Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bremerton High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

BHS fails to provide appropriate supports and education to special education students with 504 plans. ADD/ADHD ,Autism any disability with behavior issues is not supported at this school. In fact my child was abused by staff when meltdowns occured, resulting in her becoming aggressivive towards staff. Staff repeatidly reported to me they did not know what to do. I fought for years to get behavioral support. the school refused. I pulled my child out for weeks at a time due to her being mistreated. From 9th grade to 12th grade my child was not welcome at school. Incident reports were falcified, staff was deceptive about marks on child. Reports not filed, parents not notified. The deceit went from classroom staff, to pricncipals, to district staff. I pulled my child from school sending a letter stating that student will return when proper behavioral support is in place. no response to my letter. no contact from school until they dropped her enrollement after 20 days of absence. They failed to provide an appropriate education and then dropped the student. What an injustice. BHS is the worst school , total lack of compassion and respect for students with disabilities. Appalling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

My name is Harley Quiroz and I attended Bremerton High School from 1996-1999 and the teachers there are top of the line , very professional and caring I highly encourage parents to enroll their teens into this school


Posted June 10, 2011

I'm graduating today. I find the BHS staff to be the friendliest and most personally caring of any school I've been to in kitsap county. I am also a running start student; comparing BHS instructors to Olympic College instructors, the math and english instruction from was much more capable in my opinion. The same material could be covered at the highschool, and it was faster to go over, and more comprehensible. The BHS Knights are underdogs and often talked down upon, however the bad reputation does not fit reality. We have some top notch teachers and outstanding staff. (Chem instructors at O.C. are better though)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2010

I am currently a sophomore at Bremerton High School, and love the school. Sport and extra activities are wide ranged, and classes are good. We have some amazing teachers, and truthfully, the school doesn't deserve it's previously bad reputation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

Not a good school for struggling teens, teens with ADD; teachers and principals are not very compassionate and understanding of those who have learning disabilities. My son went here for 9th grade and I was not at all impressed with how he was treated. He is at a much better school now. This school is good for those who enjoy getting involved in sports, clubs, activities, cliques and kids who do not struggle with learning and getting good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I love this school and its great that they added the 9th graders it took some time to get used tio them but its great! Bremerton rocks!GO KNIGHTS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

A great school! Next to Olympic College I was able to take college courses during my senior year. Recently the 9th graders have joined the 10-12th graders at the main campus. I honestly thought it was going to be a drag but they turned out to be so mature and most of them were respectful. Little did I know I would be competeing against the freshmen for the most school spirit. I heard that the staff started preparing the new 9th graders for college just as much as the seniors were. The teachers are so helpful and nice. Throughout my 4 years at BHS I am still wondering why its reputation is still called the 'ghetto.' They have excellent AP courses& extracurricular activities. Band, orchestra, choir, & NJROTC are some of the best programs in the state. The students are so diversed & unique it'll be hard not to make friends!


Posted August 2, 2007

My son graduated BHS this past June. When my son started attending Bremerton High I became aware of the fantastic career and tech ed program there. From the computer classes to the photography classes, my son has learned so many skills and the teachers are very enthusiastic and really seem to like what they are doing. I think without such enthusiastic teachers, my son wouldn't have been so excited about school. There could be a lot more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

As a student of Bremerton High School, I have seen that the regular classes at Bremerton High aren't hard. However the Honors and Advanced Placement ciriculum is difficult and [most] of the teachers are well cut out for the job. The school has begun to take a stand against gang violence, and the ninth graders as of next year will be joined with the 10th-12th graders. ALtogether i believe this school no longer deserves it's 'ghetto' reputation. The classes are decent, the campus is one of the best, the sports teams are starting to bounce back, and our music programs are international award winners!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2006

Academia will not be a priority for your child and college planning is null. This is a result of the culture of BHS...where learning is not the emphasis.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2006

I think there can be more emphasis on high level education that actually allows the students to be competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

I had mixed feelings when i heard the 9th gradewas on a different campus than the 10-12grades, making it difficult to really take part in Extra curricular activites. But i must say that his grades are up. i see that he receives a lot of needed positive comments from both staff and peers that has also boosted self confidence and self image. I have a 10grader who requires an IEP. the PreVoc office and SEstaff have been awesome in working with my him by setting a positive and respectful envirionment. He has accomplished more this past year academially and socially than the last 3 years combined at a privateschool. His grades, self esteem are up and he is making better choices due mostly to the staff working with him on a daily basis. We belive he willbe able to graduate ontime with employable skills immediately outof school, which wasonly a dream before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I was a student at BHS and felt short changed. There were very few teacher who really cared and wanted to teach. most were there for other reason such as participating in coaching ect. I will be enrolling my child in private school to avoid the bremerton school district.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2003

My son is a senior this year at Bremerton High School. I have nothing but positive things to say about the staff, students, curriculum, and the school in general. I would like to see more parental involvement. I think the school itself is great. GO KNIGHTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2003

I was a student of BHS and if i had it all over to do again I would go to BHS again because its a great school with outstanding teachers and role models.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
29%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black50%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income59%
Not low income71%
Special education62%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students93%
Female97%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income88%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Low income90%
Not low income96%
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students23%
Female24%
Male23%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander27%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial15%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Low income18%
Not low income37%
Special education13%
Not special education29%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black24%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income65%
Not low income70%
Special education53%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income67%
Not low income73%
Special education50%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students14%
Female33%
Male0%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Low income15%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education14%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students42%
Femalen/a
Male40%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Students36%
Femalen/a
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low income29%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education38%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

318 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

285 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male76%
Black65%
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income74%
Not low income91%
Special education42%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female88%
Male71%
Black65%
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income75%
Not low income85%
Special education37%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 14% 6%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 259%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 59%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Katharine Gleysteen

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 13th St
Bremerton, WA 98337
Phone: (360) 473-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Morgan Center School
Bremerton, WA


Alta Vista School
Bremerton, WA





South Kitsap High School
Port Orchard, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT