Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Academy

Private | K-6 | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bothell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $303,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

I love the staff and Administration of this school. It s unfortunate that a select few people will post negative remarks harming the integrity of the school, its principal, teachers and other families. This certainly does NOT represent our experience with the school and other families that I have spoken with. My child had a wonderful September school year and is disappointed when she cannot attend on weekends. Summer program is amazing and! It has also been educationally based. I am happy that I will be enrolling for the up-coming school year. I will continue to recommend this school to friends and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, July 22, 2014

evergreen has been a nightmare from 2012 after Ms . Bonnie left is a nightmare ,the higher management and the principals after Bonnie are totally incapable to run the school . The teachers were the pride of the school but the management made sure to take away jobs for all the old good certified teachers and replace them with cheap inexperienced teachers . Will never recommend the school to anyone ,its a mess. Hated working there , but loved my classroom and the kids .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2014

In the last two years alone the school has had 4 principals. The school seems to operate in its own little bubble absent from any "support" from the larger corporation. There is a complete disconnect between the administration (3 people) and all other staff members with regards to staff support and just a solid lack of transferring any and all useful information necessary in order for the staff to provide the best service to their families and students. The current principal has created a culture of fear, where the staff is fearful of termination on a daily basis. Eight employees have left this 2013-2014 school year alone and the majority left by choice. In addition to the lack of support and information provided to employees, we employees have also been overrun with lies told by the administration including the defaming of countless employees as they left throughout the school year which would clearly contribute to the level (or lack of) professionalism that continues to exist in this facility.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 26, 2014

Sadly, Evergreen Academy has suffered since the new administration came a year ago. What used to be a place where my child enjoyed attending, has become one where my child and classmates were emotionally mistreated, and he/she dreaded going. My child cried to me recently, "They have made me hate going to school!" Security at the school is inconsistent. For our family, it was a waste of tuition this year, to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

While most of the teachers are caring and wonderful, providing a great atmosphere for our children, the Administration is a hot mess. Misdirection, obfuscation and outright lying to concerned parents; pushing out valued teachers and stealing their classroom materials acquired over decades; kicking out students as punishments for enquiring parents.


Posted June 24, 2014

My children attended the Pre-school side of this campus for the past couple years and the quality of teachers has diminished. They now hire young people with no experience. Lots of gossip, hiring of friends etc. In the past 2 1/2 years the Pre-School has had 5 principals and the current Principal has no regard for the families in her school. The Handbook states: "Parents are encouraged to review their child s development and maintain an open dialogue with the teachers and principals", but in all actuality if you make any dialogue; even down to why they cancelled the Preschool graduation without notifying parents, be prepared to take your children out immediately. Not because you choose to do so, but because they kick the children out if the parents make any waves at all. This has occurred to many children over the past year, because parents do not agree with the Curriculum and speak up. Children are caught in the middle and most certainly their best interest isn't taken into consideration. I wouldn't recommend this school to parents who are involved in their children's studies. You will not be happy with the outcome. I had to give them 1 star, which is to many in my oppinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

The new administration that has been put in place in both the preschool and elementary is exceedingly terrible. This is evidenced by multiple families being asked to leave mid year traumatizing the kids and leaving families in really difficult situations. Not only that but the teacher turnover is very high. My child had 3 teachers this year. Additional families left the school prematurely. They have even had police on campus this month. All of the issues surrounding these departures have been around lack of communication, inability to sit down and problem solve to reach amicable agreements, and a general sense of not caring about their customers. All of the issues brought forth are reasonable discussion points such as ski school, amount of homework, and preschool graduation. Aside from the above issues the school has been good and there are some very good teachers mixed in here. The classes are small but students tend to struggle in math and grammar after transferring to other schools. The school could vastly improve with the right people in place. unfortunately alot of damage has been done that will take time to fix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

It is disappointing to watch this previously very good school disintegrate the past year. Both the preschool and elementary school have suffered from teacher, staff, and student attrition due to poor leadership and a hostile environment. With so many good educational options, I would not advise anyone to attend this school at the present time. The students are the ultimate victims when for profit goals not only interfere with high educational standards but demonstrate poor ethical behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Our daughter has attended Evergreen Academy in Bothell for the last three years. She is very happy there and we are very happy with the academics and the small class sizes. The school could use a bigger space but they do a great job working with what they have. The extended care and extra curricular programs as very good too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

I thoroughly enjoy this school. My son went to preschool there first and attends kindergarten. The transition was seamless. The small class sizes really help give kids the extra attention they need at the younger age levels. I haven't had much interaction yet with the elementary principal, but the preschool principal was amazing. She is well organized and highly communicative. The teachers are mature, organized and know how to communicate with parents. Parking is lame, but who really cares?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

This school was good few years ago but it's gone downhill since it's become bigger. It talks about being in a "community", but the school only meant it when there wasn't any conflict or issues directly related to school. The location of the school is fine, but it has an on-going parking issues for the size of the school. The curriculum was not advanced at all. It used to able to tailor the need of the children, but now they are into the whole "well child". If you have any problems with the classroom or school, they will only deal with it behind closed doors when they had no choice. The school staffs and teachers are friendly and just okay. The OPT runs by a group of parents and often sponsored few school events. Most of the parents are fine and eager to do anything for their children at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

My daughter attended Kindergarden here. Can't say enough of the teachers and principle. They take care of things and communicate thoroughly and concisely. It is a wonderful community where you are able to have a relationship with the school. It is no wonder they have a high rate of parent involvement. You'll want to be part of the school pride. The curriculum is balanced and challenging. The enrichment courses are varied and on site. Only sad I couldn't bring them with me to Vancouver, BC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I have 2 children attending Evergreen Academy in Bothell and they are doing extremely well. I was pleasantly surprised by the breadth of enrichment offerings for a small school, which includes drama, art, technology, music, and foreign language starting in Kindergarten. This is all complemented with an individualized cirriculum and a tremendous staff that truly cares and communicates frequently with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

My daughter recently started at evergreen and I am very pleased about the school. They have a very well dedicated staff, very friendly and focus on the individual child. The afterschool is a little under my expectations but over all the school is near perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about Evergreen Academy. Our daughter attended Kindergarten there and had the best experience. They focus on the individual child and really take the time to challenge them on an individual basis. Our daughter was able to take French, Drama, Music, Computer classes, and Art..along with all the other basics. This school is worth every penny! Great communication between the staff and parents. So many fun, enriching after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

A very solid program from preschool through fourth grade. Montessori preschool is excellent and offers specialists in music, art and Spanish. Elementary has good curriculum with specialists in p.e., art, music, spanish or french, technology and library. The facility is good -- lots of space, good playfields and a gym. The school could be more 'polished' and can look a bit sloppy, which is not reflective of what is happening inside. Parent involvement is not what I expected at a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 1%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 20%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16017 118th Place Northeast
Bothell, WA 98011
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 488-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Dartmoor School
Woodinville, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT