Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eastside Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence and Christian discipleship.
 
 

 
 

Living in Bellevue

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

We first enrolled our two youngest daughters at Eastside Christian School back in the mid-90s. We thought it was a great school back then. We are back again with our 3rd daughter and so far love the teachers she have had. The principle and staff are also great. We have homeschooled 2 of our children and all 3 of our children have attended several different Christian Schools. Eastside Christian School has been the best one so far for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2014

ECS is a great school for my two kids. The quality of the teachers is awesome and the kids will benefit tremendously from like-minded families, which public schools simply cannot not match and is very important at early education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Wonderful Christian School serving the community for over 40 years. My three children all attended there and not only received a quality education but were taught to recognize the Lord's hand and blessings in all areas of life. The single most important characteristic I'd use to describe the school is how the staff deeply cares for each student. The school offers pre-school up through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

We are very happy about this School ... It is a Great School, Great Teachers. My daugther is very happy and love the school ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

My family has been a part of the Eastside Christian community for the past 3 years. We are so pleased with the school. The staff is outstanding in that they care for and nurture the children while at the same time challenging them academically. The principal is courageous and committed to excellence. I admire him because he is willing to do what is right, no matter how popular. I also love that the school is unabashedly Christian... there is prayer, group chapel, purity conferences and Christian based curriculum. The strong Christian environment helps eliminate the typical middle school drama
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

Eastside Christian is more than a school, it is a family. We have been part of this family for 6 years. My kids started as 3 and 4 year olds, and now they are in the fourth and fifth grades. In addition to that, I am a teacher at ECS. We are pleased with every aspect of our school. My kids are enjoying academic success, growing in God s word, and forming strong friendships. I enjoy coming to work every day it is kind of like attending a full time summer camp. One of the school s strongest components is its chapel program run by the dynamic Director of Student Ministries, Todd Green. Mr. Green is energetic and engaging. By the time our middle school students graduate, he has walked them through the entire Bible, and they are ready to step out into this big world. My kids started as preschoolers and will continue through middle school. I started six years ago, and I hope to stay here until I retire many years from now.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2011

Eastside Christian School provides students with an exceptional place to grow and develop intellectually, spiritually, socially, and physically. This is my first year teaching at ECS. Serving as a member of the outstanding educational team at Eastside Christian School is a true joy and honor. Teachers at ECS are passionate about teaching the whole child and providing support in order to see students succeed. In short, one walking through the doors of ECS quickly discovers that this is more than a school Eastside Christian School is a community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2011

I am currently in my fourth year of teaching at ECS. This school is truly a special place. The academics are top notch, the Christian environment is second to none, and the school community is a fantastic place to have your child educated. Kids leave this place at a whole nother level academically and spiritually. I would strongly consider sending your child to Eastside Christian School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2011

I am relatively new to Eastside Christian School but I want to share what I ve experienced so far. I used to drive by ECS frequently and I never realized that the school has 325 students and the campus is quite large. From my first interactions with the students, teachers, and parents, it was very apparent that ECS is focused on two important missions: teaching and nurturing children and young adults as they grow academically and as Christians. Now that I m here, I see examples every day of our efforts to support each individual student s learning at the highest level. I also see students experiencing daily interactions that focus on their faith, their values, and their better understanding of the Bible. I m obviously biased, but I can honestly say that this is a wonderful school, the kids here are bright, respectful, and nice, and if you re looking for a Christian based, strong academically minded program for your child, you need to give ECS a look. Mark Migliore Principal Eastside Christian School
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2011

We are so happy we chose Eastside Christian for middle school! Our kids attended public elementary school, one of them in the gifted program. For middle school, we were looking for a strong focus on academics and accelerated coursework, but also a nurturing environment to develop their character during these key years. We appreciate the course offerings at ECS, and it has been wonderful to see our kids grow as leaders with the excellent teaching, encouragement, and role models available to them. We always wondered if private school would be worth the money, and ECS has exceeded our expectations. It is worth every penny to have excellent teachers for every class, and a curriculum consistent with our Christian worldview. Our local middle school has about 1100 students, and we really appreciate the personal attention we receive at ECS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

What a blessing ECS has been... and this is only our second year here! We have a 1st grader in Ms. Lee's class... love her!... and a preschooler in Mrs. Marci's class too... she is wonderful! God's love is definitely apparent all around campus.. from the staff to the teachers... to the older kids caring for the younger ones! Love the chapel time... and love that God's truths through his word is being taught to the kids! What an incredible place to build a solid foundation on the Lord!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Small class size, academic challenge, and caring, supportive staff make this a great school. The staff truly care about each child's academic and spiritual development.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2011

Started my boy and girl in preschool thinking it'd be temporary until Kindergarten. Being a proponent of public school education, I was surprised to find myself valuing the Christian education more and more each year. The staff are incredible and the families at ECS are genuine and wonderful. The spiritual foundation that has been established for my kids the last 6 years there is priceless. I recommend the school to everyone I meet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

After struggling for two years at the top-ranked public school in Bellevue with bullying and curriculum concerns, we made the decision last year to transfer our kids (now 1st and 3rd grade) to ECS. My kids are now thriving academically, spi...ritually, and socially. ECS isn t just a school it s a loving, supportive community of teachers, staff, parents, and students. Two kids in private school isn t cheap but the education and environment @ ECS is worth every penny. ECS gets my highest recommendation!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

We recently switched our second grader from a bellevue public school to ECS. We could not be happier. The teachers are so commited and seem to be personally invested in each child. Our son looks forward to going to school every day and we are so pleased with all of his achievements in such a short time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Six years ago, my oldest son came home from Kindergarten one day very concerned. He looked me in the eye and asked "Dad, do we have enough money to go to this school for all of the years? I love this school". Three enrolled kids and all of this time later, the sentiment is still echoed by my kids all of the time. The small class sizes and phenominal test scores don't hurt either!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

We've had kids @ ECS since fall '94. The outstanding academics made for a smooth transition when our 1st entered high school (2nd starts HS next week). ECS students participate in math/spelling competitions (always clean up, including a national spelling champion this year :-). The small class size promotes family atmosphere and ensures no one falls through the cracks during those formative years. While families often move a child to the public school in their neighborhood for middle school school we will have all 3 of ours complete the ECS middle school program. This is a time when they are really starting to make their own decisions about who to spend time with and how to spend it. The middle school program addresses real life situations and and gives students the tools to make the right, God-centered choices. Go Eagles! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

We joined the ECS family in Fall 2005 and have found that it had everything we were looking for: a great academic school, small class sizes (1:20 ratio), a community atmosphere and a Christian values based education that is reinforced in the classroom, with before/after school childcare options. We've been amazed at the quality of the education our children are receiving not just in test scores, grades but in experiences. The exposure the kids get to public speaking starting in 2nd grade is awesome. I highly recommend that you take a closer look - come observe chapel on Thursday mornings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Eastside Christian School has been a fantastic school for my son and daughter. We are loving the Middle School and 5th grade! The academics are strong, the music program is incredible, as well as the sports. My kids have been able to participate in Math Olympics (ECS always tops in Math!) Science Fairs, Musicale and other terrific activities. The parent involvement, deep committment to Christ witnessed through a strong Chapel program, multi-cultural student body and high academics make this school a gem! I happily recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

Eastside Christian School has been an amazing place for both or our children as well as us, the parents. Our boys have been at ECS for 9 years and have been getting a top rate academic education. The school is Christ centered providing great biblical teaching as well as strong moral values with respect expected and given. Our sons are great students and are being well prepared for high school and college as well as life beyond! No school is right for every student or family, but ECS is a tremendous school and deserves a look. Attend a Chapel day to see the heart of our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 7%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 4% 6%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Principal Mark Migliore
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (425) 746-3155

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Excellent test scores, Christian worldview, discipleship and mentoring programs, accelerated math opportunities, computer classes, weekly chapel, licensed all-day preschool, hot lunch program, small class sizes (average student/teacher ratio 16:1).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellevue Christian High School
Seattle Christian School
Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14615 SE 22nd St
Bellevue, WA 98007
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 641-5570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Odle Middle School
Bellevue, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT