Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Creek Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 634 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

My child attends First Grade at Canyon Creek Elementary. The only time the class teacher has spent time reading with my kid was when she is grading. On most occasions, the reading classes are conducted by parents and grandparents. I am hoping to take this into account when Northshore School District asks me to vote for the MASSIVE tax levy that is up for vote in early 2014.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

Run from the state of WA. Great Schools website has been a complete disappointment by not having up to date information. WA will just start to implement Common Core in the next 2 years. NSD is over over crowded. Canyon Creek Fernwood and Kokanee are all at 800 kids expected in the next year, which means your Kindergartener and probably 1st grader will be bused elsewhere in the district. And they want a new high school to correct this problem. Canyon Creek has a library where the computers are not turned on for the kids to use, the computers are not used in the classrooms because there are too many kids with too many discipline issues and academics are redundant and low level for most kids. Run from NSD and the state of WA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

I totally agree with the most recent post. The school is very crowded and the curriculum is too easy. We have two children they and both complain they are doing the same things they have already done. When I drop off and pick up, I feel overwhelmed due to the mass of kids running around and the chaos. I can only imagine how my kids feel. I am not impressed at all by the WA schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

My boys attended this school for 4 years and I'm so glad we moved out of state and left this school. Very overcrowded! Had up to 780 students when we left! The staff is worn out and the curriculum is so pathetic and easy. My kids are finally being challenged at their new school. I do have to say one positive thing is that the music teachers and PE teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Very crowded school. Since school started, I have been trying to get time to discuss some specific needs of my child with the class teacher. The class teacher has been unresponsive even after many attempts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

My family has been part of hte Canyon Creek Community for 7 years now and I have been a active parent in the school. The parent involvement/PTA is strong at the school and they have done many things for the school(new playground equip, microscopes and many fund-raising functions and events for the kids). Melissa Ford is an amazing teacher who is great with the students and quite relaxed unless there is a need. Barbara Pope is a strong teacher who teaches 2nd grade, provides a strong foundation for the students and participates in many school activities such as Coyote Scholars(students tutoring program), Student Council and Track. We are fortunate to have both of these ladies teaching at Canyon Creek along with many other wonderful faculity members. Personally, I have done alot in my life to stay grounded at this school for the teachers that have been here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

In my sons 5th grade year, he was humiliated by his teacher in front of his peers to the point of him begging me to homeschool him, which I did after talking to the principal and reporting it to the super! That teacher took his science project and held it up in front of the class and said This is what not to do! I have never seen him so upset. All it takes is one parent to stand up to these types of things. Parents need to speak out! I think I heard that teacher no longer teaches there. Hopefully that is true. Parents, always ask your kid how their day was and what happened. It's so important in todays schools! I homeschooled my son for the following three years and he is now a freshman at Skyview. I have a child in kindergarten at Canyon Creek now and so far, I really like her teacher. He is amazing. But I still ask her every day how school was and I will the rest of the time she is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

I am shocked by some of these reviews. My son has been at Canyon Creek since 1st grade, he is in 5th now and we have had nothing but great luck with the teachers....I have never met more kind, enthusiastic and committed people. Including and especially the teachers one of the parents mentions. My son had both, and I cant say enough good about these teachers. Canyon Creek is an excellent school with excellent teachers....more parent involvement would make it even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

My son had a terrible experience during 5th grade. He said that a teacher (who wasn't even his own teacher) named Mrs. Ford was intimidating his for no apparent reason, and threatened for practically no reason at all. I am not sure if she still teaches at the school, but hopefully she is gone. As a last note, avoid placing your child in Mrs. Pope's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My son is a 4th-grader at Canyon Creek. Last year he also had a bullying teacher. We talked to the principal but guess what, the principal took the teacher's side. He said he sat in my son's class and he didn't see the teacher bully any student. Does he think that the teacher is going to bully the students in front of him? As a result of that, my son's confidence was totally destroyed and had repeatedly asked me to home-school him. However, this year he has a wonderful teacher who is very loving and patient with her students. My son's confidence has been restored and he is a much happier person now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

Tried to work with teachers and principal, but weren't able to correct some major issues with two bullying teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

My kid started at Kindergarten level, and we find this school needs some major improvement: (1) Like some other parents have pointed out, the Math and Science teaching needs to be challenging. For science they taught how to drop menthol tablets into coke and create fizz rocket. Remember, this was taught to kindergarten kids. (2) While in the playground, my kid felt sick and was asked to walk to the nurse's office, all alone! This happened within 4 weeks after joining the school and we would expect the school to implement safety procedures to prevent new kids from walking around unsupervised, especially when they are in kindergarten level. (3) The nurse seemed to ask some odd questions to our kid, and we are in the process of investigate the details. (4) We were surprised to learn that the classes are segregated at various levels. One class has predominance of boys (18 boys, 6 girls) and other has more girls. Whatever happened to maintaining ratio that reflects society?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Canyon Creek is incredible; i am a parent and volunteer in many different fields of the school, and am just amazed at how much each and every teacher, staff member, and principal care, nuture, and set high standards for the students - our children. The kids get excited to go to school, and we are so impressed at how much they learn....not only academics, but also in the arts,music, physical education and technology...my kids are building robots from scratch, learning math by real application, aquiring organization and detailed reseach skills, my sixth grader is even writing her own resune! AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

Canyon Creek's academic standard is not high enough. The teachers are highly qualified but they don't challenge the students enough. Level of parent involvement is low. However, they do have quality music programs to offer. School playground needs to be improved to make it safer for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

My daughter goes to Canyon Creek and is in Mrs Haaland's class. She is the best teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

Wonderful school! My daughter goes to Kindergarten , mrs. barb Haaland's class and she is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female72%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income56%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female86%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income81%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income60%
Not low income74%
Special education21%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female86%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income66%
Not low income86%
Special education36%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female71%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income54%
Not low income72%
Special education14%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income59%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income82%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income65%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income72%
Not low income83%
Special education46%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income86%
Not low income87%
Special education55%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 7%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 210%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21400 35 Ave SE
Bothell, WA 98021
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 408-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT