Advertisement
Advertisement

Bellingham Cooperative School

Private | PK-3, 5-7 | 24 students

We are best known for ourmulti-age classroom and inclusive environment.

 

Living in Bellingham

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2010

I love how they emphasize social responsibility - on a small scale as well as a bigger one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Bellingham Cooperative School does teaching in the way I think schools should - joining book-learning with real-life learning.


Posted April 21, 2010

It's a wonderful resource for children and their families. It helps meet the individual needs of children in a nurturing, hands-on environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My daughter attended with me as I taught, growing up in the school from age 9mo. to 13. It's a small community school with a nurturing staff that is dedicated to meeting the needs of each and every unique student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

It is a wonderful alternative to the tradtional view of schooling. The Addministrator is wonderful with the kids.


Posted April 20, 2010

Because it helps benefit the children and families in our community.


Posted March 2, 2009

Great school! We all know that good parenting can make great kids...but great teachers with calm, cool, but insightful perspective help make better kids. I sent my kids to preschool here inspite of a more traditional midwestern background and thank myself often.....what a great staff....lots of brains,creativity, love and happiness. A must for hardworking families that are looking for a creative solution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

This is an amazing place- unconventional, quirky at first, but man, your child will shine, grow, engage and feel so loved here. It allows for learning to be interactive instead of force fed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I can't say enough good things about the Bellingham Cooperative School. My daughter began attending when she was five; she is now nine, and loves school and learning just as much as the day she arrived. The fabulous school grounds (three acres!) are a delight; the teachers are dedicated, skilled and truly child-centered; the structured yet relaxed approach to education is everything I could wish for. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

Both of my boys attended BCS for the full duration of their elementary years. During these years of schooling my primary interest for my sons was to gain a strong appreciation for learning, a good foundation for understanding how to pursue learning important to oneself, and most importantly to grow with a strong sense of personal values and a healthy self-esteem. BCS was an excellent choice for all three of these goals. BCS was successful in partnering with our parenting to develop inherent appreciation in our boys for themselves and the value of community. Now 17 and 22 they are both highly successful in their endeavors and I credit their experience at BCS as a strong component in this success. If you want to grow a healthy, happy, and successful child, BCS is a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 64%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Heidi J Alford
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • We walk students from Columbia
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Provide snacks
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Our kids learn "You can't say you can't play" on the first day of school. We emphasize cooperation, inclusion and non-violent communication. We blend child direction and teacher guidance to meet the children's needs.We were established in 1969.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
12
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
20

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$0 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1207 Ellsworth
Bellingham, WA 98225
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 201-7915

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Whatcom Middle School
Bellingham, WA




Cedar Tree Montessori
Bellingham, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT