Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
322 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
As proud parents of a Kindergartner at St Paul's Academy and a preschooler at Little Epistles, we are very thankful for the positive environment offered to our kids. From the comprehensive curriculum of science, math, languages, reading and writing to class structure, spiritual enrichment, and community involvement, our kids get to experience it all. More importantly, these skills and programs are offered early on at Little Epistles and make for a smooth and seamless transition to Kindergarten. We have seen our kids flourish and grow, make meaningful connections and learn important skills that they will carry with them for years to come!

St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted December 31, 2015
- a community member
How do you know that your choice in a new school is the right one for your child? For us, the answer comes every day at pickup - there is a huge smile on my fourth grader’s face and the repeated words “I love school.” That’s what St. Paul’s Academy gives us. St. Paul’s strives to help children become “successful citizens” by offering small classroom sizes, an academically challenging curriculum that includes twice weekly Music, Art, Spanish, Library, P.E. and Chapel (based on non-denominational Christian values.) In addition, community outreach activities are emphasized whether it be bringing baskets of apples to the neighbors in the fall or participating in Bellingham’s annual Ski to Sea parade in the spring. My fourth grader loves the after school enrichment activities which include sports, robotics, art and chess. In the Lower School, teaching is approached on a team basis - 2 teachers per grade level. This, combined with the small class size, allows children to get individualized attention and allow the teachers to really get to know their students. But beyond the academics is the sense of community and caring by all the staff at St. Paul’s. From the School Directors to the Instructional Assistants, each and every one will know your child by name and will be there to motivate and cheer on your child through their academic journey. A school day does not end without a hug from a teacher or an administrator. We transferred from one of the top ranking public school districts in the State of Washington and there is no comparison either academically or in cooperative spirit. St. Paul’s Academy has the vision to see the success in each and every child and offers them the tools necessary to guide them there.


St. Paul's Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
There is one teacher at the upper school who we would like to thank. Our decision to continue with High School at St. Paul's Academy was due in large part to the dedication and genuine concern that this teacher shows for all of the high school students. He goes above and beyond to push the definitions, rules, and procedures that were part of the middle school culture and ensure that the high school students are connected as a community and feel a separate identity as high school students. He empowers them to be their own advocates to voice their needs and wants to the administration, while modeling the way to navigate the system in a positive and polite way. His leadership and guidance in the classroom and as an advisor was a huge influence on our decision to stay in the high school program. Thank you!

St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
We love St. Paul's Academy! This is our 5th year at St. Paul's Academy, and our experience seems to get better and better every year! The instructors are amazing and talented and truly show their passion for teaching. The small class sizes mean that the teachers really get to know my children's strengths and challenge areas. We feel like we are a part of a community that really cares about each family, not just each student. We celebrate each other's victories and help each other through life's challenges. Our kids are learning to be caring and empathetic because of the great examples all around them. I know when they leave they will be well prepared for their academic future and ready to embark on life as a responsible and caring adult and citizen.

St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
We are thrilled and proud to be a part of the St. Paul's community. This school prioritizes academic excellence and nurturing the individual child and the best part--all staff members, including administrators, are actively involved in making this goal a reality!


St. Paul's Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
St. Paul's Academy exemplifies everything we wanted in a school. The class sizes are small to allow for individualized instruction and attention, the administrators have a very open door policy to allow parents to voice any concerns, and the community is simply outstanding! We are familiar with all of the private schools in town and St. Paul's Academy stands out amongst the rest! It was an absolute joy for us to watch our son thrive and grow this past year.

St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a teacher
St. Paul's is an amazing community to belong to. Our students care about their communities and are well supported by all staff members and families to "think big" about the positive impact they can make in the world. Our families are supportive and encouraging, welcoming new families through social and academic events. I am PROUD to be a teacher in this inspiring school!

St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, you always want the best possible environment for your child. We considered every option when choosing a school for our now-kindergarten son. St Paul's stood out to us for their engaged staff, solid curriculum and emphasis on supporting the whole family, not just the child. Four months into the school year, we could not be more pleased. Our son is thriving on every level. He leaps out of the car every morning, eager to learn and be challenged. Thanks to the small class size, his teacher is able to work with him in small groups, and adjust the work to fit his specific needs. Our son has become part of the community at St Paul's - it warms my heart to walk through the school with him and see him greeted by administrators, teachers and students from other grades. We can't imagine a better place for our son or for our family than St. Paul's, and we're grateful every day that we made this choice!


St. Paul's Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of a Kindergartener at St. Paul's and I have been so impressed with the school so far! The teachers are incredible! Not only do both of the kindergarten teachers really understand my son and work daily to help him grow academically, emotionally and socially, they are also very transparent, caring and willing to discuss my concerns and questions at any time. My son comes home daily saying how much he loves school and is so excited about what he has learned. My son had no interest in learning to read before kindergarten and has already begun basic reading after only 3 months... the best part is that his teacher is as excited about it as he and I are! Socially they do a great job of working with the kids to teach them how to resolve disputes and always address situations ASAP, they actually have a weekly class on feelings and how to handle emotionally laden situations. My son has a peanut allergy and they entire school has been so supportive and I really feel like they are all looking out for him. He is so proud to call St. Paul's his school!

St. Paul's Academy 2

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Teachers push a curriculum that is way too hard for kids to actually understand, and the students are spoiled rich brats, and they're bullies. Don't send your kid here. Its a bad school inside.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Paul's Academy
1509 Victor Street, Bellingham, WA  98225
(360) 733-1750
Last modified St. Paul's Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
St. Paul's Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top