Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Newport Senior High School 3

Posted July 03, 2016
- a community member
Good school but expectations are extremely high and the pressure is real. Teachers assign more homework than can be completed in a night. Say school ends at 2:30pm and then because you want to be a well rounded student (appealing to colleges) you have club meetings until 3:00pm followed with 1.5 hours of sports practice, meaning you don't get home until 5. You shower and have dinner (family time is good for mental health), it's 6:30 and you're finally starting your homework. You have seven classes and since this is Newport at least 4 of those classes are ap classes, each regular class has about 30 minutes of homework per night and each ap class has about 2 hours per night. That's 9.5 hours of homework not including healthy stress breaks and frustrating mind blocks which means you won't get to bed until 4am. School starts at 7:30am and you've had 2.5 hours, at most 3 hours, of sleep. Does that sound like a recipe for success? Newport is a great school with many opportunities and a pretty good environment but the trade off is mentally and physically exhausting to the students.

Newport Senior High School 5

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Had 4 daughters go here and had a great experience. Both strong academics and extra curricular activities.


Newport Senior High School 3

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
This post is not so much to review the school but to question why this school is so highly regarded in the community, but as indicated by the new greatschools.org rating of a 2/10, is not performing very well academically. I appreciate any constructive opinions .

Newport Senior High School 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
My child has learning disabilities and the school could care less. They are too focused on being one of the best in the nation that they forget to focus on the students who have special needs. My daughter now hates going to school. She's been on an IEP throughout all of middle school, received the support she needed and was successful. Her first year in high school has been nothing but a nightmare. The teachers do not follow her accommodations and I'm constantly fighting with them to help her. In November she was being harassed by another student and they got into a fist fight but because my daughter threw the first punch, she was immediately put on a 3 day suspension, while the other girl lied about her involvement. After enough witnesses statements, the school suspended the other girl as well, however, they did not treat both girls equally. In January, she was moved to a 504, which has made things even more difficult - I was not made aware that I did not have to agree to remove her from the IEP. This school does not care about students who have trouble with learning at their higher standards.

Newport Senior High School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
My son went to Newport high school. The education quality matched the reputation as one of the top public high school in the USA. The teachers were capable and responsible, great academic challenging environment, made my kid to try hard to catch up and do more to out perform his friends. No bully, no drug, great discipline, just a great school for my son to grow up. Thank you all to make my son who he is now, a senior at Duke University, with great future ahead of him. If you want your kid to have a great high school, Newport high definitely should be your choice.


Newport Senior High School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
There is a math teacher that should be fired and the school is fully aware of it. She's (hint) terrible , students are intimidated to ask questions, and yet she's protected by her union.

Newport Senior High School 1

Posted December 13, 2013
- a student
Parents, teachers and students all only care about grades. Nothing else. They don't care about whether they learned anything, in the end the only thing that matters are the grades. Handouts are given without any explanation, and we are expected to do fine. Everything has to be done with a pen and paper. I believe classes should be a lot more interactive.

Newport Senior High School 3

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Newport High School prepares kids to perform wonderfully in the academic aspects - but the social aspects could use some work. There is hardly any snottiness or sense of entitlement, yet I've seen some straight out bullying.


Newport Senior High School 4

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
We moved from a private school to Newport and have found the academics are at a high standard for public school. A high percentage of the parents are highly concerned about education quality and are involved in the community. As most schools, we've found there are teachers who are outstanding and a few that are not so great. There are athletics programs, but this is not a strong point. Overall an above average high school.

Newport Senior High School 3

Posted September 23, 2011
- a student
If you fit into either the 'smart prep/jock' category, or the '5 APs a semester' category, you will excel. If not, well too bad for you. As long as you sign up for APs, they'll like you! I had a girl who is very mentally challenged just switch into my World History class from AP World. I'm not sure why they had her sign up for AP. AP isbn't for the smart kid, it's for the average one. Most people don't really know why they're taking APs, I felt like there was actually some manipulation to try to get us to take 'the AP route'. Newport has a great rep, but honestly, I don't think this can be very balanced. Some very good teachers, but also some very poor. Administration is very concerned with the school's status.

Nearby schools

Newport Senior High School
4333 Factoria Blvd Se, Bellevue, WA  98006
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (425) 456-7400
Last modified Newport Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top