Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Americas Child Montessori

Private | PK-1 | 92 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bellevue

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

My son studied here for 3 yrs and now he is attending first grade at a public school. I have to say that his montessori years were the best. His teacher was Mr. Mike for the first two years and for kindergarten it was Miss Traci and both his teachers were excellent. Today he is a little bored at public school because he fares above average and I believe the credit for him being above avg. goes to his montessori teachers for giving him appropriate study work. Initially the montessori concept was very new to me but as days went by I began to appreciate it. Its more than just academics, kids learn to select their own work, that teaches them independence and builds up their confidence. He also took part in the after-school ballet, soccer class, which he immensely enjoyed. Ms Sarah is a very good ballet teacher. Plus, the school also offered art, music and spanish classes, all of which enriched my child. I'm very glad that I put my son in this school, no regrets, only praises ring!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I had a bad experience in the process of researching this school. I had an appointment with Linda that she didn't show for, and didn't seem apologetic about it afterwards. Michael was the person that I was speaking to, only after he was interrupted by another parent on the phone; I just thought that since I was there in person, I would be priority number one...at the end of the day I enrolled my child at the Issaquah Montessori School. I have no idea how well their actual program is run since I didn't give them a chance, but I feel I gave them a fair chance, and was disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

The school has some wonderful teachers but the administration is a bit of a wreck.. They are unorganized. The owner takes care of her baby Grand daughter at school and does not have the time to take care of business. Snack schedules are never posted in advance, everything is last minute with little notice, teachers quit because of the disorganization, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

This is the school that I would recommend to evry parent. Loving envorinment that encourges learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

I love this school. My child has been in enrolled in Americas Child for 2 years now and her academic growth has been amazing. All of the staff are so loving and help her deal with the seperation problems she experiences when I have to be gone on buisness trips. She is 5 now and is reading and writing and multiplying! Most importantly, she is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My child's experience has been an excellent one. She has been there for over 2 years now. The school came highly recommended from Microsoft parents. They have an excellent program and we love all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

I have had my daughter there since Pre-schhol and she is now in K. The teachers make all the difference in a school and she had an awesome teacher Miss Forozan and now its Miss Traci. The Director has a good listening ear and is very friendly. The school has 3 after school programs taught by very reputed institutions- Piano, Karate, Ballet for which you have to pay extra but saves me from taking my daughter to other places for the same classes. They have a big gym and huge playground (covered and open). My daughter has learnt a lot here and is definitely above average. I would recommend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

There is something fundemental wrong with this place. Director, teachers don't care much about your kid. Director/Owner wants to put more kids in each classes and teacher keep pushing back. Your children are the footballs. I stayed in class a couple times to evalue it. For some reason it always reminds me inmates. Kids and teacher all have poker faces on. slowly moving in the room while not sitting quitely. The teachers I observed were very impatient. I did not hear they repeat themselves to disipline kids. Kids should listen or be ignored. I heard that was the Montessori style(Don't interfere kids too much).You need to try it by yourself. Don't take my words for granted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My experience has been very poor, the teachers are not experienced to deal with children who are inquisitive and probing. They expect the kids to be super disciplined and don t follow an agenda specific to the child. The environment encourages children to show off toys by show and tell concept adding to the expenses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

My child has attended America's Child Montessori School for the past 2 1/2 years. Since she started she has become so much more confident and so much more willing to share her day with us. We now know what goes on during the day; she feels comfortable sharing it with us. We want our child to enjoy school; here at America's Child she does; she not only loves school, but she is learning so much. I would highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

America's Child Montessori is a very good school. Location of school is not the best. However, the teachers and program are awesome. My daughter was 2 1/2 when she joined the class. 8 months later, she is writing alphabets, reading characters and numbers, doing well at art and crafts. They celebrate all festivals. All the teachers create a loving environment for the children. School offers may additional programs such as ballet, piano, karate. Would recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 71% 7%
White 29% 60%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14340 Northeast 21st Street
Bellevue, WA 98007
Phone: (425) 641-5437

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dartmoor School
Bellevue, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT