Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crystal Springs Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 93 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

So, we have been at tis school for 7 years now and have 6 still to go between our 3 kids. I love this school. The teachers and staff are excellent and have come to know me and my kids well. They really take the time to get to know the students and do their best to make each child's education the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

We moved here from out of state last year and my 2nd and 5th grader felt very welcome at their new school. I was really pleased with the principle and the teachers. They are constantly trying to improve. I have helped in the classroom, talent show, and multiple school functions. All are run very organized with the children's education and safety at the fore front!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

I LOVE Crystal Springs! And I LOVE our new Dynamic Duo at the helm!! My son had a ROUGH kindergarten year 2 years ago and under different principal supervision, things didn't turn round until the 11th hour. What I like best about our new principal/vp duo is that they work HARD to ensure they are in the mix at the first signs of trouble. They believe in working with the student having issues, the student causing issues, the teacher and the parents. They would rather NOT suspend kids or give them detention, rather they strive to find positive solutions that meet everyone's needs while still keeping the childrens' dignity in tact. They are all about making school a safe, fun and education place that kids WANT to come to! I look forward to my final 4 years here! I hope the principals at Skyview and Bothell are as dedicated to their kids as our principals are!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

My kids came home last year telling me they had the "coolest principals ever!" When I asked why, they said it was because their principals would come out to recess every week and play with them -- jump roping, making pet rocks, making cards and other arts & crafts, playing foursquare, and just hanging out with them. I was so impressed. I don't know any other schools where the principals take time during recess lunches to spend the whole time with the kids. I learned that our principals also do a coffeehouse every Friday from 9:15-9:45 where the principal would offer up coffee and meet with parents. After the first one I attended, I was hooked! Not only did she talk about certain topics (the new high school, her zero tolerance on bullying and what they do to stop it, what it means to be a Title 1 school, etc.) but she would open the floor to the parents! She would ask us we have any issues, concerns, suggestions and nothing was off-limits to talk about. I truly believe in our new administration and their desire to better our school, our kids' education and experience. I hope they are both around for years to come... and I hope they continue with the lunch & coffeehouse activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

Crystal Springs Elementary is top-notch! My children have attended here since 2007 & I have always been impressed and pleased by the administration and especially the teachers. These are teachers who passionately love kids & want to see them grow and succeed. I am so glad this is our home school...I wouldn't trade it for any other!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

My School is Crystal Springs Elementary in Bothell, WA. My daughter has attended this school for the last 5 years. I can not say enough good things about the staff, teachers and parent helpers. Each and every teacher my daughter has had, is exceptional. Thank you for all your support with my daughter. Her education would not be the same with out CSE Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2014

The kids at this school are nothing but self entitled rude bullies. My child was also attacked on the bus, punched in the back of the head but no one from the school ever contacted me & nothing was done to the child as far as I know, they continued to harrass my child at school, I called the principal and left a message I NEVER RECIEVED A CALL BACK. The ladies in the front office are very nice, helpful, the bus driver is nice and always gives out stickers. The school is clean and well maintained. Some of the teachers and staff lack skills needed to run a school and manage that many children happily. BASICALLY THE PRINCIPLE IS WORTHLESS when a problem arises between students, my kids never complained about their other school, and now they both (K & 6th grade)constantly complain about this one and are now so unhappy which wasn't an issue before, be prepared for drama and no support from the staff, we will not be attending next year as they are also sending all Kindergarteners to another school so my 2 little ones won't be going to the same schools, this school really needs to GET IT TOGETHER so b i th children and parents can feel safe and happy while attending Crystal Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My daughter went here for a short time for kindergarten , they suspended her two times for "being excited" (keep in mind she is in kindergarten). The principle and assistant principle have no experience what so ever as administrators! Which was told to me by the school district office when I filed a complaint. My daughter learned nothing at this school (she is a very bright apple). Amazingly, a couple of months after switching her to a new school, she can read, write , do math and is very happy to go to school every day. Now that my daughter is not stressed out about going to school and not worried about dealing with the horrible staff and teachers that she used to have to deal with, she can actually focus on learning like a child should. The principle and assistant principle at Crystal Springs should be fired and or demoted immediately. This school almost destroyed a child's first year of education which sets the tone for the rest of their lives. This school has the worst principle and assistant principle. This school has a high turnover rate for staff and almost every staff member at this school has a horrible attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Many of the teachers have been at Crystal Springs close to their entire careers - once they work at our school they don't want to leave. The families and the teachers are wonderful and almost everyone attends the PTA events & parties. My children are thriving at Crystal Springs and love going to school. I would highly recommend Crystal Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

We tried hard to like this school. Between the staff, the trashy parents, and the principal we were sorely disappointed. Our child was consistently given teaching staff with little or no interest in actually educating children, and most seemed well past the burnout stage. With one parent as an educator we were astounded at how poorly the school is supplied and equipped, how low the academic requirements are, how many parents seem more interested in themselves than their child, and how the staff required lots of goodies and recognition for a performance that was mediocre at best. This school is strongly indicative of what is wrong with the American education system in general and Washington State in particular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

this is a wonderful example of a great community school. The teachers are so committed to our childre, many have taught all of their career at Crystal Springs! Test scores continue to improve even as the diversity of the school grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

The staff at the school was amazing when we transfered from a differant school mid-year. They were accommadating and helpful. I am so glad we decided to move! My son loves his teacher and I have seen him grow leaps and bounds academically in the 3 short months he has been there. We are very impressed and extremely happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

Everyone is friendly, professional, and totally child centered.


Posted November 1, 2008

The before and after care is amazing and her teacher is great! this is her first year of school but we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Crystal Springs is an awesome community of teachers & faculty, students and parents. The PTA is active and positive with lots of fun events like a Back to School BBQ, Bingo, Talent Show and Ice Cream Social. Parental involvement could be higher, but the principal and staff are very supportive of the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Great teachers, parent involvement a little lacking
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female65%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income45%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income66%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income32%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income72%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female80%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income60%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female77%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income46%
Not low income89%
Special education33%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income67%
Not low income91%
Special education42%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female83%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income55%
Not low income93%
Special education42%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income60%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income60%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 60%
Hispanic 18% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 7%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Black 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 110%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21615 9 Ave SE
Bothell, WA 98021
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 408-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT