Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silver Beach Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Our son has been in Silver Beach since K. He is now in fourth grade and loves it. Every year has been with the "best" teacher, but the other day he told me the year is going by "too fast." Mr. Zigulis is an excellent teacher. He really cares for his students and tries to help them through any context. He deserves high KUDOS. Our son hopes he will move to fifth grade for next year so he can continue with him. He is learning so much and has grown in maturity as well. THANK YOU, Mr Zigulis.

Silver Beach Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
I have had a child at this school for 10+ years. In the last few years, the quality of this school has gone down. I think a lot of that has to do with the leadership of the school. Since the current principal took over, the mood around school has always been a little negative. You see it in the staff, you see it in the morning help, you see it on the playground. The volunteers are rude to parents and students alike, as well as the front office staff is rude and very curt when it comes to parent interaction.


Silver Beach Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers and a wonderful principal. She has made a lot of changes for the good. I have had a child in the school from K to now 3rd grade. Wouldn't be at any other school.

Silver Beach Elementary School 1

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
The principal of this school is out of her league. I will agree the first year was good, but its been downhill ever since. I am soooooo glad my kids do not attend this poorly run and dilapidated old school anymore.

Silver Beach Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
I agree the new principal is great. The teachers seem to really appreciate the support she provides. Reading and writing skills are very well taught - excellent. Math skills instruction is very good but is an area that could use some improvement. This does not mean math is bad here just weaker than other areas and not quite as focused. I have two kids who go here. Best view of the lake from the playground! Highest recommend.


Silver Beach Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is outstanding. The new principal has made all the difference. The teachers were already amazing but with her support and leadership this has become an exceptional school.

Silver Beach Elementary School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
my student is not getting the help she needs in math they just move on to hardder math she lost

Silver Beach Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2011
- a parent
We moved from CA specifically so our children could attend this school. Our oldest attended all 6 years and we have a 4th grader now. I love the sense of community the school offers, the personal support systems and the AMAZING teachers! Both of my children read far above grade level and have been greatly encouraged by staff and a wonderful librarian. I would highly recommend this elementary above all others in Whatcom County.


Silver Beach Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, however it is a well known fact the Principal lacks leadership and decision making skills. The school is great because of the teaching staff and parents. With better direction, it could be sooooo much better!

Silver Beach Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Lots of internal problems that affect school atmosphere - new leadership needed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silver Beach Elementary School
4101 Academy St, Bellingham, WA  98226
(360) 676-6443
Last modified Silver Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silver Beach Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top