Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian Academy

Private | PK-9 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bothell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $303,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Esther Walla is not the principal at Heritage Christian Academy. The School Board removed her from the school on April 11, 2014. The school has no leader.


Posted January 5, 2014

Teacher s email 1 hour before class, which is almost impossible to get ready to school and do what is necessary on their emails. Wendy s the director is so slow in so many aspects,There was a fee for a 3 years old $80 lab, detail is for the construction of the lab. Arff, it is just a pain this school, the toys are old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

HCA has such a warm environment with a strong emphasis on living a Christ centered life. Great teachers, a strong principal and an involved parent population make this school top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We LOVE Heritage. It has a warm family like atmosphere, the class sizes are small, and it's evident that the teachers really love their students. The academics are excellent, and I love that they also put great emphasis on values and how to be a good person, not just a good student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Heritage Christian Academy has been a wonderful environment for our girls. The class sizes are great, and the teachers are incredible! A real family atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We just started at Heritage Christian and it has been a wonderful transition. My son is shy and the smaller classes (with great and inclusive kids) has helped him to make friends more quickly. The teachers are wonderful! They truly partner with the parents individually so each parent feels that their child is getting the education that is best for them. The school has a great curriculum and is always open to changes to make it better for the students. We also appreciate that the school's values are consistent with our values at home. There is a family feel to the community and many parents are also very involved in school activities. We love Heritage and know we made the right move in enrolling our kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

HCA is a great school with a heart to help children and parents. Small class sizes contribute to better teacher/student and better teacher/parent interactions. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality education that includes good moral standards too.


Posted September 30, 2013

HCA has small class sizes, therefore giving the students more individual attention. The coordination that happens between all the staff to help keep consistency helps. As recess coordinator I strive to help with the rules in he class are the rules on the playground. I am very proud to work for HCA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2013

I LOVE HCA! My son attends full day preschool there and I couldn't be happier with the education he is receiving. We just moved to the area from the East coast a few weeks ago but my son settled right into his new class where he was greeted by a warm, caring teacher. She uses a system called "zoophonics" to teach the alphabet and after only 2 weeks my son keeps pointing at letters which he now recognizes while we are driving in the car. He has so much fun and is learning a lot every day. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

It's a wonderful school. The teachers are very caring and truly have your children's well-being and education at the core of their teaching. In all things, they strive to model Christ and show the kids the love of God. Our son has been there for over four years now and has learned a tremendous amount and made many friends. And when our daughter was of age, we did not hesitate to enroll her there as well. It truly is a community and partnership with the teachers, administration, parents and students that make this place a super place for kids. The Parent Teacher Fellowship (PTF) is very involved and each year raises thousands of dollars to improve the school facilities. And the school has just recently just added a science lab. My son enjoys Chess Club and our daughter who is in Kindergarten is also learning Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

We like HCA very much. It is a place where you find both parents and teachers very dedicated in helping children develop their characters and academics. The school is a ministry of CrossPointe Church in Bothell, WA. Recently it has started a new program called Arrowsmith to help children with learning dysfunctions. Teachers in this program are trained to identify the weaker cognitive capacities that underlie learning disabilities, which affect these children both academically and socially. The program is aiming to help children achieve permanent change with their cognitive weaknesses. Although my children are not in this program, I am touched to see how teachers and parents work together tirelessly to bring this program alive and many families can now benefit from this effort. I highly recommend this school to others. The school faculty truly has the heart for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Solid ideals and no fake "Christian" school here! Terrific level of education and dedicated staff. My children know they are at their second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

I have taught at HCA for many years and fully support its mission, vision, and partnership with the families that are here! The staff is a family in itself, and we pass that warmth and caring onto the parents and children we are privileged to serve. We strive to identify each child's individual learning style and support them academically, socially, and spiritually with the resources we have. Our small class sizes allow for students to receive the attention they need to succeed. HCA has a legacy and a unique quality you will be hard pressed to find elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2012

Heritage has been our school for 12 years. My children have received an excellent education, being taught by teachers who really love and care for each of their students. I love the smaller class size and family atmosphere here. Preschool, Elementary and Junior High programs are all excellent. Don't expect a big sport program, this is a smaller school. Everyone knows your child at this school, they will not be lost in the crowd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

A hidden gem of Christian, highly academic education - Pre-school (half and full days), Pre-Kindergarten, Kindergarten (half and full days), Elementary school and 7th through 9th grade Jr. High. Smaller classroom sizes, additional staff (including two teachers in each pre-school class, art, PE, computer lab, Spanish, music, robotics, librarian and a full-time school nurse). The school has a wonderful and loving environment, giving each individual child attention and challenging them to be their very best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My grandchildren attend HCA and I have had the pleasure of watching them grow in knowledge of The Lord. They are happy and like going to school.


Posted September 28, 2010

Heritage Christian has been an essential part of raising my kids. The teachers and staff have been more than supportive and loving. They are compassionate and firm and have taught my kids to love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

At Heritage Christian, everyone feels like family. :) The courtesy and eagerness to learn on the part of the students make it a great place to teach!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2010

Excellent education, small class sizes, great working relationships between teachers, parents & students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

Wonderful families, amazing teachers and unparalleled support from both have kept our family at Heritage Christian for 7 years now. We love it. Our kids love it. We are so thankful to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 7%
Black 9% 5%
Hispanic 1% 20%
Two or more races 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Esther Walla
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10310 NE 195th St
Bothell, WA 98011
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 485-2585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT