Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
150 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Three Cedars Waldorf School continues to evolve rapidly, with a new Executive Director at its helm since the spring of 2011, and a renewed team of faculty and staff members. The school is engaged in a joint accreditation process with the Pacific Northwest Association of Independent Schools (PNAIS) and the Association of Waldorf Schools of North America (AWSNA), attesting to its solid programs, faculty, and plans for future developments. Our school has moved beyond the challenges of its early years, and our team of trained and experienced teachers effectively meet the needs of today's children and families with enthusiasm!
August 30, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Three Cedars Waldorf School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
We have had our 2 children at Three Cedars now for 3 and 5 years and couldn't wish for a better environment for them to develop and thrive. After some initial skepticism I've been very happy with my kids academic progress. Both enjoy going to school here (well, most days :-) ). The level of personal commitment from their teachers is stunning. It is great to see how much the teachers embrace the individual personalities of each individual student, while firm rules still make for a structured and productive learning environment. The recent merger with Seattle Waldorf School created a medium-size school system that should offer a broad variety of opportunities.

Three Cedars Waldorf School 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
I have had my children at this school for several years now. My attitude toward the school radically changed when I witnessed a teacher yelling at and shaming a child in front of the entire class. The teacher was unaware that I witnessed this incident and when I later initiated a meeting with the teacher and a mediator, the response from the school was to deny, justify and minimize the event. I will be removing my children from this school and I recommend that anyone considering this school find a different school for their children.


Three Cedars Waldorf School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
The students play outside in all kinds of weather. They must of course be dressed appropriately.

Three Cedars Waldorf School 2

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
The teachers really focus on songs and handicrafts, which is quaint, but they clearly have no education (or interest) in age-appropriate cognitive development or academics. I had heard rumors about the bullying that happened at some Waldorf schools, but seeing it in action was heartbreaking. After school, I frequently saw kids teasing other kids. One day, a boy was pushed down by his peers and they all dumped their water bottles on him. It was not a game, and they were not playing. The teacher stood right next to them and ignored it. The culture among the parents is very cliquish, and the administration is very secretive. They have a great deal of turnover in staff, especially in early childhood, and the emails they send to parents about it are always vague.

Three Cedars Waldorf School 5

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
Regarding academics, what I really appreciate about this school is that the focus is on teaching children how to learn. Here, they don't memorize facts, rather, they learn how to think, solve problems, collaborate and communicate. I think these are critical skills for not only their careers but for their lives. There is also a focus on other critical life skills, such as persistence and resilience by doing things such as having yearlong handwork projects starting in grade 1. Regarding administration and the health of the school, there has been increased rigor on teacher standards and administrative processes in recent years, which have all added, and continue to add, to the sustainability and well-being of the school and its students. We have been at the school for 5 years I feel really good about both the Waldorf approach and how this school embodies it. I think this school just gets better and better each year and I wholeheartedly recommend it.


Three Cedars Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
The administration has done a great job hiring very strong teachers. this has been a journey

Three Cedars Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
the emphasis is on play and integration in the early years so official homework starts in grade 4, which is appropriate in my opinion. don't confuse no homework with not learning!

Three Cedars Waldorf School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
As older kindergarten students prepare for grade 1, they spend months sanding their walking stick that they're use on the parade to mark this important transition. also, in grade 1 or 2, they spend months knitting their flute case which they're use for the rest of their years at TCWS.


Three Cedars Waldorf School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
each day begins and ends with each child greeting or thanking their teacher as they shake their hand. Wow!

Three Cedars Waldorf School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
they make small hand-made gifts for their classmates and they are guided to really think about the recipients interests.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Three Cedars Waldorf School
556 124th Ave NE, Bellevue, WA  98005
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (425) 401-9874
Last modified Three Cedars Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top