Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Bellingham, WA
Students enrolled: 1,111
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bellingham High School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
An admin that encourages student leadership, an efficient & friendly front office staff (which cannot be underestimated), and a solid community of coaches, teachers, parents, and students work together at BHS to build what I have observed to be an extraordinary experience for students. BHS has competent & approachable teachers. Some are even the best of the best (motivating, scholarly, hard-working, dedicated, respected, etc.). Students seem to really love this school & being on its campus. After school, the campus is still a buzz with students involved in sports, music, theatre, performance groups, clubs, decorating the school, etc. The sense of school pride & spirit is rich and the students should be proud of themselves for inspiring this attitude & atmosphere. Parents are also a joint part of the landscape. They regularly volunteer & support various fundraisers, activities, and events. BHS parents are especially supportive of the arts. The admin does not patronize or minimize the concerns of its students (or parents). Instead admin encourages student leadership and for students to take ownership of their education & campus. No school is perfect, but BHS easily gets 5 stars.

Bellingham High School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I don't recommend this high school unless you are prepared to completely conform to their ideologies and cheer along. The administration doesn't know how to deal with real problems and real people. They have some very nice teachers, but also some awful ones. The current principal has a number of backward and intolerant attitudes, even flaunting rejection of best education practices in some subjects by virtue of support from a kind of "hoi polloi" element. Key individuals in guidance and placement are highly immature,with poor grasp of important developmental issues, and play a lot of destructive and dishonest games with serious matters affecting families and students' futures, making life very unpleasant at times for students and quite worrisome for parents. If you are looking for an overall reflective & democratic environment with fair minded, egalitarian thinkers who truly put students before their petty politics and overgrown egos, look elsewhere. Attention to college application issues is poor.


Bellingham High School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
We love BHS! This school has TONS of school spirit. The teachers and staff are simply fantastic. The use of technology is terrific. Our teachers care so much and do all they can for the students. I can't think of a better high school than this!

Bellingham High School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a student
it's the best school ever they have great teachers and this is the best freshmen year ever go bellingham

Bellingham High School 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a community member
I could not ask to attend a better high school. The building is clean, the teachers do their very best to create a good learning environment, our priciple is AMAZING, the athletics may not have the best coaches but the school spirit is incredible, even the lunch food is good. With academics: you get what you put in. The techers and counselors will definitely support you. I love this school and will be sad to leave it.


Bellingham High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
We have the best principal in the history of the universe, and lots of great teachers who are very charismatic.

Bellingham High School 5

Posted November 25, 2008
- a student
its an amazing school. i couldnt be more happier to be going here. =]

Bellingham High School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a student
The principal, Steve Clarke, of Bellingham is friends with everyone. He is the most inspiring man, and all of the students look up to him. Freedom is a major concept - kids don't abuse their rights of off campus lunches and breaks. As a freshman, it helps me become more independent and I cherish my walks through the colorful strips of resturaunts downtown. Respect for other schools remains strong, and games against other schools are clean without any verbal or cruel comments. All you can see is red at stadiums. There is a range of different types of people who go there, so it's so effective to how I think about people in general. There isn't any cliques. It's like a big family there. Even though the school is huge, there is so many oppurtunites there and an endless list of choices for electives and classes. Go there.


Bellingham High School 3

Posted January 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bellingham High School 1

Posted January 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bellingham High School
2020 Cornwall Ave, Bellingham, WA  98225
(360) 676-6575
Last modified Bellingham High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bellingham High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top