Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lockwood Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 474 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

Lockwood Elementary school has a great PACE program. This program is run very well with a great team work between teachers and parents. My kids have been going to this school from first grade. I have had exceptional experience working with the teachers and other school staff. With the focus on motivating my kids to learn and become a better person. To name a few Mr. Berger, Ms Leslie, Ms Renee are all exceptional teachers who have inspired and motivated my kids to learn in the previous years. This year looking forward to working with Ms Fry and Ms Lisa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Although I am new to the school, I am extremely impressed with the staff and the parents. It is a very welcoming school with high expectations. It also cares deeply about each student. All of the kids know Ann Madsen, the principal, because she regularly visits the classroom and makes a point to speak to the students. I am very thankful to be here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2013

We moved to Lockwood because we were not happy with the first elementary school my daughter attended. It is amazing how different our experience at Lockwood has been. The principal really cares about the children, I often see her outside mingling with students after school. A good principal hires good teachers, I don't think you can go wrong with any of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

The Principal, Teachers and Staff at Lockwood Elementary is exemplary. I've watch my oldest daughter Makena go from being shy and unsure of herself blossom into a articulate, academically confident young lady, with the help from her 4th grade teach DR.Coyne. Makena current 5th grade teacher Mrs FitzPatrick is organized, upbeat, and a teacher that draws out the best in her students. I've watch the principal Mrs.Madsen make herself available to kids before and after school. The entire atmosphere at Lockwood Elementary is one of encouragement, development, and the motivation to seek excellence from their students. I am so pleased to have a school like Lockwood Elementary in the North Shore School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

we moved to this school a couple of years ago from a wonderful school in the Edmonds school district. while there are positive aspects about Lockwood, my over all experience has been disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I can't say enough about the teachers at Lockwood. Our son is in the 3rd grade and all 4 teachers thus far have gone above and beyond, and are super engaged and excited still to be teaching even after decades spent there. I'm amazed at the lack of burnout, really. I think it's infectious that they all care so much and it feeds off of each other. With all 4 teachers, we've gotten postings, notices, and individualized emails regularly, and they love to have our input and to see that we the parents are engaged ourselves! The class sizes are manageable and there are regular events that everyone attends- Ice cream socials, dances, etc. etc.. One of the reasons we moved was specifically for this school district and it was well worth it. I can't say enough about Lockwood and it's teachers. 100 out of 100 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I have volunteered at several schools during my lifetime, both private and public schools. I have a 20+ year old so I feel like i have enough experience having been through this already. I can't say enough good things about this school and almost just as importantly...the Northshore School District. It is top notch. Teacher quality is excellent, they go above and beyond our expectations. My wife taught in other school districts and there is a reason we choose to be in this school district. You get a feeling of warmth, of confidence from the staff and a level of professionalism that is unparalleled to most. Parents are highly involved and that makes all the world of difference. The expectation levels are high but yet reasonable for students to achieve their full potential. The N.S. School foundation is also involved in helping kids in this district, so there are multiple levels for support. In my humble opinion, if a child cannot excel in this district it is 100% on them and their parents. This school, Lockwood , it's staff from the principle to the janitors are top notch. You get the same level of caring & character all through. I'm very proud to be a part of this school & District
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

The teachers are great, they really care about the kids. My son loves his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Lockwood has been an excellent start to my sons education outside of the home. He loves his Kindergarten teacher. All the staff is friendly and helpful. We feel a sense of community at Lockwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

One of the main reasons my wife and I moved to Northshore school district is for the great community and teachers that they have in this district. Starting with Lockwood Elementary. This is a blue ribbon school and is surrounded by parents, teachers and staff that care about each and every child. There is high parent involvement, amazing teachers with great drive and skill, excellent work ethic and sense of community. You will feel welcomed and your child will feel well cared for in this environment. This is coming from a person who has volunteered in many different schools and public and private settings. My wife is also a teacher at the elementary level in a different district and although her specific elementary school is great, she wanted our daughter to be in the Northshore school district and at this elementary. Again it starts with the strong leadership of the principle, the challenging academics provided by the teachers, not necessarily the district and for us...it has to be about the support of the community, the parent involvement and love and care that you feel the school gives. Thanks Lockwood and thanks Northshore to many, many more years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Lockwood Elementary is lead by an excellent principal, Ann, who not only understands how important it is to teach children the way they learn best, but also understands the importance of experienced and talented teachers. We have been impressed with the track record of student success at this school. We highly recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2008

Excellent school. Great principal and my son loves his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Excellent School! The teachers and staff are very invested in the success of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Great School! Both my kids went through the PACE program there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

Great school with caring teachers and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income73%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income82%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female95%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income79%
Not low income85%
Special education60%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female95%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income50%
Not low income86%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female93%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income50%
Not low income82%
Special education60%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female85%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income80%
Special education69%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female94%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low incomen/a
Not low income86%
Special education81%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female79%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low incomen/a
Not low income68%
Special education56%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income75%
Not low income89%
Special education67%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income83%
Not low income92%
Special education58%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 63%
Asian 13% 7%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Hispanic 6% 18%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 112%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 24%N/A8%
Special education 219%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24118 Lockwood Rd
Bothell, WA 98021
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 408-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Veritas Academy
Kenmore, WA


Veritas Academy
Kenmore, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT