Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
For what they teach it seems the kids learn what they wan them to know. I don't think it really prepares them for the reality of public high school or how to function in that setting.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
It depends upon the grade level your child is in. The lower grades don't get homework until the 3rd grade.


Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
What can I say? Maybe persistence because of the knitting, and memorization of poetry and such.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
My son's class was full of mouthy kids that disrespected the teacher and other adults. The idea from the parents that paid full tuition is that they pay good money thus, this is the teacher's fault. The teachers are treated like the hired help by full tuition paying parents.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not! I think that there are individual teachers that try to instill this but when you are not an example of this to other adults, teachers, staff and to people with disabilities or low income the children grow up to be like the adults they see.


Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
I think they sell the idea of honesty, integrity and fairness but they do not lead by adult example.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School 1

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
At first I was taken by all the hype about the school. I believed the lie. I really fell for the illusion they present of a community that cares about and nurtures children in a safe environment. The problem is that under the illusion there is a lot of back biting among the staff and a gate keeper mentality. Under the illusion of community and a desire for economic diversity there is class-ism. Under the illusion of acceptance there is discrimination and ableism. I promise that if your child has a intellectual or learning disability they will push your child off on the public school for services which negates the whole purpose of going there or they will deny them admissions because "they cannot serve the child" or they believe "the child's disabilities will distract from the other children". The truth is that non of the teachers hold real education degrees. They go to Steiner College and only know that style of teaching and theories of learning. The gate keepers do not want intellectual diversity and abide in ableism. They talk out of both sides of their mouth when confronted about this issue. I pulled my son out of there when they denied a high functioning autistic child admission based on the fact that she could not count to ten verbally and refused to test her so that the child could show that she could count in writing. They want all the children to fit into their ideal Waldorf child. Thus, if you cannot count to ten verbally but can write your numbers to 100 you will be denied admission by the gate keepers. I do not recommend this school if you want your child to grow up to be emphatic to those that are different than the IDEAL WALDORF CHILD.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School 5

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Whatcom Hills for two years now. We are thrilled with the school. Our child loves it. It is a magical place. There is a lot of work involved for the parents but I think it is well worth it. I don't think there is any school with 100% parent satisfaction but I am very happy with the school and so is my child. The teachers really seem to care about the school and its students. They may be going through some changes and even dropped some classes but do they really need TWO foriegn languages? They do still have woodworking and many other "extra" classes you wont find in public schools.


Whatcom Hills Waldorf School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
I've been a parent at this school for four years and I've noticed a clear deterioration of the school in general and the teaching in particular. Constant talk of financial difficulties and reduced programs combined with low teacher morale show signs of rapidly deteriorating organization. There seems to be no clear future and extremely low morals. This will be my last year.

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
I noticed that several of the positive reviews are the EXACT SAME review as the Seattle Waldorf school. Is it possible that theses positive reviews are actually seeded. Could a school stoop that low?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whatcom Hills Waldorf School
941 Austin Street, Bellingham, WA  98229
(360) 733-3164
Last modified Whatcom Hills Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Whatcom Hills Waldorf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top