Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shelton View Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
Our 2nd grader gets a 6-8 page packet every Friday that needs to be returned the next Friday. Just enough to be held accountable/learn about responsibility.

Shelton View Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
Unfortunately, kids who are top performers in the regular classrooms but not in the EAP program skate by without requiring much persistence or grit.


Shelton View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
I have visited schools where these topics were given a lot of priority and "buzz words" floated all over the school, etc. This school does not seem to have bought into one of those programs, at this time. I don't feel that things are BAD here, just that their priority is on teaching academics more than honesty, integrity, and fairness.

Shelton View Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
We are new to this school this year and have had positive experiences. The best thing this school does is provide a level-based, small-sized skills group for reading/writing every day, for all students in 1st through 4th grades. If only they could differentiate teaching for math, as well, I would give them a 5 star rating. Most of the staff is friendly and the principal, Mr Santos, is very accessible. The school is overcrowded and does not have room for any of the K classes next year so we'll have children in two different elem schools, which is unfortunate, but Bothell has opted to grow at a rate much faster than the schools have been able to accommodate.

Shelton View Elementary School 3

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Shelton View gets its 10 out of 10 score from the EAP program. The principal is great. Stuff is AWESOME and teachers are very responsive. HOWEVER, its regular program curriculum is VERY much behind (I am a Professor but not a helicopter parent) and it's frustrating for both the kid and the parent. Kids won't play an instrument until 3rd or 4th grade!! They still do a kindergarten program in 2nd grade. Field trips are very rare. The pace is with the kids who are behind, not the kids who are advanced. They were not very good at having a differentiated curriculum that takes into account kids with different skills/levels. They promised to do better job next year... Crossing fingers on that ...


Shelton View Elementary School 1

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
nobody listens they dont put your kids needs first I've had my kids come home crying over and over and over from bowling and it happened numerous of times not with just one of my kids but with two and it seems like they care more about I don't know I really don't know what they care more about but it's obviously not the kids and I will be changing in the next couple of days because this is horrible and in the beginning I moved purposely so that way they could go to this specific school and we have now moved so they can go to a different school and it makes me sad and it makes them mad because they don't want to move because of their friends but they do want to move because they don't want to be bullied and be around the mean teachers and anyone else thanks for reading

Shelton View Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Not very impressed with the interactions I've had between staff and parent volunteers since starting this school year. I had high hopes as I had heard very good things about this school prior to moving to this area.

Shelton View Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has been getting crowded over the recent few years. This, however, is not the case with just school but is happening everywhere inside NSD schools. At a recent meeting between parents and administrators, some solutions were proposed but the key problem seems to be unavailability of FT Kindergarten seats. Not sure if there are plans to solve this yet. Teachers are accessible. The PTA is working hard with limited resources. Chess Club is a success story at this school. Parents are helpful. Go Sharks!


Shelton View Elementary School 4

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a good school. So, I would not like to give it anything but 5-stars, and I feel sad to give a 4-star because of one place that requires improvement. PTA Volunteer coordinator program. The one place that requires dire improvement is the Parent Volunteer coordinator program conducted by PTA. My kid goes to 2nd Grade, and the parent coordinator has been less than fair. She does not communicate openly, and there is no global list of volunteer needs in the class. When good volunteer rolls opens up, guess who gets it? The select few!!!! My suggestion to the PTA is to be open and democratic about this. Solicit parent volunteer coordinators by sending letter to parents carried by kids. That way, ALL parents get to see it. When selecting volunteers, give the opportunity for every parent in the class to VOTE. Don't force a parent volunteer down our throats that has a history of being partial to her own kids.

Shelton View Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
What could i say about this school that has not been said? One of the best schools.

Nearby schools

Shelton View Elementary School
23400 5 Av West, Bothell, WA  98021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (425) 408-5200
Last modified Shelton View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top