Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Bothell, WA
Students enrolled: 586
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodin Elementary School 2

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Our experience at Woodin was poor, primarily due to the principal. I had serious concerns about my child and teacher and scheduled multiple appointments with the principal which she would cancel repeatedly at the last minute. When I went in to finally meet her she was rude and demeaning, acting as if the school issue were really a parent/discipline issue. We got no support when we asked for it and when we pushed for it she suggested that maybe we should leave the school. I am a rational, responsible parent and have now been happily at another school for several years receiving the appropriate support for my son. If your child needs any special services these will not be met well at Woodin. This was not just my experience, but the experience of other parents I spoke to.

Woodin Elementary School 3

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
My child has struggled with the bullies at Woodin. Very little is done to discipline these children. Teachers don't see the issues because the bullies hide their actions. The victims remain scared and not excited to go to school & their learning suffers. The kids all know the teachers won't do anything. I feel the principal needs to put into effect a much more strongly enforced policy, that benefits ALL the children. Homework help would be great, but is NOT offered.


Woodin Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
We transferred to Woodin from a school in Seattle a little over a year ago and both my daughter and I are very happy with it. She was in the advanced learning Spectrum program in Seattle, but the curriculum at Woodin is challenging enough for her that we decided not to test her for AP until junior high. The class sizes are much smaller than what we're used to also. Most of the staff take diversity and anti-bullying seriously and my daughter feels very safe there. One of my friends did have a problem with her son's teacher not taking bullying seriously so she had to step up and advocate for him. Bullies are a problem everywhere unfortunately, and I am happy that the majority of the staff are on board with not letting bullies get away with it at Woodin. No school is 100% perfect so if a teacher isn't meeting your expectations speak up and go to the principal or district and put your foot down. We moved here too late for my daughter to enter the dual language program but she is exposed to Spanish every day just being at the school and that's really neat.

Woodin Elementary School 3

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
My child also bullying at woodin, actually teachers are concerned about it. But, still bullying are contenue every single days. specially, reeces time are meny bullies!!!! Woodin school is missing action???? Yes! it is. Woddin have to taking more siriously about bullies at school.

Woodin Elementary School 3

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
My child has also struggled with bullying at Woodin, actually 2 of my children. It seems like the officeis far more concerned with how children are doing on tests..than calling parents when they have a child that is hurting other students, and I am so disappointed. Kids need to feel safe and protected by the adults at school so they can turn their energy toward learning. Woodin does not even recognize this as a problem, and as a volunteer, the recess ladies have zero clue what is going on at all. They stand in one spot and talk to each other all reeces long and do not know how to listen to children or handle conflict. I'm sickened that they are on payroll and kids are getting bullied regularly, and they are still there yapping to each other and missing the action.


Woodin Elementary School 2

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
My child has been at Woodin for ~ 1 yr. At her previou school she was excelling in English & wasput in an acceleration program- something they don't have here.She's always had good grades. During the parent conference this winter I found out her grades were pretty low. I knew that she was struggling w/ bullies & it reflected inher work. I've been for trying to resolve the issues w/ bullying but nothing has been done & no one tells me when there are problems. There's a serious lack of communication at Woodin & bullies run rampant. Also, the teachers don't seem to have time/ability to work w/ students on an individual basis & it's sad that my daughter,who just last year loved school & was a yr ahead of her class w/ regards to literature, is now floundering because she feels like she has nothing to look forward to in class &is bored w/ English assignments

Woodin Elementary School 4

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
As the parent of a high functioning autistic child, I am thrilled with Woodin Elementary. Other school districts have given lip service to our concerns for our child's education. Woodin's staff has actively worked with us, our child, and his behavioral specialists. The results have been stunning. Bravo! to Wooding Elementary's staff and administraton. There's something special going on there!
1 person found this helpful

Woodin Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
Hands down the best school. Dual language program is fantastic. The teachers and staff area team with each student. I feel welcomed every single time I go to the school. They make me feel like my daughter is important and they value her education. I drive 25 minutes to the school now that we moved and I would drive an hour if I had to.


Woodin Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
There is a Spanish-English program starting in first grade; a good ratio of teachers to students.

Woodin Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
Ever Since my kid started going to woodin he has gotten smarter and he has never complained about his teachers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodin Elementary School
12950 NE 195 St, Bothell, WA  98011
(425) 408-5400
Last modified Woodin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top