Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
We've been thrilled with the dedication shown by the staff and how welcoming and involved the community is. People here truly love this school and the standards are very high but not to an unhealthy extreme. My child is still too young for cliques so I can't speak to the comment about them existing or not. Yes, this is in a somewhat affluent community but I've never encounted any outright snobbishness like I see regularly in west Bellevue. As for fundraising, I've never felt pressured to give more than I can afford but if anyone is to blame it is WA state for so pitifully underfunding our schools. Our PTA pays for class aides and computers with money raised, and without the generous giving by many, our school simply wouldn't be able to offer so much. The principal has very large shoes to fill next year and we'll reserve our judgement until then.

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with wonderful , caring teachers. There is a high percentage of parent involvement which benefits many students. Teachers and staff make much effort to reach all students , and help them grow to their fullest potential. The community is also invested in Cougar Ridge by supporting their fundraising events and being involved whenever possible. The community as a whole, understands the value of a good school and well rounded kids. My kids are not the smartest, most athletic, or well off financially, and you can find me in at school in sweats and beat up tennis shoes most days and we all LOVE Cougar Ridge and Cougar Ridge loves us.
1 person found this helpful


Cougar Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about this school. The principal and teachers are very good. The principal is retiring at the end of this school year, though, so there will be a change of leadership. The academics are rigorous and they hold the students to a high standard. The main reason that I give this school an "average" rating is because the families are elitist and snobby. The annual fundraiser is $100 a plate to attend. I have heard 4th graders ask "what kind of purse is that? Is it Coach?" Even the boys care what kind of shoes you wear and where you went on vacation. The students are cliqued up and are not welcoming of newcomers or others not in their clique, especially on the playground. There is an "edge" to them that borderlines on bully behavior. If you have an average student who isn't athetic, isn't super talented, isn't rich, or isn't gifted, your student will not flourish here. If you're a minivan flip-flop mom, you won't fit in either. There are other schools in Issaquah with equally strong academics that you should explore. Part of elementary school is learning how to treat others with empathy and develop character. Students here fall short in these areas.
1 person found this helpful

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
A wonderful school with an emphasis on excellence, community, and involvement. It has the feeling of a small school where everyone knows each other, including staff and teachers. The principal, Mrs. Tanner, is welcoming, engaging and simply amazing. There are so many activities for kids and families, including parent education, art classes, community dinners and other extracurriculars.

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
A fabulous school. Great teachers and staff. Everyone is 100% committed to the kids and making sure they have a positive learning environment. Teachers spend a lot of extra time to make sure the kids are learning at their highest possible level. Children also attend weekly classes in PE, Music, Library, Computer Science & Art (Art & Library are every other week). PTSA is very involved and funds lots of extras at the school.


Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Cougar Ridge benefits from outstanding teachers, involved families and a supportive district. Defines excellence.

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
excellent school in excellent neighborhood where parents are highly educated and very supportive. Smart and motivated kids. 5 stars for PTSA. 5th grade team are very competitive.

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is the best school in all of washington. My daughter has made friends with both boys and girls. They teach kids how to really connect and not to leave anyone out. This school os so inviting and loving we really are one big bobcat family.


Cougar Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cougar Ridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Cougar Ridge knows how to challenge academically bright children, of which there are many. My son's first grade experience was wonderful. His teacher really pushed the class, and he came out an 'expert' in many topics. Some of his peers in other classes didn't fare as well as there's one teacher who seems to rather be anywhere else but at school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cougar Ridge Elementary School
4630 167th Ave SE, Bellevue, WA  98006
(425) 837-7300
Last modified Cougar Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cougar Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top