Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shuksan Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 659 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2013

They have a new principal and he is great. Yes, the "make your day" was pretty bad, I hated it too. They have a thing called "think time" and it's WAY better than "make you day", you get plenty of warnings and you get to step out of the class room when you get one. It's a little embarrassing but to me, it's better than facing the wall at the back of the class room feeling embarrassed...All in all, this school is great, they also have Scholar assemblies where you win awards for things like, perfect attendance, pride, and many more. They some times even hand out t shirts with the awards. Most of the teachers are nice and help you out a lot. I especially liked this 7th grade teacher, others said she was strict and mean...she is alittle strict but she gets you prepared for the msp. I thank her for letting me receive my first 12/12 on the writing section of the msp. This school is great.


Posted June 20, 2011

Awful experience at this school. Can't wait for my child to go back to WMS after the fire reconstruction in the fall. The "Make Your Day" program is a wast of time not to mention a wast of funds to pay the MYD adult's job. Gum chewing? I had to go for a conference before my kid could go back to classes for gum chewing. Not challenging enough for bright kids (mine's an "A" student.) Too many low income families holding back the quick learners. Very sad for those kids. Most don't have family support at home. And to the comment on 10/13/10- they did not open their arms. It was always WMS and SMS. My child did not want to acclimate, and neigher did the friends. Oh, and my child didn't feel safe in the environment...lock downs, knives, fights, threats, disrespect to adults/others, graffiti. On the plus side, it's a new school and the rooms are large and bright. The cafeteria is too small. Student drop off and p/u is amazing, large parking lot and ease to move around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

They opened their arms to take in the kids that lost their middle school when Whatcom Middle School burned in a fire! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

Teachers? Some okay, some good, some bad Administration? Bad, bad, bad. (They ignore the students, and it makes me mad, how they don't think about our problems and beliefs. Blek, they make me gag) Extracurricular activities? Pretty Good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2009

I disagree with the parent who claimed there is a lack of extracurricular activities. There is a very active music program. Each grade - 6, 7 & 8 - has an active band and there is an orchestra made up of kids from each grade. There is a student leadership program, a drama club, a chess club, and the school participates in a creative writing program through the public library. Sixth grade students who excel in subjects such as math are bumped up into higher levels so that by the 7th and 8th grade they are taking high school level classes both at Shuksan and at Squalicum High. Isn't easy (and a cheap shot) to lay the blame on low-income and minority kids...my first and only question to parents who make these claims is 'when was the last time you volunteered at any activity at Shuksan?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I really had a very bad time at this school. As someone ese has said, all of the emphasis is put on the students with lower grades and the trouble students. I for one had alot of potential to grow alot as a person throughout middle school but was held back from that becuase we were put under such strict rules because of the group of students who wernt as ready to move foward. Also, the students who knew the school best, no matter how hard we tried by joing clubs like leadership, never really had a say in anything at all, and most of our ideas ended up being shut down. Overall, i would say that shuksan deffinetly needs alot of work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

As already mentioned, the administration at this school has created a very punitive and negative environment. They don't welcome parent (or student) input or involvement. The focus in the school is placed on low-achieving and problematic students. There are large low-income and minority populations, as compared to the rest of the school district, and the administration is clearly struggling with some of the issues these students bring with them to school. There isn't a lot to offer to students who excel academically and who use appropriate behavior and follow school rules. It's all stick, and no carrot. The extra curricular activities are all sports; no art, book clubs, anime groups, music, drama, etc. Very disappointing. Some teachers, on the other hand, are excellent and are doing the best they can given the circumstances at the school. Overall, we not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

this school is very organised and the teachers, counclers,and the principal, Mr.Mark make it so that you want to go to school. Because they all make it fun while learning a great deal of things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2008

I recieved great support from teachers and counselors from this school but wasnt too satisfied with the assistant principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

The teachers and vice principal at this school are so negative that you can feel it when you walk in the building. If you walk the hallways, you can hear the teachers yelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I have a child with special needs and although his needs require less 'extra' help from the teaching staff than other students, my son was never pushed aside when help was needed. He went to school before with a sense of dread and a feeling of being less than, stupid. My son was encouraged beyond belief and I feel that he learned more in one school year than he had learned in all of his previous years combined! The teaching staff of Shuksan Middle School is one of the best that we have ever encountered. We have had our children in privet schools, other public schools, and schools overseas. Discipline is handled in the utmost professional manner and the safety of the students is clearly number one both on and off campus. The open door policy with each member of the staff is a large contributing factor for its success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female49%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Low income29%
Not low income67%
Special education3%
Not special education50%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income58%
Not low income93%
Special education28%
Not special education78%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income44%
Not low income67%
Special education9%
Not special education61%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female72%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian57%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income58%
Not low income75%
Special education16%
Not special education74%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female76%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income59%
Not low income75%
Special education25%
Not special education72%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female50%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asian68%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income38%
Not low income58%
Special education13%
Not special education50%
Limited English12%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female76%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian69%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income57%
Not low income79%
Special education21%
Not special education72%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female66%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian68%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income51%
Not low income80%
Special education13%
Not special education69%
Limited English12%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial85%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Low income80%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 60%
Hispanic 25% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 111%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 265%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2713 Alderwood Ave
Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 676-6454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Paul's Academy
Bellingham, WA




Whatcom Middle School
Bellingham, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT