Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
208 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
Chestnut Hill Academy provides a fantastic education. We’ve had two children attend CHA, and couldn’t be happier. Small class size, differentiated instruction, caring teachers that are committed to advancing their own education as well as that of our children, are just a small part of the whole picture. Small class sizes allow for more personalized instruction. Class size is much lower than other private (and definitely public schools) at 15 students per class (sometimes fewer). Not only are class sizes small, but additional credentialed staff are available to provide support to teachers and students inside and outside of the classroom. Strong school community benefits the child academically as well as socially, and provides a more robust educational experience.

Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
We have 2 children at CHA, in 3rd and 5th grades. Our children have had a phenomenal experience. Is it worth the tuition? Yes. Our children go through the doors each school day excited to see what the day will bring. CHA meets your child where he/she is academically, both encouraging and supporting his/her individual needs/strengths. There is a focus not just on grades and test scores, but also on nurturing the social and emotional development of the children. The individual communication and accessibility to and from the teachers and the principal is unparalleled. The teachers are engaged and excited to be there. As my oldest child transitions to the next level of education, we are looking at those schools with CHA as the basis. Not easy shoes to fill.


Chestnut Hill Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
If there is a playground kerfuffle, and let's face it, recess can be the roughest part of a young child's day, CHA has instituted a program (through a suggestion of a parent) called Playground Pals. This program helps young students learn from the older students how to deal with playground issues. The question "How do you think it feels for xxx to not be included" comes up and then the kids are given suggestions as to how to handle disagreements.

Chestnut Hill Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
CHA has a program called "The Leader in Me" which is implemented in K and lasts through 5th grade. Through this program, the students learn about the traits of good citizenship.

Chestnut Hill Academy 2

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
Not worth the money. We were promised an experience while touring that we did not get at this school. The academics are average at best and some of the programs they told us about we did not get. Classes are bigger than most private schools and teachers have been inexperienced or lacking in other ways. The overall feeling is cold and impersonal. You would do better to look at other options for your money. I also noted that the parent group raises a lot of money but, is very insular at the same time.


Chestnut Hill Academy 2

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Overall disappointed. Lack of individual approach and goal settings, poor communication, lack of thinking outside of the schema.

Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
We couldn't recommend CHA any more highly. We both come from public school backgrounds so were a bit skittish on going private, but what we found at CHA was a combination of great school leadership, teachers that truly care and (highly important to us) children who were truly enjoying their childhood as opposed to just being well behaved. The education is highly quality and highly personalized, the care and growth for our daughter's confidence and leadership is highly personalized and powerful, and the parent communications are highly personalized and clearly caring. This is just about the easiest money we spend on our kids.

Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Our family is finishing its first year at Chestnut Hill and we could not be happier. Our daughter has attended numerous other Bellevue private schools and nothing even compares to Chestnut HIll. As they say, it starts from the top. The Head of the school Holly Senaga, is the definition of strong leader. She is not only a great leader but actually cares about our children. I have NOT found this at any other school. This trickles down throughout the whole school. The teachers are top notch and my daughter was constantly challenged the whole school year.


Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
Both of our children have attended CHA since 1st grade and Kindergarten respectively. This is an excellent school on multiple facets: 1) teachers and staff are top notch and truly care about the development of the kids; 2) the curriculum is progressive (i.e. not super easy) but the kids are challenged at the level appropriate to them; 3) they foster leaders - and it is ingrained in everything they do - kids get opportunities to lead, starting with leading themselves on a regular basis. My oldest has gone on to a college-prep type of middle/high school and we found that CHA prepared him for this next level extremely well. CHA helps develop well rounded, global citizens. A great return on my investment. I'd do it again.

Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
Chestnut Hill Academy is an amazing school. My daughter will be in 4th grade next year and has been attending CHA since Kindergarten. I wanted a school for my daughter that would be academically challenging, diverse, have nurturing teachers, low teacher\student ratios and where parent involvement was encouraged. CHA is every one of those things and SO many more. My daughter is in amazing hands every day and is multiple grades ahead of her friends in public school; from a maturity perspective as well as an academic perspective. Not only is she challenged in the classroom, but she gets to participate in amazing opportunities like school musicals and their fantastic ski program. She absolutely loves CHA and has said many times that she wishes school was year-round! As a very busy working parent, I appreciate how proactive the school is in communicating with me. I always know exactly what is happening with my daughter and I know about school events well enough in advance so that I can plan my calendar accordingly. I feel extremely fortunate that my daughter attends such an amazing school.

Nearby schools

Chestnut Hill Academy
13633 SE 26th St, Bellevue, WA  98005
(425) 372-2800
Last modified Chestnut Hill Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top