Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bellevue Children's Academy

Private | PK-7 | 488 students

Inspiring and Nurturing Excellence

 
 

Living in Bellevue

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

best elementary school in WA state full stop, middle and high school coming soon.no need to look any further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

A wonderful warm environment with amazing caring teachers. After homeschooling for 7 years this was a great choice for me to transition my kids to a private school. Highly recommended. Curriculum should be more stringent but it balances out with other activities the kids engage in. Many clubs after school and many competitions for chess, qualifying Math Team, Spelling Bee, Japanese School and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

Great school, high academics, excellent teachers with small classrooms--- all in all provide the perfect environment for learning. We switched from a much more expensive private school for "gifted" children to this school due to the higher expectations of their proven curriculum. Principal is the best---test scores on national tests are generally a grade or 2 higher across the board. This school does not disappoint!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

The Best School in Washington. My son has been attending BCA for 4 years (6th grade) Also now that they have added Middle School its amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

Probably the best private PreK, K and elementary school in Washington State. Phenomenal principal who blends insights from all over the world: US, Singapore and Japan. Outstanding curriculum, only matched or exceeded by two schools the kids attended outside of Washington State. Bottom line: you want the best for your kid(s), this school comes highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This school has excellent educational standards (1-2 grade levels above public) and offers a balanced approach to education (all students get art, music, drama, PE, spanish, world studies in addition to math, science, english, and social studies). I love that classes are 12 students or less and the teachers are allowed to be specialized (your homeroom teacher is either math/science or english/social studies and kids see multiple teachers for different subjects, while still having a home base all day). The only two drawbacks to this school are: 1. due to high educational standards, there is a bit too much homework, even for the PreK and K kids. 2. it costs a lot of money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

Our son is entering his 2nd year at BCA (Kindergarten) and we couldn't ask for a better elementary school. With his birthday in late August we were initially concerned that the rigor at BCA might overwhelm him. We were pleasantly surprised that he not only kept up with his classmates, but he has developed a thirst for learning and a natural drive that means we rarely have to push him to complete homework. He was reading by Dec of his Pre-K year and now, going into Kindergarten, he is comfortable with early 2nd grade Math and early 1st grade English. If his teachers are overworked or underpaid, I certainly haven't seen any evidence of this. All the teachers I've met seem genuinely at ease in the BCA environment and truly vested in the students. We provide a long list of supplies at the beginning of the school year so I find it hard to believe that the teachers are forced to provide a majority of the classroom supplies. If you're interested in this school, I would pay a visit and speak to other parents during an open house. The parents I speak to are all impressed with the school and happy to have an option like BCA in the area, to provide an international standard of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Our son has been attending Bellevue Children's Academy for two years now and we are very satisfied with the school's philosophy and the education he is getting here. The small class size (maximum of 12 students in elementary school) is the most important factor for us. The accelerated education has also been a great fit for our son. Making the switch to BCA has been a huge confidence booster for him. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

A wonderful school, with caring, highly talented teachers and staff, with a curriculum that brings out the best in children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

We have been very happy with BCA. We like the small class size, wonderful teachers and high academic standards. Our kids also like all the other classes the school offers (drama, music, computers, p.e. and spanish). While the school seems to be going through some growing pains this year (the new building will be ready in the 2009-2010 school year), the staff and teachers have adapted very well and the children really do not seem to mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

Excellent school. Good, caring teachers, adavanced curriculum, *very* bright kids - I always enjoy their questions during Science and Cultural Fairs. On the minus side, you have the whole uniform-wearing spirit and what you might imagine comes with it. The director is what has made the school so successful, but I am a bit concerned that teachers are not allowed to participate in making some decisions where they should. As the school has been growing rapidly, I am worried how well will the cetralized decision making approach scale up. I already see signs that teachers are starting to show initiative, and that this is accepted by the principle, which is good. And, the school should get rid of the uniforms. I feel ashamed taking the kids outside the school in those - I don't think elitism is the way to go around here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

Has a great PreK and Kindergarten program. Would suggest for those who desire a structured program for younger students. They have a great teacher to student ratio which always for more one on one time. Caring, but strict teachers. They could use a better outside play area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

Good school. Academic accelerated. Each kid work on his/her own pace. Nice teacher. Very good principal. Wish they have more teaching material and better outdoor playing facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

Good school. Each kid learn based on his own pace. Good spanish teacher and music teacher. High academic standard. Art class and music class is okay. Should have more improvement on sports. I did not involve too much myself so don't know about parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 87% 7%
White 8% 60%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14600 Northeast 24th Street
Bellevue, WA 98007
Phone: (425) 649-0749

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Eton School
Bellevue, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT