Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
I can't imagine sending my children to a better school! The parental involvement is spectacular and the staff is incredibly dedicated. The classes sizes are good size (22-25) and they is such a strong sense of community among the Sockeyes. Any review without mention of Mr. Hamasaki would be shameful. I have never known a pricipal to give so much of his heart and soul to a school. He gives 200% to his kids and goes above and beyond. He is at every PTA activity and usually is dressed up. Every year the school celebrates Mr. Hamasaki day by wearing silly ties or WSU gear. Last year he hosted a reception at the district office for all the children who had artwork chosen to be displayed. He did that. He went out and bought cookies and punch, took their pictures and celebrated their success. He personally published a newsletter EVERY MONDAY with school news and pictures that he takes during the week. He knows every child by name and is a wonderful man!

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2012
- a parent
We love the school . My daughter don't want to leve the school and go for another school for 6th grade. She said i wish i stay and study till 10th. Me and my wife will recomond this school .


Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
I love this school! We may be moving to another state and I am heartsick over leaving Sunset. The principal, Mr. Hamasaki, is amazing and seems like he would do anything for his students. Parental involvement is incredible - 100% PTA participation for the school 9 years in a row. My first grade daughter has art, drama, library time, science and animal science (2 different programs that run simutaneously), computer lab, music, and P.E. as part of her regular curriculum. The teachers are amazing, supportive, talented and truly dedicated to their students. Reading the previous reviews from a few years ago, I don't recognize them as the school my daughter attends now. Kudos for the changes that have clearly taken place.
1 person found this helpful

Sunset Elementary School 2

Posted December 30, 2008
- a parent
Math curriculum has been changed/improved but a weak staff makes it still a below average program. Academic excellence is not demonstrated from the school leadership and the weak standards are evident throughout.

Sunset Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
Parental involvement is high because they are picking up the slack for a poor staff and curriculum. Math curriculum is very bad and Science is pitiful. School district pays lip service to not tolerating bullying, but there's no action.


Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2006
- a parent
Great educational program, however I wish they would add more ethnic diversity in their choice of history and literature to provide kids with a more global view.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2006
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
I am the parent of a former student (now HS freshman) attending school in NYS- we moved in 3rd grade...The bilingual program @ Sunset was fantastic and gave my daughter the opportunity to finish her NYS language grad requirment by 9th gr. - Looking back on the work it was some of the most challenging work she'd been asked to do....would highly recommend the program.


Sunset Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2006
- a parent
Sunset has strong partent involvement is constantly seeking ways to improve education.

Sunset Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a student
Sunset elementary employs great teachers as well as students. Many of the students do above average on the WASL and ITBS testing. After they graduate they go to Pine Lake Middle or Issaquah Middle.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Elementary School
4229 West Lake Samm Parkway SE, Bellevue, WA  98008
(425) 837-5600
Last modified Sunset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top