Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Bellevue, WA
Students enrolled: 230
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jewish Day School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends kindergarten at JDS. Since the start of school she has grown significantly in social confidence, sticking up for herself and others, and academically. She also has taught us about Judaic studies and helped us find our community. I highly recommend this school and the kindergarten program!

Jewish Day School 3

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
JDS is really well meaning and the kids come out of there as really amazing people with a strong sense of the need to help everyone succeed. Still, the school needs to focus on core academics. Teachers are nice, and class sizes are small. Dual Language (Hebrew) is excellent. Inquiry based learning is great with the teachers are experts, not so much in the areas that aren't their expertise. They haven't had principal leadership for a number of years now, but they just hired a new head of schools. She is promising but will have a lot on her plate as the school has passed on addressing major issues until she starts. I look forward to seeing how she does. JDS has HUGE potential, specifically because the community is committed and engaged.


Jewish Day School 3

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
The school adopted inquiry-based learning a few years ago, and as a result, academics have dropped precipitously. So much emphasis is on group process, with endless "team meetings", that little is learned. My kids learned the proper lingo that was expected of them in this new methodology, growing cynical along the way. If you have bright and motivated kids, this is not the school for them.

Jewish Day School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a parent
JDS is an amazing school with outstanding teachers and staff. The inquiry-based dual and integrated curriculum is rich and invites students to delve deeper into the subject matter. It gets kids thinking and asking great questions. My kids are fully engaged in their learning and LOVE going to school everyday. They feel strongly connected to their Jewish heritage, have strong moral compasses and great leadership skills and self confidence. Who could ask for more?

Jewish Day School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
JDS is a great school with an amazing curriculum - the research projects and collaboration taking place for even the little kids has blown us away. Our son is being taught how to identify real world issues and work to solve them... and we love that failure is not a bad word, he's learning that it's part of the path to success. We also like the daily foreign language studyand tech. It was a great choice for us.


Jewish Day School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Perfect for our child, the small classroom environment coupled with the attentiveness of the teachers is wonderful. Kids have a real opportunity to reach and grow and be challenged. Every question is cherished and our child has really thrived in this wonderful place. And the sharing community is very welcome, our family has found a real home here.

Jewish Day School 3

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
JDS offers a strong, close knit community - a very nurturing environment. The academics are average - no more rigorous than you'd find in a public school setting. The student/teacher ratios vary depending upon enrollment.

Jewish Day School 1

Posted July 19, 2011
- a parent
The students are spoiled and point fingers at each other. Parents don't take responsibility for their kids actions. Teachers are too weak to stand up for the right reasons. This is a school where money rule everything.


Jewish Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
JDS exceeded all of our expectations. We were blown away by the caliber of the education, the love of the teachers and staff, and by the ability of the school to adjust to the needs and personalities of the students. Most of all, we feel indebted to the school for developing the best in our children because the education is rooted in Jewish values, morality, and thinking. Our kids have made lifetime friends and so have we. It's a sacrifice to send our kids to private school but the value added at JDS is overwhelming worth it all. They produce kids who are thinkers, who are kind and who know that it is their responsibility as Jews to make the world a better place.

Jewish Day School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
The best decision we could have ever made for our child was sending him to JDS! We moved here from Georgia and had no idea what to expect from the schools in Washington. After spending 1 year in the public school system, we decided that a 21 to 1 student to teacher ratio, no formalized art class or computer class was not in our child's best interest. Our son is learning not only to speak, but to write and read in a second language and will have a computer laptop by the time he is in 4th grade! The experienced teachers are highly dedicated and loyal to the school and have a warm and nurturing relationship with their students. On the first day of school assembly, our son was given a paper leaf with his name on it to add to the school's tree and to welcome our family into the "JDS Family." Where else can you find this? Only at JDS!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jewish Day School
15749 NE 4th St, Bellevue, WA  98008
(425) 460-0260
Last modified Jewish Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Jewish Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top