helpful, well qualified, caring, and supportive. They have always been willing to meet with me, answer all my questions, and suggest ways to further my son's education. There is a high level of parent involvement at this school. The PTA is very active and parents provide support in the classroom, library, office, on the playground, and with the after school programs. Some of the after school programs have included chess club, art, and Science Adventures. As a parent, I feel very fortunate to have so many dedicated people at the school working for our children. My child has needed extra services for some mild developmental delays and I have found the help provided to him to be exceptional.

Newport Heights Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2005
- a parent
I love this school and all the positive parent involvement. The staff has been there forever and the children are all known by name by the office staff. We are not big fans of the multi-age. Anyone who gets the chance to have their children part of the Newport Heights family is very lucky and we count our blessings daily as one of those families.


Newport Heights Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2004
- a parent
I think the multi-age classes are great. My daughter loves being with children of different ages. The children are separated into grades for things like math in which it would be difficult to teach in a multi-age room. The staff is wonderful and there is not a high teacher turnover as another parent wrote. In 2003 they only had one new teacher and that was to fill a new teacher position due to high enrollment. The pricipal loves all the children and knows every child by name. The school in welcoming and I feel very comfortable with my daughter attending.

Newport Heights Elementary School 3

Posted June 03, 2004
- a parent
This school promotes the multi-age scenario. K-1 together, 2-3 together, 4 standalone, 5 standalone. The only elementary school in the district that still has multi-age. This is great for the lower grade kids if they need a challenge. My son was in NHE K-5. Each year as a 'younger' it was great, as an 'older' he did the same work over again. In my opinion the teacher has to teach to too many levels when they have 2 grades in one class. The administration is very inflexible and difficult to work with. High teacher turnover lately. There is no written discipline policy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newport Heights Elementary School
5525 119th Ave SE, Bellevue, WA  98006
(425) 456-5500
Last modified Newport Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newport Heights Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top