Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Open Window School 1

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
If your child is very far advanced, the curriculum will not extend far enough for them. We were told our child couldn't work further ahead because they didn't have the capacity to go that far in advance once he hit middle school. Not worth the $ if there is still not a challenge. Also felt it was very difficult to come in at a grade other than Kindergarten. Culture can feel exclusive.

Open Window School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
We spent a lot of time looking at our area's excellent schools, trying to find a whole-child approach to education, in which the school nurtures our daughter's character and curiosity as well as her intellect. We found it at Open Window. Teachers quickly respond to parent emails and go the extra mile to make sure my child is supported and happy. We are thrilled that she gets tremendous time for music, PE, Spanish, drama and art at least once a week. She has learned, from kindergarten, how to present her ideas and passions confidently and fluently. My child is happy and resilient, and much of it is due to the Open Window faculty that nurtures her curiosity and encourages her every step of the way.


Open Window School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Erica Mahoney is one of the best teachers my daughter has ever had. She is nurturing and kind while also retaining high standards of behavior and personal responsibility. Since being in Ms. Mahoney's class, my daughter has grown into a tween who shows tantalizing glimpses of a future strong, independent and mature woman. Much of this is because Ms. Mahoney has taught her to respect herself, honor education, and be kind to others.

Open Window School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum is by far the most challenging and enriching for my child. He finished 2nd grade at 4th grade reading level and 8th grade math. My student was given exceptional attention which was a lost aspect, even in the best rated public school in Washington State. I will never send my child back to public school, especially these days when getting an education is paramount yet most competitive in the Seattle area as ever.

Open Window School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum spans from a very challenging (read productive) academic schedule to cultural, international, etiquette trainings along with philosophic cognitive thought training. This by far is the most well rounded school and far exceeds our expectations.


Open Window School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
5th yr at OWS. I asked my kids," Should I rate your school?" This is what they said," Rate 100 stars! We love OWS!" Then started to sing their school song. I just wanted my kids to be happy at school. They are absolutely happy and love their school.

Open Window School 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with OWS has been outstanding! We carefully considered 3 independent schools as well as our local public school, and we definitely made the right choice with OWS for our son. He is thriving in kindergarten- he loves going to school each morning, and raves about how much fun it is to learn! He is continually challenged at his "just right" level (class is divided into small groups for differentiated learning in math and reading). His kindergarten teacher is extraordinary! We've also been very impressed by his Science, Technology, Music, Drama, and Spanish teachers. Wonderful, welcoming community of involved parents who all highly value education. A+

Open Window School 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
This school should be avoided if your child is on the higher spectrum of giftedness. During the 3 years my child attended, the curriculum was mediocre and my child's teacher for 2 of the 3 years didn't make the grade. Teachers tended to focus more on the social aspect of giftedness and away from education, discouraging curiosity and exploring topics in depth. Also, don't expect your teacher, even with 2 teachers in a class of 20, to complete any reading or math assessments until late December. Very disappointing after paying over 20,000/ year! Now my child is in our local public school gifted program and assessments are completed within the first week of class. Don't walk but run from this school and seek getting your child into your local public gifted school program. Your checkbook will thank you for it!


Open Window School 3

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Open Windows is a good school overall. The school is beautiful. Grounds are lovely and has amazing views. Teachers are friendly, professional and cordial. There's a new head of school now and he seems to be taking the school in the right direction. Our primary concern: how is OWS truly a gifted school? Our child is in the 99.9%tile and we hoped OWS would provide that differentiated learning approach for these minority students. Honestly, after several years now, we haven't seen it. There's no differentiation or special focus to enable the exceptionally/ profoundly gifted child versus the moderately gifted child whose parents want them on an accelerated track. At the end of the day, there's a vast difference in learning needs between the 99.9% child and the 95-97% child. There's also the overly aggressive parent to watch out for - they will send their child to prep classes/studies in the summer so the child will 'seem' advanced for the new school year...so one can comment there's a high level of parent involvement. These kids tend to bias the teachers to focus on acceleration vs depth and exploration. If your child is moderately gifted, then he/she will do great at OWS.

Open Window School 5

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
The process of finding the right fit for our Kindergartner was a stressful one. We wanted a nurturing and supportive environment as well as academic rigor. We feel that we found that at OWS. He is supported and understood as well as encouraged and expected to do his best. What more could we ask for?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Open Window School
6128 168th Place Southeast, Bellevue, WA  98006
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (425) 747-2911
Last modified Open Window School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top