Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank Love Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 70 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

I love this school, especially now that we have Ms Benson at the helm. Mr Beebe was a lot of fun, but not the best leader for the kids. Ms Benson does a really good job of keeping parents in the loop, utilizing technology to communicate, and she really seems to care about the kids. Her discipline is impartial and appropriate both to age and ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

This the start of our 3rd year at Frank Love and we are overall happy with our experience. My son's teachers are not perfect (who is) but they have always been committed to giving my child a good eduction, communicating with me and being available to me as a parent to address even the littlest issue. And as for Oct 27, 2011 post - the new playground went in April 2012;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

This is the worst school I have ever that my son has been to. He always comes home with a frown on his face. And do you know what he tells me? He comes to me saying that the principle is being unfair because she treats the 2 graders, first graders, and kindergartenders like angels. Anyway, this school is VERY unsatisfactory. I would NOT recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

I have spent many hours in classrooms at Frank Love Elementary and I can honestly and confidently say that my daughter is fortunate to be a part of the Frank Love community. The teachers are friendly, knowledgeable and accessible. The new principal is outstanding! She is intelligent, experienced and truly committed to the students, parents and staff. I look forward to many more years as a Frank Love parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

Im in disregard to this school...Im in disbelief that it still has no new playground, there only is 6 I repeat 6 amazing teachers that are worth a dang...I have 4 children, 1 has moved through this school with no problem, 1whom has had to rise above hardships displayed by a horrible teacher(no longer there) and a principal who couldnt get passed the fact that he (myson) was not a drone and that not all children learn the same..some speed through the schoolwork and get bored!! So new year new teachers new principal going to get better? NO !!!my daughter tested early at 4 to enter kindergarten she passed at a 6 yr old level, her teacher couldnt handle her so to speak or is it she cant handle the class? a little too frazzeled? not accepting that a 4yr old is this capable? and NO SUPPORT from the principal whom cant even return emails or phone calls,so they decide to dienroll her after the 6 week trial period....where are the laws the no child left behind? the senate bill 5427? we will not be returning to this school next year we will picket we will pave a road for other students we will go to a school who believes in the student Not the adult who has no business teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My child has attended Frank Love for 6 years and overall I feel it's a good school. As with any school, there are teachers that are consistently excellent and some that are less so. I have had my frustrations but I have found the staff generally receptive to talking about my concerns. The principal is a solid leader, is very involved with the kids and their activities and has the right balance of responsible stewardship and sense of humor. He is a fair, appropriate and creative disciplinarian and the kids really look up to him. Regarding comparatively lower WASL scores- Some district schools 'teach the test' more than others so keep in mind that these are only statistics and do not sum up the total quality of the institution. For what it's worth, I have a boundary exception so I can send my kid to FLE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

Frank Love is a wonderful school, and Mr. Beebe, the principal, is an outstanding principal. He clearly cares deeply for kids and their learning, and he champions the rights of all students. Several of the posts here that are critical of him are clearly the result of the many unreasonable parents in this school. I have always been impressed with the commitment to learning and fair yet firm discipline style of the principal. He clearly is committed to social justice and ALL children. The teachers in this school are also very good. Mr. Beebe has helped lead our school in many ways including with our already fine teachers. We couldn t be happier at Frank Love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

Have had one child 'graduate' from FL, and another is currently in 5th Grade there (and a three year old that will attend in the coming years). I have found FL to be a supportive environment where kids can excel. Test scores reflect more on the parents' involvement (or lack there of).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

My kids went to FL for a total of nine years. Just so credit goes to some of the teachers for their great work , I didn't give a total 'Unsatisfactory' rating. Unfortunately if the leadership at the top is inadequate, then teachers, parents, and especially the children lose. Some love this school and its principal, Bebe however, I would contend that perhaps they have not had to deal with him on serious issues. He is a weak leader when it comes to taking care of students who bully and those who get bullied. Unfortunately those who got bullied end up feeling victimized again by the actions of the principle. He claims to follow the Social Justice stance. If his actions speak of his philosophy, then I hope we never experience Social Justice again! My kids are no longer in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I have nothing good to say about this school. Due to boundary changes this is our home school, but I am so not impressed. I have requested a teacher meeting and had no response and the principal defended the lack of response, got dates of events wrong and basically pushed it back on the teacher to contact us. I am ready to contact school board/super about the issues
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

This is a wonderful school with a great teaching staff. I have two children in the school, and I could not be more pleased with their education and experiences. The principal goes out of his way to be inclusive and supportive. He is at every PTA event! The school offers after school programs and additional help for kids who need it. We are thrilled to have our kids in this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

My daughter has attended Frank Love the past 4 years and my son is now in kindergarten. The new principal is a definite asset. Have not encounter a bad teacher yet. My daughter had one of the two multi-age classes last year and found the two teachers very compatible, competent and caring. As for test scores, have to agree with the last entry that the state puts on the pressure about the WASL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

This will be my daughters 4th year attending Frank Love and is on an IEP and while she has not been in a multi-age class she has been given every opportunity for success & is a very successful student. The teachers are wonderful and the parent/teacher/principal involvement impressive here. As far as the WASL goes, I believe it is the State of WA that puts that pressure on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

This is a good school, although the testing scores seem to be less than most Northshore schools. The principal is leaving this year, 2005, and may affect the manner in which the school is run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

I have had children in this school for the past 10 years and have had some of the best and 2 of the worst teachers ever! In the last 5 years the leadership has been lacking, so the teachers are left to give support to each other which, I feel, wears them out. Other kids suffer, which is why I am waivering my last child into another elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female58%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income54%
Not low income65%
Special education50%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female68%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income71%
Not low income80%
Special education70%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income59%
Not low income72%
Special education36%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income72%
Not low income79%
Special education73%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female84%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income52%
Not low income88%
Special education46%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female61%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income40%
Not low income62%
Special education40%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income65%
Not low income86%
Special education73%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female64%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income50%
Not low income81%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income57%
Not low income77%
Special education46%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income57%
Not low income81%
Special education55%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 227%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 17N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

303 224 St SW
Bothell, WA 98021
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 408-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT