Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Bothell, WA
Students enrolled: 555

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Maywood Hills is a truly wonderful school. The teachers are highly qualified with the majority holding Masters degrees. They are very conscientious, communicate well with parents, and provide extra experiences for the kids, such as an overnight for 4th graders at Pioneer Farm, which the teachers do not get extra pay for. The principal is outstanding and very supportive of teachers, families, and students. Parents are highly involved which adds to the warm community feeling. The PTA is very active and inclusive, providing many services (scholarships, art & science instruction, library assistance, etc.), after school enrichment programs, staff & teacher support, and many family events. There are many children from Hispanic or lower income homes, as well as children from affluent families and the population is socio-economically diverse (although I can't say it's very culturally or racially diverse.) The students and teachers are respectful. Bullying and teasing is not really a problem here as it is in many schools. Maywood has some special needs kids in the integrated program, and there is a lot of acceptance and helpfulness here. My kids have loved Maywood and so have we!

Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The principal wants parents to communicate with him. He supports his staff with a computer lab, tech specialist, science lab and part -time teacher and an excellent librarian. Some teachers are new, and just need experience, but they have the support of the other teachers. PTA is working hard to bring in more programs for the children. Enrollment is around 600, will probably top off at 650 in the next 2 years.


Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2012
- a parent
Maywood Hills is really a gem of a public school. The staff is both passionate and professional and our oldest daughter has really thrived there for the past two years. Not only are the teachers excellent themselves, but they enable parental involvement in the classrooms through the art and science docent programs as well as reading and writing helpers. My wife and I were both able to participate this past year, and it was really worth our while. The PTA is also strong and active and has just band together to add $30k worth of additional play equipment to the school playground, addressing perhaps the schools only weak spot. This year my daughter placed into the EAP program, so she is off to Shelton View, but we will miss Maywood and are looking forward to next year when her sister will start their.

Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Our kids have attended here for the past 3 years and we love it! Great teachers, advanced learning and the parent involvement is an added bonus! They really do alot of hands on- and a science fair every year even at the kindergarten level..and my son's reading level went from 1st grade to a 5th grade level in one year, Thanks maywood for teaching him to love learning! really, a great school!

Maywood Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
They have a special love for the Children and exceed the normal curriculum for helping children reach a higher level of learning.


Maywood Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great Teachers and PTA. My son just loves going to Maywood Hills

Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
A fabulous teaching and learning communities with great teachers, wonderful parent support and super kids.

Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2007
- a student
This school is great! I love it even though this is my last year of maywood hills.


Maywood Hills Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2006
- a parent
The staff at Maywood Hills was very instrumental in getting my granddaughter the special resources help she needed for certain problems she was experiencing. This helped her tremendously with adjustments and improved her academics.

Maywood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
My son moved to Maywood this year from a Catholic School. We have been incredibly impressed by the Principal Kelly Aramaki as well as his 2nd grade teacher Linda Norwalk. The school is well organized, the academics are challenging, and the parents are really involved. We are lucky to have this resource in our neighborhood and my son has really benefited from change. He has Aspergers Syndrome but the enviroment has allowed him to be blend in unnoticed as well as be really successful in a regular classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maywood Hills Elementary School
19510 104 Av NE, Bothell, WA  98011
(425) 408-5000
Last modified Maywood Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maywood Hills Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top