Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crystal Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I love Crystal Springs- after moving here from the east coast it is definitely a more welcoming community. The principal is very kind and involved, and all the teachers have been fantastic to work with - there are some true gems. Looking at this year's group I saw limited if not zero turnover. The community came together to recently replace the playground- it's a diverse community so a great environment for little ones to enter into and learn diversity first hand. But it's a middle to upper middle class area, demographics have shifted so I have seen even more support come into the school in just the past year. I think parent involvement in the PTA could improve, but in classrooms there is quite a bit. The PTA runs the art program and there is a parent volunteer in every classroom running the curriculum each month! It's a Title 1 School but you would never know- it's extremely diverse and just a great community of working families.

Crystal Springs Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
So, we have been at tis school for 7 years now and have 6 still to go between our 3 kids. I love this school. The teachers and staff are excellent and have come to know me and my kids well. They really take the time to get to know the students and do their best to make each child's education the best it can be.


Crystal Springs Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
We moved here from out of state last year and my 2nd and 5th grader felt very welcome at their new school. I was really pleased with the principle and the teachers. They are constantly trying to improve. I have helped in the classroom, talent show, and multiple school functions. All are run very organized with the children's education and safety at the fore front!

Crystal Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
I LOVE Crystal Springs! And I LOVE our new Dynamic Duo at the helm!! My son had a ROUGH kindergarten year 2 years ago and under different principal supervision, things didn't turn round until the 11th hour. What I like best about our new principal/vp duo is that they work HARD to ensure they are in the mix at the first signs of trouble. They believe in working with the student having issues, the student causing issues, the teacher and the parents. They would rather NOT suspend kids or give them detention, rather they strive to find positive solutions that meet everyone's needs while still keeping the childrens' dignity in tact. They are all about making school a safe, fun and education place that kids WANT to come to! I look forward to my final 4 years here! I hope the principals at Skyview and Bothell are as dedicated to their kids as our principals are!!

Crystal Springs Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
My kids came home last year telling me they had the "coolest principals ever!" When I asked why, they said it was because their principals would come out to recess every week and play with them -- jump roping, making pet rocks, making cards and other arts & crafts, playing foursquare, and just hanging out with them. I was so impressed. I don't know any other schools where the principals take time during recess lunches to spend the whole time with the kids. I learned that our principals also do a coffeehouse every Friday from 9:15-9:45 where the principal would offer up coffee and meet with parents. After the first one I attended, I was hooked! Not only did she talk about certain topics (the new high school, her zero tolerance on bullying and what they do to stop it, what it means to be a Title 1 school, etc.) but she would open the floor to the parents! She would ask us we have any issues, concerns, suggestions and nothing was off-limits to talk about. I truly believe in our new administration and their desire to better our school, our kids' education and experience. I hope they are both around for years to come... and I hope they continue with the lunch & coffeehouse activities.


Crystal Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
Crystal Springs Elementary is top-notch! My children have attended here since 2007 & I have always been impressed and pleased by the administration and especially the teachers. These are teachers who passionately love kids & want to see them grow and succeed. I am so glad this is our home school...I wouldn't trade it for any other!

Crystal Springs Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
My School is Crystal Springs Elementary in Bothell, WA. My daughter has attended this school for the last 5 years. I can not say enough good things about the staff, teachers and parent helpers. Each and every teacher my daughter has had, is exceptional. Thank you for all your support with my daughter. Her education would not be the same with out CSE Staff!

Crystal Springs Elementary School 2

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
The kids at this school are nothing but self entitled rude bullies. My child was also attacked on the bus, punched in the back of the head but no one from the school ever contacted me & nothing was done to the child as far as I know, they continued to harrass my child at school, I called the principal and left a message I NEVER RECIEVED A CALL BACK. The ladies in the front office are very nice, helpful, the bus driver is nice and always gives out stickers. The school is clean and well maintained. Some of the teachers and staff lack skills needed to run a school and manage that many children happily. BASICALLY THE PRINCIPLE IS WORTHLESS when a problem arises between students, my kids never complained about their other school, and now they both (K & 6th grade)constantly complain about this one and are now so unhappy which wasn't an issue before, be prepared for drama and no support from the staff, we will not be attending next year as they are also sending all Kindergarteners to another school so my 2 little ones won't be going to the same schools, this school really needs to GET IT TOGETHER so b i th children and parents can feel safe and happy while attending Crystal Springs.


Crystal Springs Elementary School 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went here for a short time for kindergarten , they suspended her two times for "being excited" (keep in mind she is in kindergarten). The principle and assistant principle have no experience what so ever as administrators! Which was told to me by the school district office when I filed a complaint. My daughter learned nothing at this school (she is a very bright apple). Amazingly, a couple of months after switching her to a new school, she can read, write , do math and is very happy to go to school every day. Now that my daughter is not stressed out about going to school and not worried about dealing with the horrible staff and teachers that she used to have to deal with, she can actually focus on learning like a child should. The principle and assistant principle at Crystal Springs should be fired and or demoted immediately. This school almost destroyed a child's first year of education which sets the tone for the rest of their lives. This school has the worst principle and assistant principle. This school has a high turnover rate for staff and almost every staff member at this school has a horrible attitude.

Crystal Springs Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Many of the teachers have been at Crystal Springs close to their entire careers - once they work at our school they don't want to leave. The families and the teachers are wonderful and almost everyone attends the PTA events & parties. My children are thriving at Crystal Springs and love going to school. I would highly recommend Crystal Springs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crystal Springs Elementary School
21615 9 Ave SE, Bothell, WA  98021
(425) 408-4300
Last modified Crystal Springs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crystal Springs Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top