Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Highly structured with each teacher being of high quality and maintaining like standards. You can't go wrong here, every classroom is a 10! The Principal obviously has put her heart and soul into the school, and it shows! My child receives special help for language (speech therapy) and the therapist is current in new methods and very kind.

Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Columbia is an amazing community school and very strong on the academics. It makes me sad to see the negative reviews on here, but they are old reviews, so I feel the need to clear the air. Significant changes and improvements have obviously occurred and I've only seen thriving academics in my 5 years as a Columbia parent. The staff and parents work well together to educate the whole child: math, reading, writing, science, music, art, p.e.--you name it, these kids get it (with consistently high test scores). In addition to academics, their is a great emphasis on the Columbia Coho Commitments: Respect, Responsibility, Compassion, Perseverance, and Strive for Excellence. This school is producing fantastic students and citizens. Three cheers for Columbia!


Columbia Elementary School 4

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
We have been very happy at Columbia. The teachers have been great, and the school has received a "School of Distinction" award from the State the last 3 years. The children's reading scores are especially high. We've found the teachers to be kind, connected and smart. The PTA is very active, which allows the kids to do field trips, science fair, etc. Sometimes it does feel a little closed-in, so I back away for a while. All in all, we're grateful for the experience we've had at Columbia the past 5 years.

Columbia Elementary School 4

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
Columbia is a fine school with a personal touch. The Special ED program is great and the teacher gives the kids good basics in math, reading and writing. However I find that sometimes that parents there are much to envolved and are very pushy at the school. So of the parents just need to back off and let the teachers do their jobs.

Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted May 11, 2008
- a parent
This is a nice safe school but they do not have a good Special Ed program. They do not have any sort of idea on how to treat children with special needs and could learn a thing or two from some of the other schools in the area.


Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
A nice safe place but not a whole lot of academics. And by that I mean none. Lest you count pajama days as academic. Anyway, second grade was basically the same as K'garten so we decided to go elsewhere for third.

Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted March 25, 2007
- a parent
The kindergarten experience at Columbia was entirely disappointing. The teacher is disconnected, disorganized and self-centered. The parents are literally ignored and pushed away. The children are not greeted or approached warmly. We regularly are not told what is going on. It was a sad start to school. The first grade has had better communication, and a better teacher,but there is something ugly and unfriendly about that school. I wish we could afford an alternative.

Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
Because Columbia is a 'walking school' meaning no bussing, the parents are much more involved and you have a chance to really know all the kids and parents in your child's class. Other than that I really have nothing positive to say. Many teachers seem to do very little academic teaching, with way too much emphasis on free time, activities and fun time. Sure, learning should be fun, but we need a bit more learning going on here and some accountability to get kids up to grade level. Assessment too is very lax. My child was well below grade for reading and writing yet it never reflected in grading


Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted July 31, 2005
- a parent
A culture of no teacher accountability and minimal academic rigor - as reflected in consistently poor WASL scores.

Columbia Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2005
- a parent
Columbia is a warm and caring school with high parental involvement. There seem to be two types of teaching styles, Traditional and 'New', though you don't get a choice as to which one you'd like. This can be a problem if you have a child that would thrive in one of the distinct environments, and is placed in the other. We have a new principal that might even out the discrepancies between the two styles of teaching for each grade. Because of the active CPA and parental involvement, students are able to go on several field trips each year and enjoy interesting extracurricular activities from basketball clinics to drama club to FLAN, some at no cost. We love our neighborhood school and want to help make it more academic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia Elementary School
2508 Utter St, Bellingham, WA  98225
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (360) 676-6413
Last modified Columbia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top